eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Radio education & exam prep materials | Learn CW Online Help


Reviews Summary for Learn CW Online
Learn CW Online Reviews: 14 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $FREE
Description: Online CW Course using Koch methods. Also have various training drills for Koch lessons, code groups, plain text, words, and QTC. Practice code is random and generated uniquely for each session. User can change change speed and tone of code.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.lcwo.net
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Learn CW Online.

Page 1 of 2 —>

N3IMU Rating: 5/5 Nov 1, 2013 09:32 Send this review to a friend
Great for Any Experience Level  Time owned: more than 12 months
This site is great for learning CW if you're brand new to it, and also for maintaining and improving your skills later. I was just on it a few minutes ago to sharpen up a bit before ARRL CW Sweepstakes this weekend.

Beginners can start with LCWO's implementation of the old but still effective Morse Machine program, and/or proceed through a series of lessons based on the same structure. That structure is called the Koch method, and it's absolutely the best way to learn the code. There are also smartphone apps that use the Koch method, and if you're serious about learning it you should use one of those in addition to this site so you can practice anywhere.

With LCWO, you enter the text on your keyboard, so your speed won't be limited by how fast you can hand-write. It also has exercises I haven't seen on the smartphone apps, such as one where you can practice copying QTC exchanges for the Worked All Europe contest. There are also exercises that let you copy callsigns and words, where the sending speed adjusts continuously based on your accuracy. That's a great way to push your speed up once you've completed the basic Koch course.

On top of all that, it's free. So go do it.
 
WD8CW Rating: 5/5 May 12, 2013 07:29 Send this review to a friend
Great online tool for learning.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
If anyone is wanting to learn morse code, then you need to try LCWO. Great learning tool. Big help for brushing up one's cw skills or to help a person to learning the code. Very easy to use and breaks the learning process into groups so the learner does not feel over whelm.
 
NE5NA Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2013 21:06 Send this review to a friend
LCWO - easy and fun  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Learning CW requires patience and some stamina. The Koch method used by LCWO gives faster results, higher speed, and the website keeps track of your progress.

The Koch method works on the principle that you should learn to recognize the 'sound' of a letter and word, rather than decode the sounds (individual dit and dah's) that make up the letters. You may be pleasantly surprised by the speed you can 'read' right from the start if you set a reasonable rate for effective WPM (say, 8-10wpm).

Having held Class A licenses in Europe where I had to learn code using tapes, this is a huge leap forward, much for fun, and exciting.

Free, very well made, well worth a try.

Set aside 15 minutes a day, don't get discouraged by 'bad' days, just stick with it, and before you know you it you'll be proficient.

Enjoy!
 
KI5IO Rating: 5/5 Sep 16, 2012 19:47 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Application !!  Time owned: more than 12 months
There are several software applications to help those interested in learning CW or improving CW capabilities.

LCWO is one of the better resources available to us.

I just get "lazy" and caught up with other things and should be stronger with myself to lock in a daily appointment to practice.

Learn CW Online is an excellent program, fully customizable to your needs and abilities.

Don't hesitate to log in and begin your CW learning adventure.

73,

Nolan K.
KI5IO
Plano, TX
 
K2BEW Rating: 5/5 Jan 31, 2012 04:38 Send this review to a friend
The best way to learn CW I have found.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have used a number of free and paid for software programs to learn CW and this internet browser based one is the best by far.
It is free and you make an account and log-in to use it and all your progress is saved with detailed statistics on your progress.

I have used LCWO; in the shack on my desktop, in bed with my netbook, at work, and from hotel rooms while traveling.
It goes with you wherever you have access to a computer and the internet, It does not get any better then that!

I just recently discovered you can also download the lesson you are working on in an MP3 format, and so I have done that and loaded them onto my kindle to listen to while reading.
The lessons are totally customizable for speed, tone, spacing and length of lesson.

The one thing I really like about the lessons is the way they are displayed on the screen. As you add a new letter to what you have already learned it drills you on all the past letters you learned too.
But, it gets better, you can also just click on the past letters you learned that are displayed right above the current lesson without leaving that page to refresh your memory and then continue to work on decoding all the letters together.
Well, you will just have to try it to see what I mean. It is excellent, but hard to explain in writing.
A solid 5/5!

Thank you Fabian Kurz, DJ1YFK for making this available and promoting this great hobby and CW around the world!
73
Tom
N2BEW
 
LU1DZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 24, 2011 14:18 Send this review to a friend
Great...!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Many thanks to Fabian DL1YFK for these great job for international community of amateur radio...!!!
 
N4FBW Rating: 5/5 Sep 3, 2011 17:44 Send this review to a friend
Don't fear CW, use this site!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I found this site based on a friend's recommendation. I have been trying to increase my code speed and brush up on CW as I've been away from the hobby for a long time. This site is easy to use and makes studying CW a lot of fun. The site is also free and on-line which means no money spent on software and you can practice CW anywhere you have access to a web browser.
 
N3LZG Rating: 5/5 Apr 15, 2011 06:27 Send this review to a friend
No better way to learn  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This has to be one of the best methods of learning the code. Koch method training, to learn the characters. Additional training for words, callsigns and code groups to improve on speed. Progress is tracked and recorded, so you can see how you're improving.

Got my General and 13wpm by the skin of my teeth in 1992. Since then, I forgot most of it. LCWO has since helped me regain and improve my code speed/proficiency.

Even better is that it's free.
 
KD0LOU Rating: 5/5 Jan 7, 2011 10:15 Send this review to a friend
Excellent site!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The site has a lot of tools to help you improve or learn CW. Highly recommended!
 
TA2RX Rating: 5/5 Nov 28, 2010 22:51 Send this review to a friend
The best design on the subject  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
You can customize the learning style in whatever way you like. This site has got no comparison in this respect. You cannot customize any software, that I came accross upto now, in the ways that you can do at this site. In the past I had asked for some special customization capabilities to some software writers to no avail. At lcwo I did not even had to ask. Once I had mentioned my customization need at a HamFest to Fabian, the designer of the site, he incorporated it straightaway. Brilliant site. If you need to learn cw from scratch or improve your skills, IMHO this is ***THE*** best way to do it.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.