- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Hexbeam by DX Engineering Help

Reviews Summary for Hexbeam by DX Engineering
Hexbeam by DX Engineering Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $599.95
Description: At the center of the new HEXX antenna is the exclusive DX Engineering patent pending rugged cast aluminum HEXX Hub and stainless steel V-saddle clamps. This unique design may be used in the construction of either the classic or G3TXQ broadband hex beam antennas.

For the rest of the antenna frame, high quality stainless steel element clamps rigidly hold the telescoping fiberglass sections at the correct lengths without drilling holes. Exclusive DX Engineering stainless steel element clamps with studs provide secure attachment points for the driven element feed points without drilling, which would weaken the fiberglass.

The unique Floating Element Wire Guides allow independent movement of the radiating wire elements and flexible fiberglass spreaders in the wind without creating breaking stresses. ...many other unique, high quality features.

Available in several forms - from a complete 5-band kit at $599.95 to individual component packages.
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Hexbeam by DX Engineering.

Page 1 of 2 —>

HP2EK Rating: 4/5 Aug 16, 2015 08:24 Send this review to a friend
Good antenna but be prepared  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have had many antennas, some made by me and some I have bought, dipoles, verticals, yagis and now DXENGINEERING´S HEX BEAM, I bought this one Little over a year ago to substitute my A3S (which was working 100% ok) because I was looking for a coil less antenna, when I finally got it and looked at the manual I said to myself “MAX you made a mistake with this one, who in the hell have something working and wants to replace it?” I think the answer to that question is: ALL HAMS.
I took my time to put it together 3 contiguous weekends, once finished I hired some help to rise this “upside down umbrella” to the tower (the beauty of PANAMA is that with 10 bucks you have someone working for you the whole day) I won’t deny it, I got tired even with help, when we finished, the guys helping me who don’t have a clue about radio told me “BOSS IT IS BEAUTIFUL”. This were my initial results
20 metros 2.0 swr (I didn´t like this right away)
17 metros 1.2 swr
15 metros 1.2 swr
12 metros 1.1 swr
10 metros 1.1 swr
Next Saturday I hired again 3 guys to help me resolve the 20 meter problem, I don’t trust analyzers so this time I took with me my tiny FT-100-D to the rooftop plus a meter, but now I know the whole “hex-beam-thing” without the manual, I ended up cutting a few inches from the 20 meter elements both excited and reflector, and now I have a nice working antenna, I work barefoot and with power when I need it. Final result on 20 meters 1.6 swr, I know I can make it better but I won’t
I love this antenna, It is light, It is directional, is made from quality materials, you may find cheaper versions but you´ll get what you pay for.
Moral: perfection does not exist, this is a damn good antenna but you must be prepared to do some adjustments to it or get a good tuner.
Check out my space for pictures
PD Next project NAVASSA 5 plus 6 meters
TDIGENNARO Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2015 07:22 Send this review to a friend
Nice RF feeder  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have a homebrew HexBeam, but I recently added the DX Engineering "KIT HEXX 5 BAND BALANCED FEEDER". A very specialized piece of engineering and manufacturing. It fit my five-year old hexbeam exactly. The attachment to the support pole was easy and the strain relief for the driver wires made my life much easier. Remember, I'm up on the roof restringing and repairing wires. In Boulder, CO, we often see 100 mph winds (or higher), so my hexbeam accululates wounds and scars, and more and more fiberglass.
After adjusting, my SWR was good-to-excellent. I'm on the air.

A bit expensive at $200, but it is quite specialized and well-made of stainless steel.

My previous homebrew versions were LOTS of work and did not hold up to the elements. Lots of drilling and work with the brass screws.

Their catalog has breadth and depth. Look for that really special item that you REALLY need.
Fast delivery and good service.
KI4RGD Rating: 5/5 Aug 9, 2014 12:27 Send this review to a friend
Terrific Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased mine in 2011 and finally assembled it this summer (2014). Assembly is straight forward, as everyone mentions, the instructions are well written. I read through them a few times and then started assembly in the house - because its just too hot outside....once I had most of the sub-assemblies done, the operation went outside. I used a small tripod to hold the hub with a piece of EMT conduit for a mast.... the EMT conduit can be found at Home Depot or Lowes.... I used a file and shaved the inside lip before sliding it on the aluminum part of the was that simple. Drilled a hole through both and placed a bolt. The hardest part of assembly was trying to get all the ropes tied to length....equally. I got it done, but I think if I had to do it over I would use some white paint and mark each rope at the ends how much gets used for knot tying...if that makes sense. I tied my spreaders a few inches shorter so they all looked more aesthetic - the tips of each line up with the top of the center can see the assembled antenna on my qrz page; ki4rgd.

The wire elements are held onto each spreader by a clamp pre-measured during assembly...I had to adjust most of these...probably since I tied my spreaders a little tighter....not sure, but the whole thing came out ok and works great!

The complete antenna weighs about 25 pounds...I have a hinged-base 40ft rohn tower...lowered the tower so the top was about 10ft off the ground, using the back of my pick-up truck, climbed up with the antenna in one hand, and slid the mast onto the rotor...I bet my neighbors thought I was crazy, but it worked. One man operation.

