eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Icom ID-880 Help


Reviews Summary for Icom ID-880
Icom ID-880 Reviews: 28 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $500 USD
Description: The ID-880H provides VHF/UHF dual band capabilities (one band at a time) via a simple band switching system. The ID-880H has a wideband receiver as a standard feature and covers 118–173.995, 230–
549.995 and 810–999.990MHz. Listen to aviation, marine, weather channels and other utility communications.
*Receiver range depending on versions. The CS/880 free download cloning software is available from the Icom Inc (Japan) web site. Used with this software, various settings can be made from a PC and the memory channels and other settings can be shared between IC-80AD and its matching mobile unit, the ID-880H. The ID-880H has a total of 1052 memory channels (including 1000 regular channels, 50 scan edges and 2 call channels) with 26 memory banks. All memory channels and the program scan can be named with 8-character channel comments. Also each memory bank can be named with a up-to 6-character bank name comment. The ID-880H supports various scan types for maximum reception and ease of use.

* Full scan
* Selected band scan
* Programmed scan
* Memory scan
* Memory mode scan
* All bank scan
* Selected bank scan
* Bank link scan (DMS)
* Program scan link
* Skip scan
* Priority scan
* Tone scan
* Access repeater scan
Built-in CTCSS and DTCS tones are used for accessing a closed repeater or ton squelch operation. the pocket beep alerts you with a beep sound when the transceiver receives a preset tone. 1750Hz tone is also available. The 4-direction cursor buttons on the keypad give you quick and intuitive access to many settings.
And more…

* 50W* output power both VHF/UHF band
* Built-in noise filter (AM/FM) mode
* Data and 9600/1200bps packet jacks on the rear panel
* ±2.5ppm frequency stability
* Adjustable microphone sensitivity
* Monitor function to listen to a weak signal
* 14 variable tuning steps
* Auto repeaters function* automatically turns on/off duplex operation and tone encoder
* Weather channel receive with weather alert*
* 16 DTMF memory channels (24 digits)
* Drip-resistant construction, equivalent to IPX4
* Auto power save, power off and power on
* 10dB (approx) built-in attenuator
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/dstar/id880h/default.aspx
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom ID-880.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

VR2XXZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2012 02:03 Send this review to a friend
Great little mobile radio  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Great little mobile analog and D-star radio. You can adjust the output power to 100W (VHF) and 80W (UHF)in "Hidden Menu", powerful back fan (but some noisy), you don't feel any hot from the radio.

I love this radio so much
 
AE7G Rating: 4/5 Feb 22, 2012 16:07 Send this review to a friend
second review  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my second review of this radio.
With D Star you really only need to reach one gateway repeater to gain entry to the D Star system. In this respect, a dual band single receive radio is all you need. The price on this radio is good compared to other D Star options.
At the same time this radio is exceedingly complex to program and there are a number of glitches in the menu system that can interfere with function if the menu is not set properly. You can find yourself pulling your hair out trying to figure out why it is not working. The manual is not very helpful, answers come from consulting with others who have used this system.
Once properly programmed and configured the radio works like a champ.
While i would recommend this radio if you are new to D Star and.or Icom radios be prepared for a steep learning curve and a fair amount of frustration.
 
OE3JTB Rating: 5/5 Oct 23, 2011 05:56 Send this review to a friend
Very good for mobile operation  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Bought mine used (occassionally) for 240 Euros, 6 months old.
Want to make mobile operation in my holiday car.
Works great RX, TX at the beginning FM modulation was poor, switched to FM-W and it worked fine.
D-STAR operation is very easy and RX better than IC 92 (at the same antenna)
The only con is the fan, at mods.dk, you can fine some modifications, I didnt do that, because in mobile operation, the fan doesnt disturb at all.
Bought a 5 Euro GPS mouse HI-204 III (outdoor model waterresistent) soldered a cable in 10 minutes and voila GPS via DSTAR also works fine.
At this price a very good tranceiver.
 
WZ3O Rating: 5/5 Oct 7, 2011 17:07 Send this review to a friend
Great 2/440 mobile w/single receive & D-STAR to boot...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Analog & DV audio & receive are both excellent.

For D-STAR programming IGNORE the manual for now, unless you want to be really frustrated. 1st find where you put your call sign in the "MY" location (my call) then program a D-STAR repeater just like you would an analog one, use the Mode button to change to DV, set the Freq like analog, and if you're really energetic name the repeaters both Analog & DV. Remember, change MODE back to FM for analog repeater programming, unless you're a masochist & enjoy pain & frustration ...

Got the rig 3 days ago & after a lot of bad words while attempting to digest the manual, I "deciphered" the above simplicity.Get on D-STAR enjoy, then dig into the depths of the manual for multitude of D-STAR features.

So, after just 3 days, I'm having fun & "ignoring" the manual, for now. Want a Dual Band single receive mobile with many "bells & whistles" w/D-STAR to boot,for a "reasonable" price go for it!!!

Glad I did.... XYL actually bought the "I sent a rig out for repair & UPS will be dropping it off today..." line or is at least allowing me to believe she did...
 
