eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Yaesu FT-225RD Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-225RD
Yaesu FT-225RD Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $(missing—add MSRP)
Description: 25W multimode 144-148MHz transceiver. 10.7 MHz IF. AC/DC.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu-museum.de/Galleries/Page13157/FT-225_RD/body_f
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-225RD.

G8UBJ Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2008 07:24 Send this review to a friend
Best of the best  Time owned: more than 12 months
After a long period QRT I managed to pick up this rig with Mutek front end fitted.
It required some minor adjustments (Carrier point and frequency) and while it was open I took the opportunity to modify the SSB audio so as not to cause splatter. - http://www.qsl.net/sm7ovk/ft225.html
To be honest whether you are talking about EME, tropo DX or VHF field day if you need a single band 2m rig I don't think there is another transceiver out there that will touch this for straight up performance.
Plug in boards, discrete components and plenty of service information ensure this is an easy rig to work on and maintain.

This gets a solid 5!
 
EB7CTX Rating: 5/5 Jan 27, 2008 09:39 Send this review to a friend
Un tesoro  Time owned: more than 12 months
Tengo este aparato como un tesoro, tiene los mismos años que yo, funciona de maravilla (ya me gustaría a mi estar de bien conservado) es de una recepción muy clara y fuerte, muy bonito de aspecto y tenicamente bien diseñado, le tengo acoplado un micrófono shure 444 y hace una transmisión extraordinaria, con sus 25 watios hago lo mismo que con otros mas modernos de 50 watios, como digo yo este es mi tesoro.
 
M0RTS Rating: 5/5 Jul 27, 2007 10:17 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well,where shall I start?

Before I say any more the FT-225 which i have has analogue frequency display,not digital like the 225RD but hey they are the same otherwise.

I have had this special radio now for 8 months,i used it many times before at its previous owners QTH. Out of all the vintage radios in the shack I am pretty sure its this radio I enjoy using the most.

The FT-225r is multimode and covers SSB,CW,FM and AM all in one built like a tank box. very easy to use and well laid out,VFO tuning is silky smooth and accurate. The rig does drift a little until warmed up but considering the age of the radio i can easily live with this.The radio has full capability for repeater operation,discriminator,agc fast and slow and TX/RX clarifiers, all of which are a dream to use.

The reciever on this rig is excellent,very sensitive which is great for 2m dx which i have used this beauty for, TX audio is superb and clean.Tx power is 25 Watts which is very adequate (depending on use). From SSB dx to FM local ragchews this is the rig to have with full 2m band coverage,noise blanker which has been effective and attenuator for strong signals. With a nice desk mic you can sit back and relax and use VOX.

This is a very reliable radio and not many of these come up for sale,if you find one in nice condition (even harder to find) then go and get it! Those of you who know this radio will be aware that there is an optional memory unit, but virtually impossible to find(i have only seen 1 advertised)If you do find the memory unit it is well worth having.

Overall if you buy one of these radios you will not be dissapointed,well worth the wait for.

73
 
M3CVU Rating: 5/5 May 16, 2005 07:10 Send this review to a friend
Just Fantastic  Time owned: more than 12 months
To me this was the best 2m radio made.
Mine has the mutek front end and has out performed all other radios I have tried. It looks like a radio and is easy to repair and maintain. I use 2x6 element Jaybeam quads and the results are fantastic. Like so many I would really like to find the memory option board.

If you see one buy it!
 
N5JNX Rating: 5/5 May 12, 2002 01:50 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
These rigs were ahead of their time. They still can compete with today's microprocessed offerings.

Pros:

a) Self contained. No external power supply
required. 25 watts FM and SSB, 8 watts AM.
b) Has AM.
c) Very sensitive receiver front end. Does
not require a preamp.
d) A solid performer/work horse.
e) Excellent TX/RX audio.
f) A real S-meter with discriminator.
g) Built like a tank.
h) Can run either on AC or DC.
i) Tone burst capabilities.
j) +/- 600 kHz split offsets.
k) Matches the FT-901DM and or FT-902DM radios.
l) Appears to be pretty stable on SSB and FM.
m) Tunes in 10 Hz increments.
n) Has separate TX and RX rit controls.
o) Display counter reads to the nearest 100 Hz.

