eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Analyzers | Times Technology T100/T100+ VHF/UHF Vector Antenna Analyzer Help


Reviews Summary for Times Technology T100/T100+ VHF/UHF Vector Antenna Analyzer
Times Technology T100/T100+ VHF/UHF Vector Antenna Analyzer Reviews: 10 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $249.
Description: A handheld VHF/UHF Antenna Analyzer with digital display
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.timestechnology.com.hk.
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Times Technology T100/T100+ VHF/UHF Vector Antenna Analyzer.

F4GEQ Rating: 5/5 Nov 28, 2012 03:09 Send this review to a friend
Highly recommended  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased in Dec. 2009 an early unit. Easy to use with or without a PC, comprehensive with full set of SMA calibration set and misc. adapters, low battery consumption and accurate results.
End Oct. 2012, after a few months without use, i retrieved it from the drawer for new experiments but the keypad did not respond. I Emailed to request and buy them a spare keypad, but Morris Chang immediately answered that he would send me a replacement keypad for free, which he did: I received it (new and improved) less than 10 days after, from Hong Kong to Paris- France. Wow, what a service!!!
 
IZ4UFQ Rating: 5/5 May 30, 2012 15:48 Send this review to a friend
It works and it's quite cheap  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have bought one T100Plus on ebay (directly from Times Tech) and I am very happy with it. It works, it's easy to use, and even if some says it cannot be done, I can actually show a narrower part of the available band on the display (i.e. I can "zoom in" on a portion of the band) and I can also change vertical scale to better appreciate little variations (for example, I can set vertical scale to show a maximum of 10 or 3 for SWR).

I hope Times Tech will build and sell also an HF version, because I will surely buy it.
 
N0GW Rating: 5/5 Oct 9, 2011 12:42 Send this review to a friend
Like it!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ordered my T100 via Ebay. Ordered it on October 2nd; was shipped on the 4th; delivered to my door on 8th.

As noted in previous reviews, it is light duty physically. However, performance wise, it is a winner. Its user interface is very easy to learn. Checking or adjusting an antenna becomes simple compared with using other portable instruments: Hook it up; set it to sweep around the desired operating frequency; watch the sweep while adjusting the antenna. I've even used it to do a quick setup on a UHF repeater duplexer. (Max return loss on pass frequencies, min Z on notch frequencies - haven't had a chance to verify the tuning with proper instruments but the repeater is working OK.)

This is a great little instrument. Add a few bucks to the price, upgrade to a sturdy case with a solidly mounted N connector, and it would become a standard toolbox item for every radio tech. Until then, just be careful with it.
 
OK1WTX Rating: 5/5 Feb 27, 2011 23:00 Send this review to a friend
Very good instrument for the money  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
We bought this product from eBay. It seems to be quite good instrument, although not very suitable for outdoor harsh conditions. Be careful with built-in SMA connector.

The manufacturer offers only a simple PC based utility. To improve this, we created free utility for this device:
http://www.czcube.org/en/results/t100utility.html
 
VK3KBC Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2010 01:36 Send this review to a friend
Excellent instrument for the money!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Times Technologies T100 Antenna Analyzer is, in my opinion, worth every cent of the AU$220 price that I paid including delivery from Hong Kong.

It displayed repeatable and unambiguous outputs and was simple to operate. It is firmware upgradeable and I can't wait to see what future versions of firmware will be capable of.

The construction quality is good, but not Fluke Multimeter quality. The case is not indestructible; more like a calculator case.

The keypad does not have a tactile feel so when you press it you're not sure if you've pressed hard enough but it seems to work reliably.

The front face plate (and Mylar keypad) assembly seems to be glued to the front of the unit but there is no solid plastic between the glass display and the plastic membrane covering the display. This means that you have to be careful not to put the unit in amongst other tools which may let something sharp poke or prod the display cover as it would probably put a hole in the plastic membrane.

The display cover quality is very similar to the remote head membrane on the Codan 8528 HF radios available here in VK, for example.

I would personally like to recommend a solid plastic display window be considered for future models but apart from that minor consideration, I think it's a great unit. Congratulations Mr Chang and thanks for a great analyzer!

Now it's time to start building some antennas! :-)
 
VK4APN Rating: 5/5 Dec 2, 2009 16:42 Send this review to a friend
Excellent bang for buck!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
If you are into building vhf/uhf antennas this is exactly what you need. It measures every key parameter (download the manual to see) that you need to know - in a hand held device that does not need to be connected to a PC. It is supplied with O/S/L amphenol sma terminations to provide accurate calibration and a few adapters to suit other connectors. I also own an MFJ 259B and a MINIVNA - the T100 adds portability and UHF data that the others do not. If it covered HF as well the others would go...The PC software is rudimentary and is only a sample of what can be done. The case is not robust at all so be gentle with it.
 
