eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 131 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

<— Page 4 of 14 —>

AD4C2006 Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2013 10:04 Send this review to a friend
One of the best radios from Icom  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
About a year or more ago, I had the chance to own this radio for three months but friend of mine wanted badly and a friend is a friend and had no choice to sell it to him wich he still keep it but the good taste and touch remained in my ears and hands and I was missing it.So this month I decided to have it again and purchased it new from Gigaparts at the lowest price in the US.
After owning it for a week and using it at least 4 to five hours a day, I can tell its an outstanding radio.
My main radio is the well known all over the world K3 from Elecraft, hard to beat by others but nevertheless I can tell this 7600 has less band noise than my K3 so a weak station will be pulled quieter in the 7600. Although the lack of a roofing filter narrower than the standard 3 Khz making hard to reject the QRM at less than 3Khz, using the dual PBT and the 3Khz yes, I can reject more than 50% of the QRM, with the 3Khz and its 1.8Khz roofer is easier.Rx audio quality on both radios are the same although the low end of the audio spectrum at the 7600 is wider thn the K3, you can see the audio spectrum analysis I posted at qrz under my call sign. Tx audio quality using same mic on both radios is the same although the audio at the K3 sound more articulate than at the 7600 for having a builtin 8 freqs Tx Eq.
What I do really like the most in this 7600 is the fact that using a standard printer USB cable conected from the 7600 to my PC USB port allow me not only to control the radio from the PC but also record and playback on the air anyone's transmission with the highest audio quality I have heard in any radio.
Needless to say the spectrum analyzer is cool tool although I have to say that is lacking gain, weak stations like S1 or S2 signals are not seen at the screen,in that field the K3 panadapter (P3) is better with more sensitivity and faster resolution.
The NB has no distorsion at all over the received audio as many other radios,the K3 won't have distorsion neither.I can tell the NR works better than the one in the K3 from the fact that cuts more band noise and is way easier to adjust.
I like in this model the fact that once you adjust the levels of the small controls underneath you push them in and they won't change by accidentally touching them.Another improvement from Icom Pro series.
I owned for 3 years a 756ProIII and this one is definitively a better radio in all aspects.
Thanks Icom for having us enjoy a new good radio.

Hector
AD4C
 
K0JM Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2013 17:18 Send this review to a friend
extension knobs for power out  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
buy 2 ideal number 22 set screw wire connectors ( part # GLU64 from grainger) grind about 3/8 inch off the bakelite bottom and and enlarge the brass slightly..thne u can adjust mike and power with big fingers....k0jm
 
WB6YZZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 13, 2013 09:01 Send this review to a friend
Very nice, best spectrum scope  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Upgraded from ProIII. The ProIII is no slouch. However, I had been playing with SDRs and using them as spectrum scopes, even on the ProIII, tapping into the internal 13.345MHz spectrum channel. The spectrum scope on the ProIII does not allow for any flexibility, like sweep speeds, fixed mode and frequency readout on the spectrum. The 7600 does and is just what I was looking for. Call it a quirk, but I didn't like having to use a computer to control the rig. I prefer looking at the rig and actually hamming, not computing!

So far, the 7600 is pretty close to the ProIII, except for the much improved spectrum scope, built in PSK-31 and RTTY, and a few other minor conveniences. To me the upgrade was worth it. YMMV.
 
K1FEV Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2013 17:08 Send this review to a friend
Upgrade from ProIII  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just upgraded from a ProIII. I find the receiver to be much quieter. I enjoy the built-in PSK-31 and RTTY. Still haven't tried all of the new features, but find a very quick learning curve from the ProIII. Learned a lot from the previous review, thanks.
 
N2HUC Rating: 5/5 Jan 21, 2013 04:55 Send this review to a friend
Very Good HF/6m Rig  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Short version? Splendid radio that delivers on all it offers. I’ll rate it 4.75 out of 5. Want more detail? Read on.