KD5KIZ Rating: 4/5 Aug 19, 2011 12:11 Send this review to a friend
Great Audio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Only 3 days experience, learing to program the rig and learning the menu system. Maybe Icom has changed something in the 880's audio circuit. I bought the radio for D-STAR, but FM is getting good audio reports.
 
KI6ADA Rating: 5/5 Mar 12, 2011 23:13 Send this review to a friend
First time D-Star user  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this radio for D-Star use only. I have a FM 2 meter box for the car and a 2 meter HT. I am really having fun with D-Star. The ID-880H offers more features than any FM only rig. The instruction manual is a bit complicated. It does not make it simple for the casual "ham". I finally purchased the programing cable and downloaded the free software from Icom. My radio is now beaming and all I have to do is turn it on, go to memory mode and push the scan button. What I think is cool? I can scan my local repeaters and the 2 local D-Star repeaters at the same time.
I will update my review in the near future. If you are curious about D-Star join one of the D-Star groups or go to the D-Star web site.
 
KJ3P Rating: 2/5 Mar 10, 2011 08:51 Send this review to a friend
D-Star OK; FM Audio Horrible  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a fine D-Star radio, well-built, good menu structure. But for standard FM use, it's a disaster.

I've favored ICOM radios since the 70's (XTAL 2-meter xcvr!), but I'm extremely disappointed in ICOM for selling a radio with TX audio like this. As others have commented, it appears that ICOM "adjusted" the audio for D-Star requirements, and to heck with FM. Actually, the 880 sounds just fine for D-Star purposes.

When directly compared to a recent vintage ICOM (2200H), the 880's transmitted audio is distorted with nasty clipped sibilance, and no low end whatsoever. I made a recording of the 880 with all the MIC setting variations, then recorded the 2200. When played back one after the other, no sane person would choose the 880 TX audio. Yes, I also tried two other ICOM mics, with the same result. I then compared the audio with the ICOM 91AD D-Star HT...the HT won the FM TX audio contest hands down.

I was so concerned with this problem that I returned the radio for ICOM warranty repair, with a detailed description (as above). It came back: no problem found.

The cooling fan circuit is also poorly designed and very loud. Unless you plan to bury the main unit under a car seat, prepare to be greatly annoyed. The fan even occasionally comes on in a 75-degree room with the rig receiving only.

I guess I'll keep this radio for D-Star use, but it sounds too embarrassingly bad to use for normal FM work.

 
PD1ABK Rating: 5/5 Feb 7, 2011 07:31 Send this review to a friend
Something different  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Recently bought the E880. At first it's a little different from the usual fm rigs but after reading the manual programming can be done in minutes. Clear and good audio. No interference.
D star operation requires some more work. Strongly advise to use the software and programming cable to have control over your settings.
The manual (mainly referring to the Japanese Dstar) lacks good info about the European D star system so some settings have to be found on the internet.
The only minus is the loud fan on the back. But when separated from the controlunit it can be overcome.
Compared to the 2820 it's a more "up to date" rig but only one vfo.
It's a nice rig especially the clear controlpanel. It will be a keeper.
Bram PD1ABK
 
G1VTP Rating: 5/5 Sep 14, 2010 10:32 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have a very severe high frequency hearing loss and have not been able to have a conversation on air for a few years. I combatted this by using psk31, which is great. But I've just moved to a new apartment and no aerials, I tried a wire around the bedroom and managed a few contacts around Europe, but only by using very high power, not what PSK31 is about. I installed a Diamond X50 on an inside wall and was able to access the local repeaters on 2mtrs/70cm up to 60mls away, Then heard about the new D-Star only 4mls away, I read up a bit and found that D-Star does data, so i bought the ID-E880. After a full day reading the manual (its complicated) I programmed the local repeaters, then the D-Star repeater GB7NM, to say I was stunned is an understatement, here was a mobile coming through crystal clear,no hash for the first time in years i was able to have a conversation on air, and hear This radio has given me back the enthusiasm, I'm a born again HAM. Thank you ICOM for the ID-E880 AND D-Star.
The radio is well made, good solid feel, audio reports have been good, and others have shown an interest when I told them what i was using,I like the way call signs are displayed, always found it annoying hams who give their call signs at a 1,000mph. All in all this is a very good radio
 
N0PWZ Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2010 23:22 Send this review to a friend
Very Different System  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is a very different kind of radio. It's not for the standard repeater card that just want to their radio on a freq and forget about it. It's comparatively complex. It can do lots of neat stuff, like APRS. It does digital quite well, but it ain't as good as a standard FM box. The digital mode is quite intriguing and I'm still working with that. With the proper software this system is a nice data transmission system, when coupled with a Dstar repeater. The repeaters are probably more important to the operation than this box is. Still, you're operating a very complex system in my estimation, and with that complexity comes capability if you want to invest a bit of time in learning what it's capable of. All things considered this is more of a communication system than an FM radio is based on its diverse capabilities.

If you actually like learning, this radio is going to benefit you. If you don't want to crack the manual, you are going to be frustrated with this particular box. The same goes for Dstar in general. When you've done a bit of study, this system starts to grow on you since it has a number of features that are built in. I think the 880 is a great radio, though the digital sound will never beat a standard FM transceiver. It's just the nature of the medium.
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.