Cons:

a) Requires an external tone encode unit for
accessing toned repeaters.
b) Low sources for parts. Yaesu USA no longer
has some of the knobs for these radios. Over
a period of time, some of the knobs develop
hairline cracks.
c) The earlier models appeared to have an issue
with the VFO or PLL circuit becoming unlocked
on the 144 MHz band section. This was
alleviated by increasing the PLL voltage to
1.8 volts.

These radios are hard to come by. The most elusive accessory is the memory module. I perfer using this radio over any other.

73

N5JNX-RFII
 
GW4RWR Rating: 5/5 Apr 16, 2002 17:01 Send this review to a friend
Classic multimode - suitable for home & portable.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This set's great virtue is its plug-in boards, each for a separate module. It was an obvious step for Mutek to market an improved front end/mixer board (BF981,DBM). It also has excellent receive audio, people don't all sound the same on this set!

Designed for the American market, the 4MHz coverage is too much for us Europeans. I'm only concerned with the lowest 500kHz of the band. A simple pre-mix would have been adequate for this, instead of the PLL system employed.

Other mods suggested -

Remove the repeater board, replace with a choice of separate I.F. filters, CW, SSB wide, SSB narrow. Use the Repeater 'Nor-Rev-Off' switch. Move the af preamp needed for FM rx to the chassis if FM is required. Repeaters can still be used, although you've forfeited the tone burst facility.

Remove the front end/mixer board completely. Replace with an extra combined IF/AF board. Use cross polarised antennas, install your f.e./mix at the mast head, feed both I.F. paths direct to the radio, listen in binaural for EME, Ar, back/side scatter dx!

Rewire the DISC/PO switch for ALC/PO.

Speed up the AGC constants, the 'slow' setting was unusable on my set.

Bored with 2m? Lousy qth for VHF? Try installing a fixed crystal for 7.825MHz and listen to the international space station on 143.625 FM.

160m operation!....
The VFO spans a range of 8.2-9.2 MHz; converted directly to the 10.7 IF, this affords you a range of 2.5MHz to 1.5MHz, although the VFO will tune 'backwards'. This is no great handicap, since the dial skirt is calibrated in 1kHz increments.
I suggest leaving the PA board in place, just make up new Front end, Exciter and jumpered premix/PLL boards. Feed the exciter signal out to a separate PA, or just enjoy some low power play. I say this, since my other wireless is an FT707 (sans top-band...)

Summing up, this is a great set that is outlasting the modern plastic-cased rigs, complete with their noisy synthesisers and unnecessary features. Big switches and pots also make it far easier to operate, compared to the smaller controls, which are necessary on a smaller radio. And this set has an internal psu. How can people sell radios without a power supply? Would you buy a television and expect to connect it to a separate 14V supply? !
 
VE5ZG Rating: 4/5 Feb 26, 2001 01:45 Send this review to a friend
Solid and dependable  Time owned: more than 12 months
My FT-225RD has been given some rough use as a mobile and has never missed a beat. I have had the chance to do a side-by-side comparison with an FT-736R(on 2m.)and there is little to choose between them.

My only desire for this radio is to find a memory board - a plug-in option. If you should know of one, or even a schematic please fire an E-mail my way.
 
G0DPT Rating: 5/5 Feb 24, 2001 11:15 Send this review to a friend
What I wanted in a 2m transceiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
This was a replacement for an FT-221 RD.I have owned one for five years and have never once regretted its purchase even after owning or using more modern equipment.It is reliable and looks like a radio, not a microwave oven like todays offerings.The only drawback is moving it from the house to the car as modern radios are so small. My birthday gift was a second FT-225RD. Need I say more!
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.