So how does it work? Before installing the HEXX beam, I have been using a DX Eng 43 foot vertical; good antenna, and a Carolina windom dipole in an inverted V installation with a 40 foot push-up mast. I can say the HEXX beam out performs all of these....and most other stations are asking what I'm using for an antenna - where they never asked this before - so, I must sound good on the air.... I do run an ALS-600 amp, but the difference running 300 watts in the vertical, dipole is no where close running 300 watts through the HEXX beam. Most stations pick me up on just one call...

As far as SWR - I think 20m might be a bit off since my LDG-600 tuner takes a split second longer to tune this band than the others...I know, not very scientific....probably due to moving the clamps that hold the driven/reflective elements on the spreaders....still, Im not complaining one bit. The DX Eng HEXX beam is a marvelous antenna; looks incredible and performs! The attention to detail is, well, its DX Engineering...what else do you expect, but high quality!!

If you're thinking about a HEXX beam - this is a good one. The aluminum hub is great, the material and parts, top-notch, along with a well written instruction booklet and customer support. I wish I had assembled it years earlier...think of all the contacts I've missed - but think of all the contacts I won't miss anymore!
WB2PJH Rating: 5/5 Apr 4, 2014 19:00 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic Antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought my five band Hexxbeam just before Hurricaine Sandy wiped out most of New Jersey and it was not until the following fall, nearly a year later, that I was able to assemble it and get some help to mount it on a 3 foot roof tower.

This is not an hour kit. The components are extremely well made and are of the highest quality but a close read of the manual and an extra pair of hands is essential. I put a pipe in the ground outside to support the antenna while I was attaching the spreaders and elements. Follow the instructions carefully and be patient and it will all come together. I had two bad clamps which DX engineering replaced at no charge even though the warranty had technically run out when I described my situationl DX engineering technical support was also exemplary, particluarly Rod, the resident Hexxbeam Guru who patiently, politely, and clearly ansered my questions.

The SWR is below 2:1 on all the bands except 20, and I also found out that despite the pictures of Hexxbeams attached to chimney mounts they, and all other beams, are affected by moisture on the roof which noticeably changes the SWR. While I was spoiled by connecting the antenna directly to the power amp I now have it running through a tuner and the problem is solved.

I have worked more DX with this antenna since I put it up than I have in 20 years. I didn't have to buy a $1000 rotor or a heavy tower but I did decide to purchase a Yaesu thrust bearing for the top of the roof tower as "cheap insurance".

I found that 1.25" aluminum EMT from the electrical supply house makes the perfect mast, and I was able to machine a spacer for the rotor out of some round aluminum stock to increase the diameter to 2" so it turns in a perfect circle.

If you're looking for a non-technical, one hour antenna project, this is not for you. If you like to get your hands dirty and enjoy buildig an antenna out of top quality parts, this is an antenna worth your consideraton. The quality of the Hexx hub and the five band feeder are top notch. Another benefit is that the antenna is unaffected by the wind since it's symmetrical, and when the wind is gusting at 40 mph you can look up and your antenna safe and sound.

A great product from a great company.

K1CRU Rating: 5/5 Jul 15, 2013 13:06 Send this review to a friend
Great Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had a 20 meter Hexbeam up on a Penninger Radio 24' mast with a Ham IV rotator for about 2 years now. It's a great antenna. So far, it's survived rain, ice, snow and Hurricane Sandy unscathed. I must admit assembly isn't the easiest, but if you follow the instruction manual, and pay attention to detail, you can't go wrong. The engineering that went into hub design is superb. Heavy duty hub and all stainless hardware makes this an antenna that will survive the ages.
K5JAX Rating: 2/5 Jan 30, 2013 13:36 Send this review to a friend
Poor Wind Survivability  Time owned: more than 12 months
October 2012
I have one of the earlier DX Engeering Hex Beams. I am aware that there were some minor changes that were made in the assembly process right after my purchase. I am not aware that there were any changes that would address these problems. The antenna is mounted on top of a 55 foot crank up U.S. Tower which has never been raised from the docking position of 24 feet. It does tilt over but to make repairs it is necessary to have a schedule with at least one more person to help with the work. As we all probably have found out that it is sometimes hard to gather up an antenna work crew.

I have had the Hex beam up for about four months. It is subject to 18 mph to 25 mph winds a minimum of a few hours every few days.
It has also been exposed to winds in the 30+ mph range about once or more every two weeks. It has seen some mid 40's and once a 54 mph gust.
I have a Davis Weather Station mounted within 20 feet of the tower and at a height of 12 feet above the ground.

It is failing where the copper wire is attached to the feed point near the vertical section. The wind vibrates the whole antenna causing distortion of the fiberglass element spacing and leaving the antenna with an obviously distorted looking shape. The copper wire does not hold up to these strains. The 15 meter section broke and a week later the next highest band has broken at the same point. I am reasonably sure that most of the other bands will fail the same way. When the weather is better and a work crew assembled it will be removed. Cording spanning the opening of the forward direction of the antenna at each band level may help to stabilize the whole structure. A strain relief for the wiring before it attaches to the feed point would probably improve reliability. Constant wind vibration of the wires and distortion of the antenna shape is causing copper metal fatigue at the mechanical fastening points.

