eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Diamond W-735 Dipole Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond W-735 Dipole
Diamond W-735 Dipole Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.0/5 MSRP: $99.99 British Pound
Description: The W-735 is a 2-band loaded dipole for 80 and 40m. Overall length reduced from normal dipole dimensions by use of load coils rather than traps.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.diamond-ant.jp/ama2/eng_ama_2_2_4.asp
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond W-735 Dipole.

MM0HGN Rating: 4/5 Jan 15, 2016 05:43 Send this review to a friend
a bit deaf  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i bought a new one with the bu 55 1.1 balun i put it as an inverted v it was a fair bit deaf compared to an 80m dipole and random wire with a 9.1 unun the swr was fine on 40m but on 80m was way off no trimming so i removed the 1.1 balun and replaced it with a pl259 dipole center and the swr is fine on 3.750 at 1.1 on 40m its fine across the hole band plus the receive is a lot better ps still nothing trimmed just wrap the tails back towards the center
 
IT9AHH Rating: 5/5 Dec 28, 2015 23:38 Send this review to a friend
excellent antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i bought this dipole used less than a week ago, after tons of long/random wire, end fed, and similar antennas with lots of common mode currents and vy poor tx efficency.
easy to install: do not cut anything, but just roll up the excess and it works!
i put it horizontal at abt 33 ft above the ground.
my wswr readings are 1 to 1:1 on 7 mhz cw from 7.0 up to 7.150 khz, and 1 to 1:2 on 3.5 mhz from 3.509 up to 3.529, and 1 to 1:5 on 3.500-3508/3.530- 3540. i'm only cw novice operator and now i'm having
lot of fun and dx on the 40mt and the 80mt cw.
73's
franco.
 
K4QE Rating: 5/5 May 2, 2013 20:36 Send this review to a friend
Less Space...Works Great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
High quality materials. Easy assembly. Works exactly as described in the manual (including the specified bandwidth). Even the packaging was first class! Mine came with an English version of the manual.

You can't call it "poor" when it operates exactly as described. If you fail to do the proper research on a product before buying, it's your own fault, not the manufacturer's.

Small bandwidth does not equal low efficiency. If you think it does, you better go study up on antenna theory! In fact, it's exactly the opposite! A low SWR over the whole 80 meter band would indicate very high losses in a design like this.
 
WD5FUN Rating: 1/5 May 2, 2013 12:43 Send this review to a friend
Worst Design Ever  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Absolutly the worst performing antenna I have ev er used. Bandwidth so norrow on 75 meters that you must have an antenna tuner to use. Since that is the case you can imagine how effecient it is. Don't waste your money on this thing. Just about any antenna you build will out perform this slug.
 
KE6BQW Rating: 4/5 Jun 16, 2012 22:18 Send this review to a friend
Quality is unprecedented. Performance is Good.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been looking to get one of these for a very long time to minimize the number of dipoles hanging from my tower. Diamond has always topped QUALITY build in my books in making antennas. W-735 is no exception. The quality of build of the trap coils are unprecedented. They're definitely sealed from the weather. I applied liquid tape on my connections.

40mtrs only needed 2" of cut on each of the tuning wicks and it was right on 1:1.1 on 7.160mhz. Pretty wide bandwidth. It never went higher than 1:1.5 40mtr phone band.

The 80 mtrs is a different story! It was out of wack right off the get-go. It took 24" of trimming from each of the tuning wicks to get it to where I want it which is 3.81mhz. It is though a good SWR of 1:1.1. My biggest dissapoinment is the bandwidth which is very narrow. only +/-30KHZ on each side to reach the 1.5 SWR. Im sure the antenna tuner can match it a little more outside of those ranges.

Pls note that this is my first multiband dipole. I always had mono bands, so Im not sure if trap coiled multi band have naturaly narrow bandwidth.

Paid $111 from AES
 
DL5KW Rating: 4/5 Jul 10, 2010 07:47 Send this review to a friend
Fine for 40, medium for 80  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Pros:
solid quality wire and balun
Balun BU-50 prevents static voltage between the two arms.
SWR 1.6 on 40M
Cons:
Balun has own SWR for 80M
Coils are optimized for 3.7Mhz. Fine for SSB. Bad SWR 2.6 for CW part of the 80M-Band.
 
PH1MRF Rating: 4/5 May 30, 2009 10:49 Send this review to a friend
Good quality, manual Japanese  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Works very well, but unfortunatly the manual was Japanese. Found an english one here

http://www.houseofradio.gr/download/W-series.pdf

Regards,

Marcel

PH1MRF
 
M0MGF Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2008 08:39 Send this review to a friend
I can hear things on 80/40 now!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Everything you need to make this antenna is included in the bag. You dont even need to do any crimping.
Simple to make up, but the instructions are in Japanese / Chinese (dont know?) Even though they are very easy to follow through to acheive a finished product.
Tuning was simple with 40m been resonant over pretty much most of the band. 80m is a little more High Q, with a smaller bandwidth, so decide where you want to operate with this antenna. An ATU will find it light work though to give you the whole 80m band. And for those that want lots of power, the antenna is rated at 1.2KW.
Quality of material is very good, as you would expect from Diamond antenna's.
This is a highly recommended antenna and at only 26m long, most people will be able to fit it in there gardens.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.