eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Filters, RF: bandpass, duplexer, lowpass, highpass, RFI/EMI, e | Yaesu MTU - Mu tuning units Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu MTU - Mu tuning units
Yaesu MTU - Mu tuning units Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $$400.00
Description: The Ultimate Low-Band DXer RF Preselection Filter: YAESU’s Exclusive µ-Tuning!
On the lower Amateur bands, the signal voltages impinging on a receiver can create noise and Intermodulation effects that can cover up weak signals you’re trying to pull through. So YAESU’s engineers developed the µ (Mu) Tuning system for the FTDX9000, and it’s now available as an option for the FT-2000. Three modules are available (MTU-160, MTU-80/40, MTU-30/20), and these modules may be connected externally with no internal modification required! When µ-Tuning is engaged, the standard VRF (Variable RF Preselector) system is bypassed, but the fixed Bandpass Filters are still in the received signal path. The µ-Tuning filters utilize a stack of large 1.1” (28 mm) Ni-Zn Ferrite cores, driven through a silver-plated coil assembly by a precision stepper motor. The resulting high Q (typically over 300) provides a very steep resonance peak near your operating frequency. The peak may be adjusted away from your frequency, for even greater protection from a specific station, and a graphical depiction of the µ-Tune filter alignment appears on the front panel of the transceiver.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=66EA91711DFB68C03DED4AD35153E12C&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu MTU - Mu tuning units.

Page 1 of 2 —>

KC2GUY Rating: 5/5 Mar 9, 2016 02:28 Send this review to a friend
Makes the Yaesu FTDX3000 OUTSTANDING  Time owned: more than 12 months
lots of controversy around this preselector. it does take time to learn how to use this and 'tune' it. much like the VRF in the old MK5 and in present day Yaesu 5000. Makes filtering on the Yaesu 3000 FAR more effective, and reduces phase noise on a crowded band. it becomes a different radio. i have the 80/40 unit. so i can only speak to that unit. i hear they on not as effective on 30/20. Collins had a great idea when they started the preselector thing. its a keeper. and yes, there is insertion loss which you can make up for by using your pre amp.
 
K9TWO Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2014 19:00 Send this review to a friend
Great  Time owned: more than 12 months
Having worked in the two way radio service industry since 1975, I can appreciate the value of a hi- Q preselector and understand their usefulness and how to use them. They reduce broadband noise and give your rig a very high q front end. I use mine with my FTDX-3000 and can hear stations on 40 meters my Icom 7600 cannot hear. I won't go into how to use them since you can do the research on that. Art Collins knew the value of a preselector. Unfortunately, most hams do not understand what they are and how and when they should be used.

73. K9TWO Since 1959
 
AA6VB Rating: 3/5 Dec 17, 2013 19:36 Send this review to a friend
OK on signals outside the 25 khz bandwidth  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the 160 and 80/40 meter units. The filters are quite wide, about 25 KHZ in fact. The reason many people feel they help is because the filters have so much attenuation (insertion loss) that they fool people into thinking the signal to noise ratio has improved, when the filters really cut down the signal and the noise equally on signals within the 25 KHZ bandwidth. The lower volume creates the illusion the signal to noise ratio has improved.

It is another story if you are bothered by signals outside that 25 KHZ bandwidth in which case the filters can provide some benefit.

These can help, under the right circumstances. Frankly, I don't think they are worth owning and they have never done anything for me since I am not bothered by out of band noise.
 
N4GG Rating: 2/5 Dec 17, 2013 13:47 Send this review to a friend
Design issues, disappointing  Time owned: more than 12 months
First off, the review that gave a 0/5 should be ignored. The call-sign used has no hits on QRZ - this person is never on the air. Or, the call-sign used was someone else's.
Meanwhile, this unit has a design flaw Yaesu won't acknowledge. I have the B unit - it covers 80 and 40. On 80 it works as advertised and it steps along following the radio. The steps are nicely calibrated, the center of the MTU passband is always centered on where the radio is tuned - just like it should be. On 40, its a different story. The MTU tracks, but is always about 5 clicks to the right (up the band), from where it should be. The filter passband is not centered on the receiver passband. You can manually adjust the MTU to center it up, but moving just a few KHz makes the MTU track up the band with you, and it goes to the spot that was pre-loaded and is wrong again. There is no way to calibrate this error out. If you are tuning up the band for DX or in a contest this will add a big operating burden. You will constantly be readjusting the MTU frequency manually. Yaesu says: "Its always centered, that's how its design." Sorry Yaesu, its not always centered and I have the lab data to prove it. Yaesu also acknowledges that they get lots of calls about this - that's not surprising, and that the 160M MTU does it as well. This could be fixed in firmware I believe, if or when Yaesu admits the design has a flaw.

