eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2
Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2 Reviews: 88 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,000
Description: On the 1st of January 2009, Yaesu released a major update to the firmware
and DSP for the FT-2000 series of radios. It is based on the update to the
FTdx9000 series of radios and reviews of this revision of the FT-2000 PEP
enhanced version should be posted here.
Product is in production.
More info: http://yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=66EA91711DFB68C03DED4AD35153E12C&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2.

Page 1 of 9 —>

WC4R Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2013 12:11 Send this review to a friend
A real keeper  Time owned: more than 12 months
I gave this a rating of 5 because the FT2000 (PEP) is a great rig (not perfect). I tend to compare this radio against my IC746PRO, Drake R4C w/ Sherwood mods, TenTec Orion, & Flex 5000A.
It stacks up very well and I use the Yaesu at least 50% of the time. The radio has all the normal features any ham will need. It does not have the features or performance of my Flex but for the cost, it stacks up very well. The only weak area is the 3KHz filter which is hardly any better than the 6KHz filter. Of course you could do the mod for the AC0C filter if needed to fix that.
I do not use a DMU as I do not see the value of that expensive option. Beside, my Flex blows that part of it away. Not a fair comparison.
TX audio is outstanding. Even AM performance is very good. For voice, CW, digital, casual or DX, this radio is a real keeper. Simple to operate, and ergonomically pleasing. Wonderful for Field Day. The fit, finish, and overall feel is top quality.
It is a real shame it has been discontinued. The newer 3000 model does not perform as well and that band scope on the 3000/1200 is a joke.
The latest firmware has eliminated virtually all the old issues of the original units. Yaesu's support has been very good.
For a main stream, better than average HF radio, this is the one to grab.
 
KB3OKT Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2013 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Well balanced radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am highly satisfied with my FT-2000. It is very user friendly with respectable performance at a competitive price. The receiver is relatively quiet and easy to configure to my preferred parameters. Although I enjoy my other radios (FT-817, TS-480. TS-590) the 2000 has the best combination of performance and good ergonomics. In five years of ownership It has given me zero problems. In spite of the roofing filter issue it provides an outstanding radio experience.
 
KB2VYZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2013 07:28 Send this review to a friend
Still a GREAT radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just purchased my second FT-2000 after selling my original (also PEP-2000 enhanced), and this radio is every bit as good, if not better than my original. I considered getting the new FTDX-3000, and after a side by side comparison, I would have had to give up too much (ex: built in PS, 2nd RX, etc.).
One thing I did notice with my "NEW" FT-2000 is, the display's brightness has been turned down a little (SN: 3D95XXXX). This was probably done because, if like me, you leave your rig on 24/7, the bright green parts of the display would darken some after time, as it did on my first FT-2000.
If you have been considering getting this rig, now is the time. HRO Delaware, Universal Radio as well as several international dealers are reporting that this radio has been discontinued.

73 de Frank/KB2VYZ

 
PA5COR Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2013 03:32 Send this review to a friend
good for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
Owned the FT 2000 - D for 20 months now, took some serious reading of the manual and sites of owners to set it up exactly as i wished it to be.

As already stated not the transceiver you buy, switch on and use, there is a manual going with it, READ it, go online and read up on users sites and make use of their experiences.

I'm the casual user, have decent antenna's mostly on 160 but not forgetting the other bands up to 50 MHz.
Using the DSP and VFR and roofing filter gets some experimenting to do, but works as described.
Using the EQplus, MD-1 microphone on a boom, it works as a charm.

Is it the best transceiver out there? no, but it won't cost you the bank as well, 95% of the users don't really need more.

Just if you can spend it do so, but in reality the top transceivers are for most casual hams overkill, spend the money on antenna's and feedlines etc.
Ergonomics are excelent, audio reports are glowing that i receive, not for my voice i think...
Used daily for lots of hours, no problems detected or popped up, it does like the former FT 847, switch on and use it.

I noticed i run the Heathkit SB - 1000 a lot less, 200+ watts mostly does the job, no need to fire up the amp.

Factory set output is 225 watts mostly i use 100 to 200 watts if i need more the amp will do fine.

Looks i got myself another workhorse for the next 15 years.
Value ffor tthe money paid is excellent, don't compare top rigs with middle class rigs that cost 1/3 of the top line stuff, i had a FT 9000 here and with the 2000 i work the same stations with just as much fun and ease as the FT 9000.

