- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Alpha 91B Help

Reviews Summary for Alpha 91B
Alpha 91B Reviews: 48 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $2798.00
Description: Replaced by the ALPHA 99.
Product is not in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alpha 91B.

Page 1 of 5 —>

W4YB Rating: 5/5 Jan 6, 2018 10:22 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful amplifier over all   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just picked this amp up from a friend so have operated only at his shack. Very anxious to get it set up in my shack. We were driving it with a Flex 6500 and easily obtained the legal limit with just 25 watts of drive. As others have said it loafs along with legal limit and is a dream to tune. Esthetically I think itís a 5 also. Not sure if iíll Ever upgrade but that remains to be seen. I think itís going to be a dream machine, for me anyway.
NO2C Rating: 5/5 May 10, 2017 08:19 Send this review to a friend
Bought Used - It Failed - Sent to Alpha for Repair - WOW!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought the amp used. After about three weeks the transformer failed. The fan also failed. Emailed Alpha and discussed options with Glenn. I decided to send it out to them and have it repaired.

They fixed it up, updated the controls and now it acts like a 99. They sent me an transformer made in the USA and put in a fan made here also.

I now get the full legal output on much less drive.
N6ERP Rating: 5/5 Nov 10, 2016 23:00 Send this review to a friend
Great Value  Time owned: more than 12 months
Highly recommended. Simple to operate, it loafs along at legal limit w/ plenty of headroom, fans and relays are quiet, it's almost dummy proof, and just works. Easy to forget you are running an amp. And, people just "hear" you. 4CX800 tubes are rugged, yet inexpensive.

I hear a lot of talk from people saying they are modifying their amps of other brands, adding soft-start, QSK (vacuum relays), soft mounting the blowers to reduce noise, etc. The 91B already has all that..
PA3HGT Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2015 09:23 Send this review to a friend
Great to have  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Had this amp for half year but due some "neighbour" problems at my holyday-QTH had to sell it.Implemented all mods in it and when you know how to tune it's a nice amp to work with.Tuning is a bit strange in the beginning but it's ok after when uoy used on it.Plenty of power is available and you won't be dissapointed.
I have on my website a lot of photo's (dutch written,Google translate available) :

N2DY Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2015 17:43 Send this review to a friend
Effortless Power  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned my 91B for almost 18 years. It still works great on its original set of tubes. It operates just as it did on the first day I received it. It loafs along at the legal limit. Fortunately for me, it is idiot proof as its protection circuits tripped whenever I have done something wrong like using the wrong antenna (or no antenna) or having the band switch in the wrong position. I cannot see myself ever parting with this amp (at least while I am alive). If you can find a clean one used, go for it.
K5DSQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 5, 2015 14:49 Send this review to a friend
91b Update  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
It's been just about a year since my 91b arrived (see previous review) and operating it daily can only be described as extremely boring. It just continues to perform without a hitch. Needless to say I could not be happier. It easily runs legal limit every day and like a heavyweight prize fighter it just stands there and harasses my exciter with "Come on you lightweight punk, is that all you've got?" The tubes still put out the exact amount of power as the day it arrived. Even the band settings (Load & Tune) load at the same spot where I originally set them for each band. If you miss or enjoy the excitement of smoke, arcing and/or component failures I suggest you look at something other than a 91b. With legal limit high power amps, boring is the way to go!
ZL4PLM Rating: 5/5 Feb 6, 2014 15:34 Send this review to a friend
Superb Amp - Well built and goes like a tank!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought mine second hand from Tommy WD4K and gave it a new home here in NZ.

I have owned a few HF amps but this is the dogs ... It is without a doubt one of the most robust amps I have ever driven. It's extremely well built, solid and reliable. Built like a tank you won't break this one! You're average ameritron its not!

I've been running this is pileups and DXing and its spot on. Easy to tune, keeps piling out the watts even after hours calling FT5 but its worked wonders!

I heard they were good, indeed they are! No wonder it gets a 5 * rating ! I'll add to that!

Now .. I need to see if I can trade my SPE amp in for one of those nice auto tuning Alphas with out the XYL noticing!!

If you get a chance to buy one... do it! You will NOT regret it :) So make some space and grab an Alpha!

thanks Tommy .. sorry it isn't coming home :)

BTW there is plenty of videos on youtube of them and loads of info around inc here on Eham - chek it out and then hunt one down - they are not easy to find ... theres a reason for that :) Once you have it - you won't be selling it!


Simon ZL4PLM
W3FL Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2013 10:47 Send this review to a friend
GREAT THE BEST AMP  Time owned: more than 12 months
have had this amp for 15 years works like the day i got it.......Marsh "W3FL"
N9LBW Rating: 5/5 Dec 14, 2013 02:54 Send this review to a friend
Excellent!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Alpha 91B amplifier is very dependable. I got mine used and for the money it is hard to beat. I would recommend it for anyone.
VE3VV Rating: 5/5 Aug 17, 2013 07:41 Send this review to a friend
Reliable Workhorse  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Amp was shipped to me with great care, as a new one would have been, from RF Concepts on behalf of HRO. Puts out as advertised after all these years. Very impressed by the workmanship inside and out. Works effortlessly as advertised all day, you can`t go wrong. Would buy an alpha again, new or used.
Page 1 of 5 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.