eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Software - Logging | Clublog Help


Reviews Summary for Clublog
Clublog Reviews: 12 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $Free
Description: A web based application using a database to analyze amateur radio logs and build league tables of DXCC Countries worked
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.g7vjr.org/index.php?id=52
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Clublog.

Page 1 of 2 —>

N0AG Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2014 20:21 Send this review to a friend
VERY Cool program  Time owned: more than 12 months
This thing is kind of like a Makita drill/screwdriver...you start off wondering why do I need this thing---Six months later, you wonder how you ever got along without it. Seriously, I just keep finding more uses for the program. They seem to really be on top of what's going on. More DXpeditions are taking advantage of their services and the implementation of OQRS system was a stroke of genius. To top it all off....It's FREE.
 
VE7IG Rating: 5/5 Nov 24, 2013 07:37 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
For those who upload logs this service is phenomenal. For the rest of us it is also phenomenal but in other ways. More and more DXpeditions are making use of the online log facility and the display and stats are great. I subscribe to the listserv and get a lot of entertainment out of the complaints, problems, comments and rapid returns. The complaints and problems are fixed very quickly by Michael, G7VJR, the programmer, who is a wizard at fixing bugs and improving the program. LoTW could take a page out of the Club Log experience and fix some of their problems.

Also, you can find a lot of interesting DX history in the Club Log files and comments on how call assignments have changed over the years in some countries, along with examples of old QSLs---very interesting! Alan, 5B4AHJ, is the man behind this excellent part of Club Log.

There is a crew of expert volunteers behind Club Log and they make it a good experience for all users. They are polite and responsive and that is one of the things that makes Club Log a success as a DX tool and an enjoyable environment to hang out in.
 
W6QT Rating: 5/5 Oct 8, 2012 20:24 Send this review to a friend
See results instantly  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A great tool for logging DX. Run a script on your QRZ page for a snapshot of your up-to-date contacts.
 
N3QVB Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2012 08:43 Send this review to a friend
Great tool  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Very robust. It offers many tools such as log searches and propagation forecasting. It also caught some data discrepancies I made in my logging program. You should check it out.
 
K5UO Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2012 06:23 Send this review to a friend
Excellent DX tool...  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Excellent DX tool. Forces you to be more accurate in your logging program. The old saying "garbage in; garbage out" holds true.

I enjoy the program very much and thanks to the guys that work this project.
 
PA3GOS Rating: 5/5 Oct 24, 2010 04:05 Send this review to a friend
Join it and enjoy.  Time owned: more than 12 months
As soon as you have joined Clublog you will find it very easy to use. The only thing you have to do is upload a full .ADIF file occasionally to enjoy the many features of Clublog as described.

The more wordwide users there are, the more accurate the info gets on things like "Most wanted", propagation and the like.

In one sentence: Almost effortless and so much (DX) information.
 
K0HB Rating: 4/5 Aug 19, 2009 13:40 Send this review to a friend
Slick!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great idea, and well executed.

Only downer is the sometimes very slow server it seems to live at.
 
G7VJR Rating: 5/5 Jun 24, 2009 04:57 Send this review to a friend
A wide range of log analysis and expedition tools  Time owned: more than 12 months
Club Log is a web-based application which uses a database to analyse amateur radio log files, which are uploaded in the common ADIF format. Using the logs, it is possible to build band-mode league tables of amateurs' QSOs, provide efficient log search tools and create most wanted lists for DXCC entities (both over all time and in recent history, or by mode for example).

Also, Club Log can give back to its users the ability to find "wanted" DX spots, take part in competitions with other members of the same club, and provides other analysis of logs which might be hard to do with normal logging software, such as identifying and suggesting QSL opportunities or proposing popular LoTW stations to work in rare DXCCs. One particularly interesting feature provides a year-by-year break down of your QSOs and preferred modes, again all just by uploading an ADIF.

Club Log is also DXpedition tool, helping with the planning by exposing rare bands and modes, and providing real-time leaderboards, log search and online QSL tools for expeditions to easily plumb into their web sites.

Club Log started as a project within the Chiltern DX Club (CDXC). It now has a worldwide user base, however, and there are around 6 million QSOs stored in the database. If you are working your way up the DXCC lists, or even if you are just interested in seeing some statistics on your ham radio log, then head to http://www.clublog.org/.
 
EI7BA Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2009 12:30 Send this review to a friend
Very useful DXer's tool  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I'm licensed since 1965, but was never really interested in QSLing, DXCC awards etc....That is, until now. Because of my lazy approach to logging, my database was quite a mess. However, since I uploaded my log to Clublog, that situation has changed dramatically. Clublog, has sorted out the vast majority of my logging mistakes. Because of it, I have been able to correct all the QSOs that were logged to the incorrect DXCC entity. This is actually quite complicated when you have IOTA DXpeditioners island hopping all over the Pacific, and traditional prefixes changing to a new entity, as with Yugoslavia, the USSR etc.
With 20,000 QSOs in my computer log, there was no way I was going to pick my way through them all, looking for mistakes. Instead, all I had to do, was to upload my log to Clublog, and about 15 minutes later, I received an email with a long list of incorrect log entries. After fixing these entries, I uploaded again, and most of the mistakes were gone. I upload on a fairly regular basis, and my log is now as accurate as most.
Of course, this is just one aspect of Clublog, which was a major plus for me, but there are many other useful aspects, even if it's only to log on and drive yourself mad with envy, when you see the juicy DX that your neighbour has worked, and that you missed out on.. {:o)
Many thanks Michael G7VJR for this great resource.
 
M3SDE Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2009 08:29 Send this review to a friend
Club Log is a great tool and very versatile.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using Club Log for some time now, it is a great tool and very versatile, let me explain. Registration just couldn't be easier, anyone can register and are welcome to join in. Uploading logs is simple to do just click on Upload in the tool bar for the upload window, once you have browsed your hard drive for the ADIF just Send and add to your callsign.

Be sure that if you are uploading DX'pedition logs that you tick "no" for "show in leagues". DX'pedition logs are important to get as much data as possible into the database. But are not required for the tables which should be used for operator calls only.

DXCC League tables can be filtered for Mode selection, Worked or Confirmed and by Date filter for 2009, Last 12 months or 36 months. Click on generate tables and then you get the league table.

Club Log is great for club events such as the Chiltern DX Club's "LF Challenge" which takes place every March the database can be used to filter bands and dates to make it fun to view the table as the challenge developes over the weeks.

A brilliant tool that is under ongoing development by its author Michael G7VJR. This all adds a great new dimension to statistics. Thank you Michael and good luck for the future of this exciting project.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.