When I get a radio, I learn everything about it, and I try everything on it to see how it performs under operation. I optimize everything to get the most out of what the radio has to offer. It’s a time investment, but it pays off, especially under fire. So with that in mind, here goes!

The first thing I do before I get a new radio is figure out how many memory channels it has available, and how I can get the most out of them. I make a list that covers what I want to here in priority order based on what bands and modes the radio can do. I start on higher bands and progress to lower in band in order. This minimizes relay chatter if the radio uses relays to switch band filters (this radio does not). I like to scan so I can keep an ear on key frequencies of interest and monitor general band conditions. Some tricks I do to keep the radio scanning after I get the radio and programming it; Set preamp/attenuation selections for each band to the closest level that allows the minimum squelch threshold to just close on dead band conditions (with the antenna connected), set the noise blanker to the levels where any power line noise is diminished without distorting received audio, and also optimize filter settings on each memory channel to get the most signal to open the squelch and optimize audio quality without adjacent signal splatter. The object is to find the best balance of settings to keep it scanning when nothing is there, and stop scanning and listen to traffic when it is there…even if the signal is weak. Plus it should sound good. This radio handles the task with great results because Icom gives you a total of six choices on preamp gain and attenuation. The radio retains the last selection you made on each band (sweet!). Only on six meters did I feel the need to use the wide SSB filter to give me “that extra push over the cliff” to open the squelch on the weakest signals, but I only have a 75m – 6m fan dipole, and an extra discone ground plane that works pretty well on this band. At least they are tuned well! I programmed a wide selection of SSB frequencies on 6m (50.1 to 50.3 every 5 kHz), and that nabs about every band opening there is. By listening to what the scan catches, and more importantly looking at what the spectrum scope shows (beacon section included), you will know the band is open, and often well before your neighboring hams who just sit on calling frequencies, or just watch DX clusters. This scan/scope combo really works! Anyway, each band has a fair amount of good stuff to listen to, and on some bands I reserve a little more space than on others. The receiver is so quiet that I can run preamp 2 all the way down to 17m, preamp 1 down to 30m, and only need to use 6 dB of attenuation on 40m to meet the noise floor (you cant hear anything below that anyway). On the 75m band I sometimes have to go from 6 dB attenuation to 12 dB attenuation in the evening, due to the rise of band noise, but that is not too bad. The IC-9100 had huge white noise on 75m and 160m, and with only 20 dB attenuation available I lost a lot of signal, especially on 60m where the attenuation for 75m is also used on 60m. That didn’t cut it for me. The IC-7600 really is pretty quiet on all the bands, and MUCH quieter than the IC-9100, so it works much better. More signal, less noise, means this receiver is hot without the hash of background noise that robs weak signals and makes listening unpleasant. I used to think my IC-7000 in the car heard more signals on HF/6m than my IC-9100 in the house. That was true! Now My IC-7600 in the house hears more than my IC-7000 in the car, and that is what you would expect, so the receiver is very good. Probably not as quiet as the IC-7700 or IC-7800, but that extra “Digi-Select” preselector section in those high end radios is the reason for that lower noise floor and increased dynamic range. Those radios will have quite a bit of relay chatter on scan though, as relays are used for all the band filters in both filter sections. The 7600 is the better scanning radio without so many relays. Only the attenuation and antenna selection relays click a little while scanning, and not so often that I worry about premature failure. So I put a nice selection of FM, SSB, CW (a few), AM (a couple), PSK31 and RTTY (30m only) memory channels in and enjoy hearing the radio as it jumps through all the bands. I can honestly say I am hearing everything and missing little to nothing, and you get a sense of what band conditions are like very quickly when you are scanning (with the scope on) this way. The scan doesn’t hang too much on dead air or miss too much on legitimate signals. But, to be fair, the scan could be a little faster. It is much slower than the IC-9100 and IC-7000, but not too slow. And I would like to see “Select Memory Scan” handled differently, so that groups 1, 2 and 3 are additive to the list, and not broken up into different scan lists (as they are now) until you get to the 1+2+3 selection. One neat trick I do to skip over PSK31 and CW signals on 60m is to turn on the manual notch filter (MN NAR) set to 1500 Hz. The notch knob sits just below 12:00, but can be precisely set by activating MN in PSK decode mode and centering it on the waterfall. Then you know it is set just right to do this neat trick. The manual notch filter almost totally removes the signal, and not just the audio (like the auto notch does), so it skips CW/PSK on 60m in scan mode because they don’t show at all on the S meter. Just remember to turn the notch off if you want to do some PSK31, as it will notch everything out with it on. This applies to CW, as well.

