- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2 Help

Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2
Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2 Reviews: 91 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,000
Description: On the 1st of January 2009, Yaesu released a major update to the firmware
and DSP for the FT-2000 series of radios. It is based on the update to the
FTdx9000 series of radios and reviews of this revision of the FT-2000 PEP
enhanced version should be posted here.
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-2000 (PEP-2000 enhanced version). AKA Mark 2.

Page 1 of 10 —>

CE3DNP Rating: 5/5 Oct 12, 2016 08:27 Send this review to a friend
Very happy with this rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
A few months ago I bought a FT-2000 with no use, she had been stored for several years. I did the firmware update and it really is a fantastic transceiver. I have had several: FT-ONE, FT-920, FT-1000, FT-817, TS-830, TS-850, TS-870, TS-590, however, and IMHO I think this is the best, by the moment.
VE3TMT Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2016 06:26 Send this review to a friend
Totally Satisfied  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've had an FT-2000 in the shack for a few weeks now and am totally impressed. It has the "PEP" firmware update. Yes the 3 KHz roofing filter is a joke, but I am not a hard core contestor, so it works for me. Won't repeat all the features, too many to list. What I do like is the 4 KHz receive and TX bandwidth (if needed, I use 2.8 KHz) Great display, dual receivers, great TX audio using a Koss SB40 headset. 6m is noce at 100W.

Now it isn't an IC-7300, TS-590 or FT-991, but if I want to drop my power to run the amp, I don't have to go digging for the setting in a menu. All the most often used controls are on the front panel, where they should be.

As I write this, I just worked Puerto Rico on fun fun.

K5VSH Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2015 17:53 Send this review to a friend
Great Transceiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned the FT-990, FT-950, and have a FT-450 in my RV. This Transceiver combines the best attributes of the old 990 with the new 950 Plus. I also have the DMU-2000 that I'm not impressed with.
VE3WCQ Rating: 5/5 Sep 1, 2014 22:03 Send this review to a friend
From 3000 to 2000D  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well just like the title says I had purchased the FTdx-3000 just over a year ago and I did a review stating on how much I love the radio and the big thing for me was the Audio on TX and RX was nice. I started to compare the 3000 with my TS-590 and did a lot of flipping back and forth and I guess in the last few months I found my self running the 590 more often, It is such a simple radio to use and it performs well, time after time I would find a signal say 20 over and put both radios 2kHz away and start from a 2800 BW which I tend to run and the 590 would eat the 3000 every time would like wipe out the signal when I hit 1800 BW, with the 3000 it would still be there even with the 3000kHz R.Flt. Well I had seen that a used 2000D came up at the Radio store, I phoned and found out it is a 2010 production but was bought new in 2013 and the Gentleman traded it for a 5000. I had to go see and it was mint and sounded fantastic. I did the same little test with it as I did with the 590 but with a 3000 that was on display and in my eyes and the friend that came with me the 2000 won. We switched back and forth and the 3000 almost seemed like it spent so much energy filtering that that we could not hear the station that was 1 to 2 S units where as the 2000 almost took the Light House Station out but we could hear and make out the 1 to 2 S unit station. His comment to me was " what the F--- Mike I thought you had one of the best Radios going " I said so did I. I had a hard time with this. How dose a Radio that placed 31st on the QST test chart beat the 6th Ranked Radio?
Well the trade was done and I even had the Tech say that I was downgrading. I don't think so, it has a better Recv. Ya I don't think so. I have not missed the 3000 and I also no longer put all my faith in those numbers that the Labs get. Just goes to show GO AND COMPARE AND LISTEN AND LISTEN AND LISTEN just like Bob Heil says people just don't focus and listen.
I am vary happy with the 2000D and I would do it again in a heart beat.

