eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - 6M/VHF/UHF+ | HENRY 3000 series Help


Reviews Summary for HENRY 3000 series
HENRY 3000 series Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.1/5 MSRP: $3,495
Description: 1500+ watts out using 8877 in a console amplifier
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.henryradio.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the HENRY 3000 series.

N8ECH Rating: 4/5 Sep 17, 2015 21:59 Send this review to a friend
A nice amp if you have the room.  Time owned: more than 12 months
You may have noted my other eHam posts on the other Henry consoles I own/have owned.
Back in 2010, I came across a once in a lifetime deal on a cosmetically pristine 3002 console. Interestingly, this particular console began its life as a commercial paging amplifier on 151.995 mhz.

The fellow ham I bought it from was under the mistaken impression that internal changes were required inside the RF deck to bring it down to the 144-148 MHz range which thankfully proved to be untrue. As it turns out, the output circuit will tune 100-156 MHz from the factory!

When I brought it home, it was without its 8877 tube, the blower motor had died, and the control/relay circuit transformer was dead. The output vacuum tx relay was also missing.

A quick comment on the 8877 tube. While it does have a somewhat fragile grid structure, when properly cared for an 8877 will run 1500 watts all day long without breaking a sweat!
Remember that this is a single stage amp that will output legal limit with less than 50 watts of drive!

During the leisurely process of correcting the already mentioned issues, I also added a SS relay step start circuit to protect the expensive and no longer made ECA 1171 plate transformer.
The 1171 provides 3200 volts Ep for CW, and 3900 volts for SSB.

The results of these efforts over a 5 year period (I did say leisurely remember) are 1300 watts out for 30 watts in, and 1500 out for 40 in.
Be aware that there is a heavy duty low pass inline filter that comes with the amp, so be sure to get that from the seller if they have it.
In my case, the filter was not present, so I have purchased another like Henry filter tuned to 120 MHz which I will retune to the 144-148 MHz range.
The input tuning and output tuning are on the front panel, and the output load control is on the rear of deck. Once set, you should not have to bother with them unless you change to a very different antenna or dummy load.

The 3002, like all Henry Classic consoles, is not easy to move at 175 pounds. If you have the room, and want an amp that will put out RF until the cows come home, it is worth considering.
Others have commented about the blower noise, and I concede that it can be an issue. A good set of headphones will remedy that, and I feel it's a minor issue in the overall scheme of things given what the 3002 can do.
 
K0FF Rating: 5/5 Jan 3, 2010 08:07 Send this review to a friend
3002+3006 Big, heavy, loud, well built  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just like me..........errrrrrrrr..........except for that last part.


The results speak for themselves.

DE K0FF
 
K6PS Rating: 5/5 Feb 16, 2008 21:38 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding & Enduring  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Okay...

I have a lot of amps, ranging from 50 watt TenTec QRP HF amps to Collins 30S1 (HF), Ameritron AL1200 (HF) , Hammarlund HXL-1 (HF) and more. This is my first Henry. I had looked at Henry amps before, and found them to be very robust , albeit a tad "clunky". The 3002 is a beautifully built heavy duty amp that is the best of the non-solid state era. I now find that my "klunkiness" impression was a mistake. It is not only well built, it is overbuilt, and for an amp that is a good thing.

The 1500 watt output speaks for itself, and the massive power supply does not strain at all. Knobs turn smoothly, and the operation is effortless. I would caution that when you buy a 3002 used that you take great care not to scratch the unit, or to accidentally dent in the metal aluminum grill on the back. It takes two or three people to move it. It reminds me of a mini Collins 30S1.

Buy this unit and be done with it. Maybe in 2012 everything will be solid state and running at room temps with superb efficiency. Maybe. And very likely for a price that will scorch the wallet.

Until that day comes, go with the Henry. Do check the 8877 tube, and adjust the price accordingly.

73 de K6PS

 
GM4NFC Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2005 23:08 Send this review to a friend
The heavyweight champ  Time owned: more than 12 months
Having owned both the 3006 (6m) and the 3002 (2m) for some time now, and in the past other makes of amp, the Henry 3000 series stands, literally, head and shoulders above them all. The standard of construction is to military and industrial spec. The floor console cabinet style allows Henry to accomodate what is the beating heart of any amp, the HV power supply, without constraint. Many makes use a psu which is either built down to a price or shrunk to fit a small desk top cabinet. Henry uses a good old fashioned HV psu with a humungous plate transformer, equally big resonant choke and an oil filled HV capacitor to give around 4KV on ssb and 3KV on cw to the plate of the 3CX1500. Each amp will easily produce 2000w if driven with around 60-70w and with a huge blower cooling the tube it's easy to see why Henry say "continous duty, no time limit". Needless to say at US and especially at UK max legal power levels the performance is totally effortless. Having bought both amps I see no need to change my VHF station amps ever again. Unfortunately Henry have ceased manufacture of all tube amps so if you find one for sale and your shack floor can take it (the amp weighs around 200lbs) then buy it as a forever keeper...I did!
 
K6JEY Rating: 5/5 Feb 16, 2005 10:07 Send this review to a friend
Excellent High Power 432 Amp  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have had mine about 6 months and use it on EME. Rugged, nicely put together and tough. The antenna relay is excellent. Having it in a smaller roll arounc cabinet makes it sort of portable. No problems with it. Turn it on, transmit and turn it off. 8938 is a brute of a tube. Not as sophistocated as some, but does the job well.
Doug K6JEY
 
BRIAN_MANNS_EX_W3EME Rating: 1/5 Jan 28, 2001 07:05 Send this review to a friend
Poor at best  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Owned the 3002 for about 6 months......
the amp was so noisy I could hear it through the
entire house! I believe there is a input circuit
design problem (explained later) & do not think the plate tank was resonant.

The follow who ended up with it, could just get
maybe 1000 watts out...took it to Bob, KC3VO who
works on amps for a living....he redesgined the input circuit, and it now appears to work fine.

I can not recommend this amp to anyone.

Brian w3eme
 
NN4X Rating: 3/5 Jun 8, 2000 21:45 Send this review to a friend
Henry 3006 is solid  Time owned: more than 12 months
IT SHOULD BE NOTED THAT "W7RF" IS A HENRY AMPLIFIER DEALER! HE FAILS TO DISCLOSE THAT FACT IN AN EARLIER SPAM.

That being said, I like my 3006 quite a lot. It's solid, a bit noisy and generates a lot of heat in the power supply even @ idle, but there's nothing commercially made that I'd trade for it.
 
W7RF Rating: 5/5 Apr 23, 2000 15:32 Send this review to a friend
EME and weak signal users love this one  Time owned: more than 12 months
The most rugged VHF/UHF amplifiers out there. In a console configuration, using the 8877 (or 8938 for 432 MHz) this amp easily delivers 1500+ watts output for the most demanding EME or weak signal applications. Available for 6M, 2M, 222, 70CM.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.