Now for the big list…Some other real positives about this radio are; the customizable colorful display that can be arranged into as many as three sections, an extremely fast and detailed spectrum scope that can really see weak signals in each band (not just a crude pile of noise with some bumps where the strong signals are), a “Mini Scope” option that allows you to squash the scope to fit in the middle section of the display while using other features (like full metering or scan or PSK/RTTY) on the bottom section, customizable color on the spectrum scope for both signal history and live signals, customizable colors on all PSK and RTTY text (RX, TX, buffered, time/freq stamp) and waterfall parameters, customizable preset spectrum scope band limits for each band (although I would like to see more limits to optimize the digital portions of each band and also have one for dedicated for the 60m band), operator selectable metering (VSWR bar being most important to me on TX. During dual split screen mode you get three meter readings if you select bar type.), 15/6/3 kHz roofing filters included (no need to purchase and install them), three customizable DSP IF filter settings for each mode (more on this later), filter setting value is shown on the display, very good automatic notch filtering, impressive manual notch filtering (choice of three widths), incredibly good APF and TPF filtering for tight CW and RTTY operation (side signals are gone!), twin passband tuning adjustment knobs to reject close adjacent SSB signals, a cool “Auto Tune” feature that zeros in CW signals on your preset BFO tone frequency just by pressing a button, preset tuning step selections (two…fast and slow) for each mode, PSK31 tuning display with optional automatic fine tuning for RX (AFC) or RX and TX (NET), RTTY tuning meter, automatic antenna tuner that remembers the optimal tuning points for every 100 kHz section of each band (after initial training, any frequency will be automatically tuned before you have a chance to TX!), three programmable AGC settings (SLOW, MED, FAST) for each mode, 4 voice keyer memories, 4 CW keyer memories, 8 PSK31 canned TX memories that can save auto TX/RX choices, 8 RTTY canned memories that can also save auto TX/RX selections (great for typing ahead and connecting live responses to canned messages…they will never know...hihi), QPSK (for better error correction) as well as BPSK operation (at the full 100 watts!) just by plugging a keyboard into the front of the radio! (RTTY the same), F- keys on the keyboard can activate all keyer memory for all modes, QSO text and time/frequency stamp storage can be saved on a USB memory stick for later review, two clocks (the upper one displays on a 3-way display split, so I set UTC time on top and local time under it), record feature that records ahead by 10 or 30 seconds (press the REC button to lock in the last 10/30 seconds you just heard…more later), instant replay available for the last 10 second of audio you recorded, dual watch option for listening to two frequencies on the band you are operating on, split frequency option (more later), XFC button for quickly checking the input of a repeater or checking the other VFO, RIT/ delta TX with quick clear, rock solid frequency stability with a calibration utility to nail the exact frequency setting down in seconds (use WWV at 20 MHz for best results), plenty of customizable useful band edge limit reminders to remind you where the bands are divided, good logical menu selections at the bottom of the display and good full featured customizable Set Menu sections in easy to access logical groups, extra SET features often found on buttons by using a long press (try it) that make sense for those individual features, excellent TX and RX tone adjustments for each mode to optimize audio quality, 3 programmable TX bandwidth ranges (TBW) that can allow you to change your “fidelity” on the fly to fit the type of operation you are in, compression setting that can remember what TBW you selected for the feature being on or off, a USB port on the back to run control data and audio on one cable for HRD or RS-BA1 remote operation, memorized settings for data modes, and finally…the whole radio setup including the recorded TX/RX voice and canned message keyer memory…everything…can be stored on a USB memory stick (plugged into the front of the radio). And you can share your whole setup with anyone by transferring the file to them so they can zap their radio with all your settings (radio clone). You can also save just the radio settings without the recorded content, like voice keyer and caned messages. I save both every time I make a change to my radio (good backup!). I’m done changing the settings…it has been perfected! (hihi) Whew! What a list. (Talk about a run-on sentence!)