N7MFY Rating: 5/5 Oct 3, 2009 21:00 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Price, value, and performance  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought one of these so that I could compete with two other technicians that use the MFJ269. I routinely kick their butts. The T100 is fast, accurate small/light, and the graphing feature is the wow factor.

Whew! With all that said, my wish list would include a more rugged housing, and a little head room above 470 mhz (Some of my repeaters are on 469mhz), as well as a more developed computer program. I'd like to see the graphs on the PC, (The T100's display is a bit small) and save/print them.

I started a T100 users group on Yahoo, and all are welcome to join.
 
KI6QYJ Rating: 4/5 May 3, 2009 03:13 Send this review to a friend
Quite a bargain  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Don't expect miracles like continuous coverage, control of sweep width or step, or any WXproofing or "armor" against drops or the like. But for the money this thing is a real bargain. Does what you need it to do, and gives you your choice of return loss, phase angle, series or parallel impedance (with sign for the J component), or SWR. Graphs, interfaces with your computer for computer-driven measurements, and has most of the features of the "big boys".

Ups: Comes with a full range of adapters and calibration fittings (open, short, 50 ohm +j0), drivers, even a short USB cable for connecting to your computer. Super-cheap, to the point where the thing is nearly disposable -- you can't get a dual-band handheld for this cheap, and you'll have to spend at least twice as much to get the same basic features from anyone else (even more if you want the UHF coverage). Runs of AA batteries, a definite plus -- easy to always have spares in the field. Backlight plenty bright. Appears to have a self-compensating LCD display (contrast self-corrects for display temp).

Downs: Cheaply built. Drop it from any altitude and it's probably toast. Don't even let it look at water. Clear plastic "window" over the display was already peeling back and lightly scuffed on mine when it arrived. But for the price, I wasn't expecting a RigExpert AA-200 or anything. DOES NOT cover 1.25m (220 Mhz) range.


I bought this specifically for V/U antenna construction, tuning, and repeater work. For the price you can buy two, have a spare on hand in case you drop yours off the tower, and STILL come in at half the price of a Mighty Fine Junk that'll cover 440. I got myself a RigExpert AA-200 for HF (MILES better than MFJ analyzers, check it out if you're in the market for something for HF use) and one of these for V/U, and got graphing displays with all four types of measurement for everything but 6m and 220 for only a little more than the UHF model MFJ, that has no graphing capability or computer interface (the AA-200 even lets you save plots in internal memory and download them later on).

Be ginger with it, don't drop it, keep it out of the rain, and it should last a good while. Ships in a padded box that isn't beautiful but does work fine for storage (and doesn't announce to anyone that there might be desirable electronics inside, a potential plus). I consider it money well spent in terms of value for the dollar.
 
RFSOAKED Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2009 09:58 Send this review to a friend
Well worth the low cost!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great tool if your dealing with VHF/UHF on a regular basis, it covers both the ham band and commercial so it was a win-win for me as it covers both my hobby and my other ventures.

If you connect it to the computer and use the included software you can get a better look at the spectrum display, it is a bit small on the builtin display but without making the device larger and using a larger display, and adding to its cost, its a good compromise. Plus its a nice handheld size.

If you use it a lot at the workbench and have a computer or laptop nearby consider using that as you can then turn off the backlighting and save battery life, though i managed about 5-6 hours off a set of NiMH rechargeables before it flashed the little battery symbol and the backlight started to flicker a bit from the voltage drop.

As for not being able to select the range you want to sweep, that doesn't really bother me any, its fast in displaying the results when making adjustments, and if you adjust the step and display you can narrow the display down to only a portion of the band, although its still sweeping the entire range you only have to look at part of it once you have your frequency of interest selected then adjust it to begin, center, or end for the display and you can chop the display down to a portion of the range.

It's also nice being able to display the entire band to identify an unknown antenna. Instead of having to grab an analyzer like the MFJ and tuning up and down its entire range to find where its resonant i can connect an antenna of unknown value and plot it out in a couple seconds and see where its resonant, then from there i can narrow it down and make adjustments. From start to finish you can tune up the average mobile whip in minutes, the only thing it doesnt tell you is cut X number of inches off.. HI HI

If only they would make a version that covers 1-50Mhz now!
 
G0KSC Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2009 22:50 Send this review to a friend
Good for the money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought one of these from Ebay for $159.00. It has a digital disply with plenty of unctionality. However, the only let down is the frequency sweep. You can not select to sweep a fre mhz, it has to sweep the whole band, i.e. 100Mhz to 170Mhz. With the screen res, it can be a little difficult if you have a real narrow band antenna.

Other than that it is accurate and a great performer.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.