As a filter, its a mixed bag. The filter is about 12 KHz wide, which is quite good. The insertion loss is -10 dB, that's A LOT. On 80 and 40 it probably means moving from IPO1 to preamp 1 on the FTdx5000. The loss is unacceptable for receiving on a K9AY w/o a preamp. Its probably marginal for receiving on a Beverage w/o a preamp. Meanwhile, you probably don't need an MTU on a K9AY, signals are too low to block the receiver. Its a different story on a Beverage where signal levels can be large. Utility is rig dependent. On the 950 and 2000 radios, which have mediocre blocking dynamic range compared to today's best radios, these MTUs will offer an improvement in digging things out of the noise. The FTdx5000 sits on top of Rob Sherwood's chart - it has better blocking dynamic range that anything else on the market (including the K3), except for the KX3, which is a 10W toy radio with other poor specs. The radio is so good its nearly impossible to drive the front end into blocking and the MTUs are no help if blocking has not started. They might come in handy at Field Day or other multi-transmitter sites where front end overload can be an issue.
If you have an FTdx5000, I would skip these. For a 2000 or 950 they will help, particularly if you RX on the TX antennas.

The price? Well, they are expensive to make. Value for the money seems fair. Utility for the money is highly questionable.
 
K4TB Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2012 20:26 Send this review to a friend
Nice Tools  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have the 80/40 and 30/20 meter units and have used them with an FT-950 and now my Ftdx5000. They really add an extra layer of QRN protection against both continuous man-made noise and impluse noise like lightning. The improvement in S/N is substantial in those cases. They can also be used to attenuated close-in signal interference but sometimes it takes playing with their tuning and compensating by switching out attentuation or switching in a preamp to get the most out of them. I know they improve parameters like IMD, etc. but no one has published such data to my knowledge. Sort of a throw-back technology to the early days of radio. Guess you don't find them in most radios today because they would greatly increase the size of the radio.
 
DJ0RD Rating: 5/5 Aug 11, 2012 10:27 Send this review to a friend
FTdx-5000MP Turbochargers  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have the 80-40 an 30-20 µ tune units installed on my FTdx-5000MP. They make a fantastic receiver even better. Just to prove it, watch the band noise when tuning them. I live in a high RF noise pollution Condo environment and these units pull signals out into the clear, when I can barely hear them without the µ tune. The guy who gave them the bad rating either had other expectations, or didn't know how to use them. Maybe they weren't properly connected? Vy 73 de DJ0RD/WU5T
 
N0AZZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2011 12:50 Send this review to a friend
With Practice these are Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
These worked ok (20-30, 40-80) with both of my FT-2000's but really came into it's own when I hooked them up to my FTDX-5000MP which was very good to begin with. All in all a worthwhile purchase that have given my 4 trouble free years of service. It does take time to get used to using them properly but it's worth it.
 
N2TU Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2011 06:09 Send this review to a friend
Super Q multiplier  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a tremendous add-on to the FT series of Yaesu radios. Some of us will remember the Q multipliers of yesteryear. This is the current day, on steroids, version. It does a fantastic job of eliminating out of band noise and in combination with the DSPs, contour control and bandwidth control allows the op to dig signals out of the crud. Once you learn how to use the combination, you'll have another tool to deal with QRM, QRN and spurious noises on the bands.
 
NB5VO Rating: 0/5 Jan 7, 2011 03:25 Send this review to a friend
Quack Radio Product  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Quackery is what this trick box is. The only thing this thing does is make noise when tuning so you think something is happening, and attenuate your signal by several S units when enabled. This tuner was expensive and I could have gotten a good antenna tuner for that price. After spending numerous hours and every combination of filter combinations I concluded that Yaesu made this as a Quack product like people made Quack medical products in the 1800's that had switches and buttons on a box that made noise and didn't do anything. You can read QRZ forum and one expert says it won't do any good for 99.9% of the people using this.
http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?p=1753920
Yaesu doesn't tell you this and uses words such as "Most advanced" "Tremendous Value" "Superior RF preselection" "Profound Advantage" "Unmatched RF selectivity" etc. The only thing profound about this is the price for a black box that doesn't do anything. This box however will make you laugh if you got one of these, so it is good medicine under the right conditions (Your wife won't laugh however). Although the expert above says that only 0.1% of users will benefit from this fraud tuner, I haven't found the 0.1% yet no matter how much I tried and I tried alot. The built in DSP, roofing filters, work "Profoundly Better" than this thing of black box Quackery, super over priced garbage.
 
W1TXT Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2009 08:36 Send this review to a friend
My first impression....Wow!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For the FT-2000 and FT-950 owners that have been wondering about the MTU units and if they're worth the money, make a difference, etc...the answer is definitely YES.

I put 80/40 (it also works on 60M) in-line this morning with an FT-2000...a significant difference. Nearby signals just disappear when the MTU is engaged. Best of all, the audio doesn't change as it does with filters, etc. The signal strength does drop a bit but that's documented in the manual.

I've done the latest firmware upgrades to my FT-2000 which made "some" improvement IMO, but not as much as many operators are claiming. The MTU on the other hand, makes the FT-2000 a true contest grade radio and is very easy to use.

I'll pick up the other two MTU's in months to come.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.