With this amount of features, and customization, operating this radio becomes extremely pleasurable and effective when everything is optimized. That is the real nitty-gritty stuff that you don’t get from the marketing literature that you should want to know about. Besides the importance of a quality RF design, this stuff makes the radio. It is well worth the time investment to go through and tweak EVERYTHING. It is worth the time to learn the layout of the keys to quickly do (a few) adjustments on the fly. But after you get settings nailed down, you will not have too much to futz with while operating. It will be good to go for most everything. You can change bands and modes by dialing in memory channels, tune the main dial to listen around a band, and you may change the tuning step size to fine steps (just by pressing the TS button…preset settings are saved) for digital modes. Other than that, you may elect to change a filter setting on the fly (by pressing the dedicated filter button) to open up or narrow down the received signal. That is about it! Minimal work for maximum operation. I use coarse tuning of 0.000.100 for most everything except FM and AM, and fine tuning of 0.000.001 for digital modes once I get close to what I am interested in zeroing in on. Speaking of AM, it sounds great on RX and TX, especially if you set the filters right. I usually have the mini-scope on while scanning (my scan is now showing 6m is just starting to open here right now…cool!), use the full sized spectrum scope while tuning around a band, and use full metering while transmitting to monitor all parameters (there are many). Most of my SSB channels are memorized to filter 2 [MID] by default. On 6m I set all SSB and CW to filter 1 [WIDE] for weakest signal detection. The three settings I like for SSB are 3.5 kHz DSP IF/6 kHz roofing (wide), 2.4 kHz DSP IF/3 kHz roofing (mid), and 2.0 kHz DSP IF/ 3 kHz roofing (narrow). The wide filter is great for that hi-fi sound, or really hearing what someone is transmitting, but the mid filter is just right for perfect audio recovery with a pleasing sound (best communications quality). 2.4 kHz SSB audio sounds like FM. I often do a double take to see if it is FM! I only use the narrow setting when I’m trying to get a copy in the roughest band conditions. I should say that the twin passband tuning feature is amazing at cutting off that annoying 2 kHz adjacent signal “eee eeee ee” sound. I have even used it to block signals less then 1.5 kHz away so I could copy a weak signal. Using SHARP skirt settings on all my filters (which I do) helps to “brick-wall” the adjacent stuff, especially using PBT. Although there is a DSP noise reduction feature (NR) in this radio, about the only thing I find it useful for is reducing the static crashes from lightning. It doesn’t help me pull out a weak signal, so I don’t use it much. I set mine pretty minimal at just above 9:30. The noise blanker (NB) is extremely useful, and I set that at 88%-8-88. I did a lot of experimenting to find that point where it was effective at eliminating moderate power line noise, but had minimal distortion effects on SSB. YMMV.

