eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/Pod-WebCasts on ham radio | UP THE TOWER - The Complete Guide To Tower Construction Help


Reviews Summary for UP THE TOWER - The Complete Guide To Tower Construction
UP THE TOWER - The Complete Guide To Tower Construction Reviews: 8 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $$35.00
Description: The first tower book ever published. Written by Steve Morris, K7LXC, a professional tower installer, it has chapters on every tower topic including rotators, masts, coax, foundations and concrete, grounding, erection and MORE! It has many tips and techniques to help you plan and build your tower and antenna system.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.championradio.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the UP THE TOWER - The Complete Guide To Tower Construction.

WB4SQC Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2015 17:25 Send this review to a friend
2 THUMBS UP !!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This book is a must have for anyone planning on doing their on tower work and also for those whom have been doing tower work for considerable time.
I have been doing tower work since back in the 70's and find Steve's book to be a valuable resource which is easy to search out specific information of interest... 2 thumbs up!

Benny Peterson, WB4SQC
bpTower
ERWIN, TN
 
W7NG Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2011 22:25 Send this review to a friend
Covers every aspect with clarity  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
It was great to come across a copy of "UP THE TOWER" months ago and finally taken the time to review it. While there are many good antenna books, there has not - until now - been much out about towers.

After an hour scanning through the chapters of "UP THE TOWER," I could not find any aspect of ham towers that had not been covered by this book in detail - from earliest planning (and permitting), through construction, maintenance and ultimately, tear-down. It took an experienced hand to write this.

It is a practical and pragmatic how-to on all aspects of towers. It can save time, money and hassle in one's quest best bang for buck ham station. In sum: this book deserves a key spot on any active amateur's reference library. I've not seen any other like it in my 50+ years of hamming.

It would make a good, inexpensive birthday or other holiday gift to any ham - especially from a non-ham!

Full disclosure: I have known the author for decades, and have used his expertise in my own modest tower installation. I've never been steered wrong by his advice. 73, Don Walter,W7NG

 
W7NG Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2011 22:23 Send this review to a friend
Covers every aspect with clarity  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I finally sat down with "Up the Tower" and found it to be a veritable encyclopedia of all aspects of tower construction from start to finish - and beyond (ongoing maintenance).

While some of the regulation/bureaucracy info will become dated with time, the most all other aspects will remain relevant for many years to come.

This book deserves a top rating because I've never before seen such a comprehenive, yet clearly understandable treatment of the subject. While there are several other excellent antenna books (plus the antenna section of ARRL Handbook), this is the best one I've seen yet covering every relevant aspect of maximizing the efficiency of what happens between rig and post-antenna signal.

"Up the Tower" is a singularly unique, practical, understandable reference work that belongs on every active ham's bookshelf. You'll refer to it often.
73,
Don Walter, W7NG


 
K6RB Rating: 5/5 Dec 22, 2009 18:24 Send this review to a friend
Very informative  Time owned: months
This book provides a ton of information about planning and executing a tower/yagi project. Anyone who is thinking about such a project would benefit from reading this book.
 
K6UFO Rating: 5/5 Aug 29, 2009 09:38 Send this review to a friend
Essential for 1st time builder  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This book is a great collection of valuable
information all in one place. This is essential
reading for anyone thinking of their first tower
project. And tower-experienced hams will also
learn some new things.
 
KE5DYY Rating: 5/5 Aug 24, 2009 10:02 Send this review to a friend
Great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This book has an amazing collection of advice with regard to tower construction. Clearly it is not the definitive instruction manual on how to build an antenna tower but it sure has a lot of wisdom and experience that I had to find out through extensive searching. I was pleased with his handling of controversial issues such as Ufer grounding-- just do it and do it well. I would suggest the book to anyone who is considering putting in a tower. The book identifies a number of issues that one might not consider at first glance. Great book!
 
K8IA Rating: 5/5 Aug 12, 2009 16:10 Send this review to a friend
Really Useful. Nothing Like It Available!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
As an engineer (PE in MI and AZ), long-time contester (since 1957) and one who has erected many tower systems, I found Steve's book to be unique in scope, complete, and very useful. If I was one contemplating a tower system, and needed to understand the ins and outs of the scope of work, this would be my major reference. Good show K7LXC!
 
K7JF Rating: 2/5 Aug 12, 2009 15:24 Send this review to a friend
Very disappointed  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Perhaps when I read "everything you need to know about ..." my expectations go up. I congratulate Steve on his book; it is a good start to tower construction.

But it lacks ALOT. Fortunately Steve uses the a 50 foot Rohn 25 tower in many of his examples. Can you really dig a 2x2x4 hole using a Bobcat? How does one build a rebar cage and then tie it to the tower? How does one pour the cement into the hole (there's and interesting discussion elsewhere here about that)? Exactly how many house brackets can you use? How are they installed? What is a thrust bearing, and why is there a debate whether they should be used? Should the beam be aligned true north or magnetic north?

These questions may be totally obvious to the seasoned tower builder, but to someone looking for nuts and bolts answers, it lacks the authority.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.