eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | W9INN HI-PERFORMANCE DIPOLES Help


Reviews Summary for W9INN HI-PERFORMANCE DIPOLES
Reviews: 23 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $125
Description: W9INN custom manufactures multiband wire dipoles that WORK! MPD-2 model is 105 ft. covers both 80 and 40 meters. Other models available.
W9INN SK. No longer in business.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the W9INN HI-PERFORMANCE DIPOLES.

Page 1 of 3 —>

W9GB Rating: 5/5 Jul 1, 2005 16:32 Send this review to a friend
W9INN (sk)  Time owned: more than 12 months
William E. "Bill" Fanckboner, W9INN, of Mt Prospect, Illinois--the proprietor of W9INN Antennas--died July 30, 2004. He was 80.
The W9INN Antenna product have ceased with his passing. "He did all of the work by himself, so W9INN Antennas is effectively out of business," said his daughter, Robin Randall. "He was the business."
An ARRL member and supporter, Fanckboner turned his talents for radio and electronics into W9INN Antennas some three decades ago after working for Motorola, and he was a regular QST advertiser.
Fanckboner designed and hand-built custom antennas, including the MPD-5C-78, MPD-2 and MDX-8C "hideaway" dipoles, and, his daughter says, he was working full time until a week prior to his death. Fanckboner enjoyed a reputation within the amateur community for skilled workmanship and a friendly, helpful manner. A memorial service was held August 9, 2004.
The family invites memorial donations to the American Cancer Society.
 
N0RQ Rating: 5/5 Aug 10, 2004 13:54 Send this review to a friend
great, but no longer available  Time owned: more than 12 months
The ARRL web site has reported W9INN as being a Silent Key, as of 7/30/2004. Bill was 80.

He was a legacy of customer service and quality wire antennas, as well as a pleasure to do business with.

I have two of his fine creations, a 40/80/160 sloper, which works quite well, and a 40/80 dipole that is still waiting to be installed.
 
W0NYA Rating: 5/5 Mar 14, 2004 15:29 Send this review to a friend
Best dipole I've ever owned!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I ordered my 42' long 5 band dipole from Bill back in 1996. I had it installed on the roof as an inverted vee and it worked perfectly on all bands! One summer we had a terrible storm with straight line winds of 110 MPH. That wind blew steady for ten minutes with hundreds of trees down and debris all over the place, and that antenna survived in perfect condition! In 2000 I moved and had to install the dipole in the attic. To my absolute surprise it worked as well, if not better. It works great for DX and also running QRP. This has been one fantastic antenna. Hats off to W9INN for an excellent, durable, high performance antenna. I plan on purchasing the 125' 40-80-160 model soon.
 
N7RST Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2003 10:15 Send this review to a friend
Best Antennas Ever!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I don't currently have the W9INN dipole, but have one on order. I have been using an inherited W9INN sloper for 160-8-40-30. I removed the "fanned" element for 30 meters since I had no desire to run a sloper on 30 meters. I primarily got this sloper from a friend to "try" out 160 meters. Was I surprised!

I get really decent bandwidth, with no radials, mounted and fed at my tower "top" which is around 40 feet, sloping off to the East.

The 60 foot sloper really gets out!!! Of course, the receive noise is higher due to the fact you are running a "vertical" and they are more noise prone.

Bill, W9INN, is one of the nicest and friendliest individuals to work with. He will answer questions, talk on the phone with you and spend the time necessary to get your satisfied your questions are answered. Gee, where did that kind of "Customer Service" go in our society.

I can vouch for Bill's products. They are great and not high dollar. I know Bill got me on 160 and many others that were not able to get on for years due to space limitations.

Who would have thought I could actually work into Europe with a 60 foot piece of wire?? It isn't magical antenna, no mystery, just a well built product that holds up to use, mis-use, and abuse for years to come.

Mine has been up over 10 years now and I would never dream of parting with it.


Thanks Bill! You make a great product and your literature is a wealth of knowledge also!

 
K0PD Rating: 5/5 Apr 19, 2003 15:15 Send this review to a friend
Flawless  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my W9inn 160-80-40 i believe it was 105 ft version up now for over 4 yr's and have never had a problem.I took it down once and ran a g5rv and every one i talked to complained about how weak my signal had become so down came the G5rv and back up went the W9inn.I only have it up at 30ft at the apex and can only tell you that it is a antenna well worth every dime spent.
 
VE4AMN Rating: 5/5 Jan 15, 2003 18:13 Send this review to a friend
Good performer  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have installed the 160-80-40 dipole (132 ft) as an inverted vee at 30 ft, with the ends at 15 ft. This antenna performs very well on 80 and 40, and has allowed me to make contacts on 160 without difficulty. It is very well made, and was on spec out of the box. With the autotuner in the rig I can operate within 100Khz on 160, which is pretty good. I definitely recommend this product. Also important is that the response to the order was fast, and questions over the phone were answered professionally and clearly.
 
W2DAP Rating: 5/5 Aug 30, 2002 18:24 Send this review to a friend
Solid performers  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using Bill's antennas for more than 15 years and have never been disappointed. Not only will he build you an antenna to suit just about every situation he will also assist you with technical issues. Based on Bill's advice I built a bent and shortened sloper for 160 and accomplished a goal of my ham career....100+ countries confirmed on phone. I currently use two of Bill's systems and cannot praise them enough not only for quality but for design brilliance.
 
KK9H Rating: 5/5 Aug 30, 2002 16:58 Send this review to a friend
160, 80, 40 meter version  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the 160, 80 and 40 meter version up for a while now and I have been very pleased with it. I have it installed inverted-V style with the center at about 35 feet and the ends at about 20 feet. 2:1 SWR bandwidths are what you would expect with a trap dipole of this type. I replaced the center insulator with a balun last year and noticed a slight improvement in performance. The most important aspect of this antenna is that it is 125 feet long and it enables me to get on the 160 meter band with a resonant antenna. I have mine set to about 1825 KHz and I am able to work the CW portion of the band with pretty good signal reports. The other morning I worked a KH6 with 100 watts from my QTH near Chicago. The antenna is of excellent construction and because the insulated wire it uses its performance does not get disturbed by tree leaves brushing against it. I gladly recommend it to anyone wanting to operate 160 and 80 meters with limited space.
 
W4WQ Rating: 5/5 Aug 30, 2002 16:27 Send this review to a friend
Wow...SUPER !!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It took about 4 weeks to get it, but my SSD-045-21 dipole covers 40, 20, 15 and 10 Meters. Exceptinally well packaged, excellent instructions and it really works great. Outclasses my G5RV, expecially on 15M. From unpacking to QSOs took about an hour, and most of that was getting the supporting dacron line over the trees.
 
WA2CKN Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2002 14:48 Send this review to a friend
Perfect solution!  Time owned: more than 12 months
About five years ago we moved into a new townhouse community. External antennas of any kind were strictly prohibited. Time to give up ham radio? I saw an ad in QST and gave Bill (W9INN) a call. He was patient and reassuring that his 42' - 10 through 80 meter antenna would work just fine in my attic, which is about 45' long.

Bill was 100% correct!

Although I use the antenna with my automatic tuner (Kenwood 450 s), I notice that my swr on most bands is still quite low, even without the tuner.

I've had many local and dx contacts over the years, and best of all, no complaints from any of the neighbors about tv interference... and no complaints about an outdoor antenna!

Thank you, Bill, for solving my antenna dilemma!
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.