About PSK31…This radio is such a pleasure to do PSK31 or RTTY on. No computer needed! Unlike using USB mode with a program such as DM780, where you are limited to no ALC deflection (about 30 to 40 watts), the IC-7600 allows full transmit power at 100 watts without the IMD issues. That gives you about a 4.5 dB advantage on TX power! Also, the way the lower “decode” display is divided up on these modes, and displays everything you need to see in three sections of the lower area, makes operation very easy and effective. Custom color settings can add to the joy here. You can expand this decode display to utilize 2/3 of the total front display if you want by pushing the “wide” function key. I prefer the regular display with the mini-scope in the middle. I was utterly shocked to see faint waterfall lines on 15m at 0500 hours from across the world. Within minutes those signals became strong enough to decoded on the display (form my 75m – 6m fan dipole on my roof, no less). No S meter readings, and no spectrum scope indication of anything on the band, but there it was decoding on the screen. Amazing! These signals were in the noise floor, and most stations were only transmitting 30 watts! The trick to getting maximum signal, while rejecting signal-robbing noise and adjacent interfering signals, is to narrow down the filter to 50 Hz. Yes, that narrow! PSK31 just fits perfect at that narrow width, and the signal gets clearer and stronger with the narrow filter. On PSK31 my three filters are set to 3.0 kHz (wide to look for band activity), 300 Hz (general fine-tuning) and 50 Hz to a locked in a signal and reject everything else. The tuning scope is easy to use to zero in the exact frequency, although you can also use the automatic AFC feature to center the RX frequency, and NET to center the TX frequency (the manual doesn’t explain what NET does). This feature will also tell you how much off frequency you are, but on weak signals it drifts around a bit looking for the frequency center. I prefer to do manual tuning with the tuning scope. QPSK is a more robust mode than BPSK because it has better error correction that provides a better near error-free copy. Not too many people are using this mode, but I do! I’m glad they included this mode. When you program your canned messages (using a USB keyboard…it’s even easier), consider what you will type ahead with or follow up with. That way you can easily add live, and more personal text to the QSO exchanges. I use all caps on my exchanges so I don’t have to worry about the SHIFT key (I’m a slow typist). The bottom line is that I can stay ahead of the buffer and keep the exchanges fluid without rushing myself. And being able to store all the exchanges with time/freq stamps on a memory stick is great. Luckily, my keyboard has a couple of extra USB ports on the back so I can plug in my memory stick thumb drive there. The radio sees it without a problem.

OK…now the stuff I wish they did different. You knew it was coming, right? (hihi)

For repeater operation, the IC-7600 forces you to press and hold the SPLIT button to set the sub VFO display for the repeater offset frequency. And to make matters worse, it automatically assumes you want to transmit tone, and disables any receive tones you had programmed to filter reception (tone squelch). This is a strange way to do repeater operation, and it makes extra work. Each memory channel stores the tones, filter (bandwidth…use filter 1 WIDE for FM), and receive frequency, but NOT the TX frequency. It uses a preset offset in the menu for each band, but the 6m band has two different offset standards, so this is a drag. My IC-9100 and IC-7000 don’t have this inconvenience, so why does this radio? This forces you to take extra steps to work repeaters. I just want to dial in the channel and have everything good to talk…tones and all. Oddly enough, although the RS-BA1 remote software is lacking scan and other useful features (like VOX), it stores the split frequency and tone selections for repeater mode. No holding the SPLIT button to turn on repeater operation on a memory channel. It just does what it should do. At least they got that working right.

Only 99 memory channels? Really??? Memory is cheap these days. I can get a 16 GB stick for $5 on a good day, but Icom can’t give me some more needed channel space? The IC-7000 has 5 times this amount. For a $3.6K radio, I should have some serious memory and function space!

Speaking of memory channels, the up/down arrow keys are lame and slow. Yes, I can do the long process of F-INP, key in the channel number (if I can remember that) and press one of the arrows to “jump” to a channel, but a twisty-knob would have been better (again…like on the 7000 and 9100). Instead of a CW PITCH knob, which I prefer to set and forget in a menu setting, and that notch filter knob on the inside (always accidentally changing that setting with that knob sticking out there), a memory knob in that place would have been much better for dialing around memory channels. The Notch knob could be moved to the outside ring in place of the CW pitch knob. That would solve two problems.

Why couldn’t they have given us DTCS (also known as DPL) squelch codes in the IC-7600? Believe it or not, some systems use it, and I can’t access those systems without it. The IC-7000 and IC-9100 have it. Was it “assumed” that only VHF HI and UHF need that? Bad assumption, if that is the case. HF and 6m needs it too.

