eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Headphones & Boom-mic Headsets | W2ENY Premium Headset Help


Reviews Summary for W2ENY Premium Headset
Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $50.00
Description: PREMIUM Two Ear HEADSET
has Noise Canceling Boom Mic

by Bob W2ENY
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the W2ENY Premium Headset.

Page 1 of 3 —>

K2GT Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2015 20:20 Send this review to a friend
It Does the Job  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My IC-7600 is in a room with hard floors, nothing on the walls, and major echo in both transmitting and receiving. I tried a variety of mics including Heil and Icom and all got mediocre reports. No speaker worked, although headsets did, so I decided to try the W2ENY Premium Headset. Once I adjusted the 7600's mic settings, my problem was finally solved. It works very well.
 
K8DXX Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2015 19:32 Send this review to a friend
Great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Unanticipated replacement for a lightly used Heil ProSet 5/HC5 which broke. Headphones are lightweight, comfortable and sound great. Microphone output to my new Yaesu FT-991 is high compared to the stock mic (which in and of itself, got good reports). Reports received on transmit audio have been very positive: pleasant/natural voice with good articulation. Supplied adaptor cables for Yaesu seem a bit light but are probably adequate.

Ordered late on 6/18/2015 and got it 6/20/2015. Good service!
 
KA8SBI Rating: 4/5 May 4, 2015 15:25 Send this review to a friend
Not bad  Time owned: more than 12 months
It works as advertised.It gets good audio reports.It sounds good to my ears. The only downside I have found, it does not have much sound deadening. If you contest alone it is a fine headset. If your multi multi in the same room you may need something better. overall I like it. It is the second one I've purchased
 
N2PD Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2014 21:13 Send this review to a friend
Excellent headset  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I use this headset with my Kenwood TS-830 and get glowing audio reports. Initially had a problem with RF feedback but Bob was very helpful in curing the problem. Great product, value, and excellent service.
 
K4HYJ Rating: 5/5 May 29, 2013 15:23 Send this review to a friend
works fine  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
For the money this setup is hard to beat. The headset audio is a little tin-nie and can cause audio fatigue after several hours of use - but hey, this isn't a studio quality piece.

The mic gets good reports - nice full audio. The adapters included for my FT-857D were very well made and should stand up to years of abuse.
 
KG8JF Rating: 4/5 Dec 6, 2012 04:19 Send this review to a friend
bad quality  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
The only reason this is a 4 and not a 3 is due to the fact that he replaced a headset/boom mic set for free. The item was a real POS, unlike the first time I dealt with this seller. Before I buy anything else from him, I would like very much to talk with him, face-to-face regarding the quality of the stuff he sells.
 
K2YNY Rating: 5/5 Dec 5, 2012 17:06 Send this review to a friend
FANTASTIC  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The best money I have spent on any of my Ham equipment. Great audio reports for less the money. I get better audio reports from W2ENY's premium headset and boom mic them my MC-60 Kenwood mic
 
VK5SA Rating: 5/5 May 13, 2012 19:17 Send this review to a friend
Great value for money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It arrived this morning, and I plugged it straight into my IC-706MkIIG.

My first contact (VK6ABS) using the new setup gave me an unsolicited comment that my signal was "broadcast quality" and asked me what microphone I was using.

My third purchase from Bob, and happy with all of them.

Chris
 
W6GX Rating: 5/5 Apr 28, 2010 20:26 Send this review to a friend
Works well for me!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I've been using headset for 6 months. I also have the foot switch which works very well. This is a full-range headset that is better suited for ragchewing. For DX work I set my mic. equalizer to give it more high-end punch. The headset is very light and comfortable to wear for a long time. My radio is a FT-950 and I set the mic. gain at only 11 out of 100. On my stock mic. I set the mic. gain at 35-40, so the W2ENY headset requires very little gain possibly due to an impedance mis-match. In any case I get good audio reports and I'm satisfied with the performance. I also purchased two additional adapters so that I could use the same headset on other rigs that I don't own. This will come in handy on field day.
 
N4SRQ Rating: 4/5 Apr 28, 2010 13:41 Send this review to a friend
After further review ..  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My earlier review below may have been a little misleading and I wanted to re-address a few areas where I fell short of giving a proper review. While I am still not enamored with the particular headset chosen I would like to add that W2ENY provides a total solution for a very reasonable price. That is often hard to find. My unit works with my radio. The PTT works perfectly and as I said earlier, the adapters are top notch. It would be a worthwhile purchase to those who don't wnat to mess with putting together their own ... and like I said, the price is right.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.