All the best!
WC4R Rating: 5/5 Nov 8, 2013 12:11 Send this review to a friend
A real keeper  Time owned: more than 12 months
I gave this a rating of 5 because the FT2000 (PEP) is a great rig (not perfect). I tend to compare this radio against my IC746PRO, Drake R4C w/ Sherwood mods, TenTec Orion, & Flex 5000A.
It stacks up very well and I use the Yaesu at least 50% of the time. The radio has all the normal features any ham will need. It does not have the features or performance of my Flex but for the cost, it stacks up very well. The only weak area is the 3KHz filter which is hardly any better than the 6KHz filter. Of course you could do the mod for the AC0C filter if needed to fix that.
I do not use a DMU as I do not see the value of that expensive option. Beside, my Flex blows that part of it away. Not a fair comparison.
TX audio is outstanding. Even AM performance is very good. For voice, CW, digital, casual or DX, this radio is a real keeper. Simple to operate, and ergonomically pleasing. Wonderful for Field Day. The fit, finish, and overall feel is top quality.
It is a real shame it has been discontinued. The newer 3000 model does not perform as well and that band scope on the 3000/1200 is a joke.
The latest firmware has eliminated virtually all the old issues of the original units. Yaesu's support has been very good.
For a main stream, better than average HF radio, this is the one to grab.
KB3OKT Rating: 5/5 Nov 5, 2013 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Well balanced radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am highly satisfied with my FT-2000. It is very user friendly with respectable performance at a competitive price. The receiver is relatively quiet and easy to configure to my preferred parameters. Although I enjoy my other radios (FT-817, TS-480. TS-590) the 2000 has the best combination of performance and good ergonomics. In five years of ownership It has given me zero problems. In spite of the roofing filter issue it provides an outstanding radio experience.
KB2VYZ Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2013 07:28 Send this review to a friend
Still a GREAT radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just purchased my second FT-2000 after selling my original (also PEP-2000 enhanced), and this radio is every bit as good, if not better than my original. I considered getting the new FTDX-3000, and after a side by side comparison, I would have had to give up too much (ex: built in PS, 2nd RX, etc.).
One thing I did notice with my "NEW" FT-2000 is, the display's brightness has been turned down a little (SN: 3D95XXXX). This was probably done because, if like me, you leave your rig on 24/7, the bright green parts of the display would darken some after time, as it did on my first FT-2000.
If you have been considering getting this rig, now is the time. HRO Delaware, Universal Radio as well as several international dealers are reporting that this radio has been discontinued.

73 de Frank/KB2VYZ

PA5COR Rating: 5/5 Apr 3, 2013 03:32 Send this review to a friend
good for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
Owned the FT 2000 - D for 20 months now, took some serious reading of the manual and sites of owners to set it up exactly as i wished it to be.

As already stated not the transceiver you buy, switch on and use, there is a manual going with it, READ it, go online and read up on users sites and make use of their experiences.

I'm the casual user, have decent antenna's mostly on 160 but not forgetting the other bands up to 50 MHz.
Using the DSP and VFR and roofing filter gets some experimenting to do, but works as described.
Using the EQplus, MD-1 microphone on a boom, it works as a charm.

Is it the best transceiver out there? no, but it won't cost you the bank as well, 95% of the users don't really need more.

Just if you can spend it do so, but in reality the top transceivers are for most casual hams overkill, spend the money on antenna's and feedlines etc.
Ergonomics are excelent, audio reports are glowing that i receive, not for my voice i think...
Used daily for lots of hours, no problems detected or popped up, it does like the former FT 847, switch on and use it.

I noticed i run the Heathkit SB - 1000 a lot less, 200+ watts mostly does the job, no need to fire up the amp.

Factory set output is 225 watts mostly i use 100 to 200 watts if i need more the amp will do fine.

Looks i got myself another workhorse for the next 15 years.
Value ffor tthe money paid is excellent, don't compare top rigs with middle class rigs that cost 1/3 of the top line stuff, i had a FT 9000 here and with the 2000 i work the same stations with just as much fun and ease as the FT 9000.

I had a lot of stuff here Kenwood, Icom, Yaesu, but this one is staying here for a long time.
See you on the bands,
AA2DK Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2013 14:43 Send this review to a friend
Review from a very casual operator  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought a Yaesu FT-950 last October. Good radio, really no major complaints. Yes, several DSP settings are buried in the menus, but my only reason for wanting to replace it with an FT-2000 was pure Yaesu lust, LOL. I've had the FT-2000 for a week already, and Wow. Double Wow. The receiver on the FT-2000 is lightyears better than the FT-950, although they don't advertise this. In my casual opinion, I'm in love with my new FT-2000 and it was definately worth upgrading. No, I don't have a Ph.D. in audio anything, but from Bob Heil's headset to my ears, it's pure bliss. And no desire to ever upgrade to the FTdx5000 or the FTdx9000. Way overpriced for a casual operator like me.
N3YV Rating: 5/5 Mar 13, 2013 09:03 Send this review to a friend
THE BEST !!!!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I had many very good radios in the pass years from the TS-590 TS-870 FT-950 IC-756III
IC-7600 and they're all very good but I like ESSB and the FT-2000 can play there very well in the realm with everything I need to make sound like a million bucks and I was lucky to get one loaded with the AC0Cand Inrad filters and OMG what a beauty to listen too, also everything about it is just sweet and not too much menu to mess around with, super elegant in the shack,,,to me is the 007 of the radios with a license to kill !!!
Page 1 of 10 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.