Where is the VSWR Plot feature? There is none in the 7600. Again…the 7000 and 9100 has that. It is useful for visualizing your antenna bandwidth on each band.

No VSC (voice squelch)? Although the IC-9100 VSC is flawed, and the IC-7000 VSC is semi-useful (not perfect), this feature can really reduce fatigue when operating on HF SSB. Icom needs to further develop a well designed voice squelch that really keeps the radio quiet on SSB until a valid voice signal is present. This would help prevent scan hang on unwanted noise, as well as operator fatigue. We need a working VSC!

60 meters should be treated like the separate band it is, and not sharing the same band filter as 75/80 meters. For one, the sensitivity is OK, but not the best there (maybe because the RF filtering is shared with 80m), and that band needs its own spectrum scope limits, as well.

Speaking of the spectrum scope, there needs to be many more programmable spectrum scope limits to cover different sections of the larger bands (like the CW and digital sections). I find 100 to 200 kHz pleasing to view with good detail in the spectrum (with history turned on), but have to resort to using a wide scope setting, or change my desired FIXED mode to CENTER mode to cover the digital sections. When I bring up my PSK31 decode screen (shrinking the scope again back to mini), and use center mode to see the signals, the history on the scope is lost every time I turn the dial. The radio just needs more scope memory.

When you have the mini-scope function turned on, why can’t the spectrum scope go back to full size when you exit out of whatever function you used on the bottom? Right now you get a big blank section at the bottom. Why not populate that with the spectrum scope (a popular feature)? You could always exit the scope to do something else down there, but the extra steps (every time) to regain full scope size just ads to fatigue.

Why does Icom have two different places for setting the squelch depending on mode? This doesn’t make sense. My FM channels lose much usable signal when the squelch is set to the minimum threshold on SSB. The two modes should be set very near the same place so there is no loss on FM. Once I set it for minimum on SSB, I don’t want to change it. Since I scan allot, this becomes a problem for detecting weaker signals on FM.

Some may think FM doesn’t have the noise AM or SSB does, but that is simply not true. Pulse noise on FM is devastating to weak signal work, so we need the noise blanker to work on FM, just as it does on AM and all the other modes.

Why such a small speaker inside? It works, but it could be better. I plugged in one of my unused Onkyo side speakers from my 7+1 surround sound system (I only need 5+1) and WOW! The audio improved by leaps and bounds. Sad to say, as soon as I started using this speaker I heard all kinds of messed up bass response from those operators who try to cram all that bass into their 2.5 kHz filters (with all that ringing that comes from doing that). It was so bad that I had trouble finding what frequency they were actually tuned to. I had to roll off a bit of that bass just to limit all that nonsense. I also added some high end to help my old ears hear more detail. The end result was great receiver audio that works well for me.

Instead of a COMP on/off button, I would prefer a TBW selection button. Now I have to do a long press on the COMP button, arrow around, and then I can change the TX Bandwidth. Too many steps to make that common change. Make the COMP function the one you have to hold to access, and make it so you can set your preference for COMP (on/off) on any of the three TBW settings.

I really like the color display. It is eye candy! One setting of 10% brightness works great in a sunlit room or a totally dark room. But what is missing for night operation is BACKLIT KEYS. Yes, it is time to consider lighting those keys so people don’t have to memorize the key locations and “feel around” in a dark room, only to press the wrong key and mess up the radio operation (D’oh!).

The thinking behind how the display divides and shrinks/deletes certain useful information leaves something to be desired. Better use of the space that is there could have been done. For instance, in full metering display we have that redundant meter up top when we could have had a full number size and memory name display. In memory scan the whole bottom section has too much wasted space. Again, the top could have had full display and shown three meter parameters in a bar type display (like S meter, power output and SWR).