I can see that with the first failure the structural integrity was diminished. With one antenna wire slack the whole antenna whips more in the wind and places additional loading on what seems to be the weak point "the copper wire terminations at the feed points".

The Field Day group helped me put the antenna on the tower. I have a boom that attaches to my tractor and reaches up to about 35 feet. My thanks to Tom W0EAJ for climbing the tower for the install while trusting me to operate the tractor/loader and raising the antenna. Just to mention how dedicated the crew was the temperature was 100 degrees that day and most all present will not see 60 years old again. Some of us are 70. We sure must be dedicated Hams.

KD5J Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2013 20:05 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
First thing, download the DXE hexbeam manual from the DXE website and study it carefully. Being familiar with the parts and how it will go to together makes assembly much easier. This antenna replaced a Cushcraft MA5B. Mine went up on a 40' tower last July. I made a mounting modification. My tower is an older, non-Rohn brand at least 35-40 yrs. old. The top section is tapered at the top, and unable to mount a thrust bearing, I use a piece of pipe as bushing to support the antenna above the rotor. A 1.375" mast fits in it perfectly. This is the same diameter as the small length of aluminum pipe that mounts through the center hub. I replaced it with a longer piece the same diameter and cut the length to fit inside the tower and clamped to the rotor. I put a smaller diameter piece of scrap pipe inside the mast to add strength. I assembled the antenna on the ground by placing the mast into a piece of pipe concreted in a 5 gallon bucket. Be sure to assemble the antenna by following all measurements in accordance with the manual. I have good SWR across all bands except 12m which is 2:1. This is probably due to an issue peculiar to my installation. While operating the antenna, I have observed excellent directivity and F/B performance. I have busted through several pileups with ease. I really enjoyed this antenna by giving it a workout in the ARRL 10 meter and RTTY Roundup contests. This antenna really works! Lots of performance from an antenna so lightweight and a small footprint. It turns very easily with a Yaesu G-450 rotor. I love the fact there are no traps.
W0EAJ Rating: 4/5 Jul 11, 2012 06:51 Send this review to a friend
Pretty impressive  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I just helped my friend Roger - K5JAX, get his DXeng Hex up. He commented that he wished he'd gotten the other version, as assembly was sort of a PITA. Using his special "lifter" (see his website), we got it atop the tower fairly easily. He too notices that it's tuning favors the CW portions of the bands (Hey DXeng - you need to fix that for the other guys), and normally that's not a biggie, but if you're using a "cube" type amp, they begin cutting power down with a 1.5:1 swr. Not as narrow as a yagi, but that baby works! Capetown, SA out of the box.
K4BN Rating: 5/5 May 5, 2012 07:28 Send this review to a friend
100% Satisfied  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm really amazed with the performance of this antenna. I only have it up about 25' on a push up mast with a simple NTE rotor and it works fine. I'm breaking pileups with 100 watts on the first or second call.

One thing I can suggest is to make a temporary length of rope with loops at each end to hold the spreaders in place while you tie the support ropes. That way each spreader will be bent the exact same amount and trust me, your fingers will thank you when you're done.

I painted mine to make it less noticeable to the neighbors using regular Krylon primer and camo paint. It didn't stick to the fiberglass very well and is easily scratched. I believe they make a product called fusion paint that would probably work better.

I chose the DX Engineering Hexx over the other ones because of their outstanding customer service. Another site warns about it having over 200 parts which may be true if you count every nut and washer. I didn't have any problems with assembly at all.

ZL3HA Rating: 5/5 Apr 25, 2012 20:05 Send this review to a friend
Great antenna - worked 105 countries in 4 months  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I wanted a Hexbeam for all of the good reasons stated by the previous reviewer, ND9P. I decided on the DX Engineering kit after first considering a completely home brew solution and the other options on the market. Obtaining components in NZ was proving to be a real challenge and in the end it worked out more cost effective to buy the 5 band kit and the current choke for the complete antenna. I'm really pleased I went this way. This is a very well manufactured antenna and is easy to assemble when following the detailed but simple to follow instruction manual. Their hub unit and balanced feeder system is really innovative and addresses some of the weaknesses that would have existed in my proposed home brew design.

The SWR curve on all bands appears just a little lower in frequency than I would like but I believe this will rectify once the beam is a bit higher in the air.

I'm currently using it at 30ft on a telescoping aluminium tube mast with G-800DXA rotator at the base.

Dx Engineering shipping department kept me informed as to shipping details and they had my beam on the courier within 2 hours of my on line order. Just one week later it had cleared customs and was under assembly in my yard. That's great service.

Today I worked the 105th country using the new Hexbeam (over a 4 month period). I would call myself a casual DXer, I'm not on the radio 24/7! I like it a lot, can you tell?
Page 1 of 2 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.