I had a lot of stuff here Kenwood, Icom, Yaesu, but this one is staying here for a long time.
See you on the bands,
73,
Cor
 
AA2DK Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2013 14:43 Send this review to a friend
Review from a very casual operator  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought a Yaesu FT-950 last October. Good radio, really no major complaints. Yes, several DSP settings are buried in the menus, but my only reason for wanting to replace it with an FT-2000 was pure Yaesu lust, LOL. I've had the FT-2000 for a week already, and Wow. Double Wow. The receiver on the FT-2000 is lightyears better than the FT-950, although they don't advertise this. In my casual opinion, I'm in love with my new FT-2000 and it was definately worth upgrading. No, I don't have a Ph.D. in audio anything, but from Bob Heil's headset to my ears, it's pure bliss. And no desire to ever upgrade to the FTdx5000 or the FTdx9000. Way overpriced for a casual operator like me.
 
N3YV Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2013 09:03 Send this review to a friend
THE BEST !!!!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I had many very good radios in the pass years from the TS-590 TS-870 FT-950 IC-756III
IC-7600 and they're all very good but I like ESSB and the FT-2000 can play there very well in the realm with everything I need to make sound like a million bucks and I was lucky to get one loaded with the AC0Cand Inrad filters and OMG what a beauty to listen too, also everything about it is just sweet and not too much menu to mess around with, super elegant in the shack,,,to me is the 007 of the radios with a license to kill !!!
 
KE4EX Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2013 08:18 Send this review to a friend
6 years over 15000 contacts  Time owned: more than 12 months
Yes, over 6 years and still going strong.
Now the truth be known I first had issues.
Software updates fixed most of those.
When you become one with the 149 menu settings all gets better. Hint, RTM RTM RTM
I dearly love my ft 2000 cursed it a couple times but all is well. I am not a chicken runner, (one that runs to get the newest rig out)
Put it this way, #4# $4$ can-not be beat FT2K.
I work SSB-CW-RTTY-PSK I get great audio feedback
Thanks for dropping by.
God bless our troops
73
 
M0VPL Rating: 5/5 Feb 10, 2013 02:48 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The Ft-2000D has been in my shack for only a few months, and having used it constantly in that time i can say iam very pleased with its performance, yes there is a lot to learn but having found Master commander by IW1AWH the learning curve has been made so much easier. this is a fantastic piece of software which is free! and a great way to get to know your FT-2000 and what it can do.

Perhaps people buy this radio and expect it to deliver with all the knobs set to middle and menu's set at default! but learn to drive this radio and it will surprise you. with the master commander software the learning curve is made so much easier and you can get the audio you want with on screen display and adjustment of the EQ settings. as for RX its the same way, see on the screen what your filters are doing, more importantly hear the difference.

So far iam more than pleased with the FT-2000D the above software makes it a pleasure to use. and a keeper for me!
 
WA7RBC Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2013 18:52 Send this review to a friend
Fine Transceiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had my FT-2000 for about two years, and use the radio nearly every day for casual CW contacts. It is a stock radio with no aftermarket filters.

It is true that the 3 kHz roofing filter in the radio is no better than the 6 kHz filter, and this is the receiverís main, and perhaps only, shortcoming. I wouldnít have noticed, if not for the complaints Iíve heard from others. Most of the time, unless a VERY close station is S9+, the receiverís DSP will take care of what the roofing filter does not. If you canít live with this shortcoming, better look for another rig.

On the other hand, thereís a lot to like about the FT-2000. Itís a relatively easy radio to use with a transmitter (and ATU) thatís quite good. I like the display and find that everything I want to know is there-- without a lot of other stuff cluttering up the view. The build quality is excellent. Having a second receiver seemed like a luxury at first, now itís a ďmust haveĒ. The radio has about every feature that I could possibly want, right down to the analog meter on the front.
 
KI5SO Rating: 5/5 Nov 23, 2012 17:48 Send this review to a friend
Updated information Wow!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I commented that the roofing filters weren't much good on this radio, well, I take that back. They should be used in conjunction with the vrf--variable roofing filter--engaged and turn the knob left or right to really quieten things down. The 3 khz filter works. I think the filters are actually not engaged until you engage the VRF button. There are so many helpful sites and comments all over the web about this radio, perhap more than any other radio I've researched. I love this radio. It has great audio and the receiver is top notch. I really wonder, how much better can it get? All I can say is, don't knock it until you have read the manual, understand each function and really tried it. All I can say is wow! The dxft 3000 has nothing on this rig. Find a picture of the 2000 in turned on and in color and see what a beauty it is!
 
Page 1 of 9 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.