At first I was very confused about the RECORD and PLAY function. I guess I thought it would start recording when I pressed the REC button (like my IC-7000), but it doesn’t do that. Time to breakdown and read the operation manual! It actually captures the last 10 seconds of what you just received if you do a short press on the REC button. But a long press captures the last 30 seconds, but pressing PLAY only plays the last 10 seconds of the last thing you recorded. (hmmm…scratching head) The 10 second post recording thing is great for going back to catch some vital info you didn’t get initially, but maybe the long press on REC could record going forward, and a long press on PLAY could play the audio back to the station you just recorded so he/she can hear his signal quality. Just a thought!

Scan speed needs to be faster. And PLEASE give us a set menu option to hold (for more than 10 seconds) until the squelch closes, then start scanning again. The HF gear should have the option to hold for 2 seconds after the squelch closes and start scanning again…just like the VHF/UHF gear does.

One bug I found with the RS-BA1 software is that “SSB/CW Synchronous Tuning” gets turned off when you connect remotely, and doesn’t get turned back on when you disconnect. Why turn it off at all? I like that feature.

IN CONCLUSION, this is a great radio. So much better than my IC-9100 on HF and 6 meters, but without having VHF and UHF (plus D-STAR) I have nothing available to remote operate with RS-BA1 on those bands and modes. Despite my long laundry list above, it does a pretty good job. Yes, I would like to see those things improved and added, but I would also like to see 2m, 220 (long shot) and 440 all-mode added, D-STAR added, ALE added (that works in scan), and a mobile radio that matches it in almost every way, except the internal tuner for size. Make the two cloneable! That would be the bomb! And please, no odd shaped control heads or monochrome displays! That would be my dream base and mobile setup. Someday I hope they make that duo. Until they do, I need more than one radio. But this one is my best choice for HF and 6 meters. Once you go color with a nice spectrum scope, you can’t go back. It is like you get robbed of that extra vision and go back to having blinders on looking at one frequency. Icom needs to keep producing color displays and spectrum scopes. The IC-9100 and the new IC-7100 have horrible displays. That was a step backwards. Sad to say, if I want to remote control my VHF/UHF/D-STAR again, I will need a 7100. The 9100 just missed the target on V/U D-STAR scan (and display) so bad that I can’t get along with that radio. This radio could have been the base platform for the 9100, but they went another direction. This radio is great and that one was not.

One postscript: I did the AB5N mic mod on my HM-36 hand mic. TX audio is outstanding with a couple of EQ tweaks. Comparing it to an un-modified HM-36, the standard mic sounds dull. That cheap mod puts you in the “high class” audio club with a simple mod. The difference is night and day, and well worth doing.

Phil ~ N2HUC
 
VK2AB Rating: 5/5 Jan 20, 2013 17:48 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have owned my Icom IC-7600 for about 4 months. I have owned other Icoms, Kenwoods and Yeasu radios. This radio (7600) is by far the best radio. It is easy to set up with RX and TX bass and trebble. It it has excellent filters. The scope just blew me away. I use it all the time. The screen saver works well. No matter whatpower I run with the 7600 all reports (baring None) have been excellent. It was set up and was on air within 1n 1/2 hrs of it arriving at my door. Thanks to a fellow ham the settings were in within 10 minutes and have not been changed since. I absolutely love the ease and performance of this radio. I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to upgrade. VK2AB
 
KD6SX Rating: 5/5 Jan 3, 2013 14:47 Send this review to a friend
No Longer Disappointed  Time owned: more than 12 months
My previous review expressed my frustration with my IC-7600. Over a two year period I had to send it in multiple times for repair and it always malfunctioned again. But, after I sent it in the last time, Icom sent me a replacement radio with absolutely no argument. Everyone I spoke to at Icom was pleasant and helpful in resolving the issue. Thank you Icom!

The replacement radio is working as it should and I am very happy with it. The IC-7600 is a fine radio.

73,
KD6SX
 
DC2AC Rating: 5/5 Dec 20, 2012 10:26 Send this review to a friend
Dreamboat  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm new to ham radio and have done quite a bit of
research before buying my first
transceiver. This machine oozes quality in every aspect.Ergonomics are top notch and all the colored
menus popping up are plain fun for the iPhone infested.I would not want to miss the band scope,you
see what is going on at a glance.The internal tuner
did a great job matching my Hustler GP which was initially on SWR 10+ down to 1.2 before I got my hands on an analyzer to fix it for good.The only
complaint I have: You cannot hook up a monitor which would come handy reading the tiny characters
while decoding PSK and RTTY. Sadly this feature is
restricted to the pricier models.
 
G4RNI Rating: 4/5 Dec 8, 2012 01:58 Send this review to a friend
Good with 1 or 2 niggles  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great performer. Excellent receiver. No noticeable alc overshoot despite using the same PA devices as the 7410 and 9100.
To me, the 7410 has a distinct advantage with a simple design change. On the 7600 the mic gain and RF power are again relegated to silly little controls, difficult to adjust because they're too close to the AF/RF gain.
To me, it's more important to have access to mic gain & RF power than noise reduction level (which I tend to leave set and rarely adjust) and CW pitch which has no value whatsoever except for having stations anything but netted. (If you don't like 700 or 800Hz or whatever this parameter is something you can set and forget so therefore should be consigned to a menu or little used control.)
If Icom had the mic and RF power where BAL & NR are, moving NR to a small control at the bottom. Next moving BAL to the CW pitch position and finally moving CW pitch to the bottom edge I'd have given it a 5++++. As it is, it's just a four.
 
ON4VP Rating: 5/5 Nov 19, 2012 20:34 Send this review to a friend
Among the best  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I waited a few months before writing this review. I owned a lot of radios from different brands like Kenwood, Yaesu and I had a IC-756 some years ago. My most recent radio before this one was a FT-950 and I had a K3 for a brief moment but did not like the ergonomics and it felt cheap and plastic. To expensive for a kit built radio no matter how it performed (at least as good as the IC-7600). To me it did not rectify the price when loaded with options (more expensive than the IC-7600 for a kit radio).

Back to the IC-7600. Opposite to the previous reviewer I think the screen is great. It can hold a lot of information and I tend to use it a lot in the multi meter mode. I do use the band scope and it turns out to be useful to.

The great benefits to me is the built quality of this radio and the layout of all the knobs and buttons. All important stuff is on the front panel and lately most other radios in this price range suffer from that. Most radios these days have to many menus to set important things that IMHO need to be present on the front panel without going through to much trouble.

The IC-7600 does have menus to but accessing them is easy and thanks to the big screen the menus are text and easy to understand and not those stupid numbers so you always need a manual to know what function you're adjusting.

The radio runs cool all the time. I only use the IC-7600 to drive (25-35 watts) my Acom2000a. A very fine combination. The only remark is that whenever the internal fan goes on, it does make a bit more noise than I was hoping for but it hardly comes on even after some hours of operation.

Another strong feature is the way I can do split mode and dual receiver (watch). Icom has a very good reputation and knows how hams like to work with a radio. I think Icom has one of the best ergonomics on the market today.

The noise reduction is top notch and way better than what I got on my Yaesu radios, its even better than the K3. I can't review the noise blanker because I never used it, I think I'm lucky to live in a noise free environment. The twin-PBT does a good job and there's a lot of tweaking at your disposal to set audio both in rx and tx which is a great benefit to me. I get great reports using both my Heil headset and PR781.

Filters are good, not exceptional. The receiver is very quiet and for us Europeans, its selectivity on 40 and 80 meters is very good.

Looking back at the ergonomics, the finish, the receiver and the transmit qualities I rate it 5. I know there's always room for improvement but the IC-7600 deserves more than just a 4. In my shack the radio never missed a beat. I hope it will keep on doing that for years to come.

Recommended!
 
<— Page 4 of 14 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.