eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Vertical, Wire, Loop | Diamond KV5 Vertical Antenna Help


Reviews Summary for Diamond KV5 Vertical Antenna
Diamond KV5 Vertical Antenna Reviews: 7 Average rating: 3.4/5 MSRP: $AUD 475
Description: Type: HF 5 BAND VERTICAL ANTENNA
Frequency: 3.5/7/14/21/28(29)MHz(80m/40m/20m/15m/10m) 29MHzFM
Max Power rating: 500W(SSB)
250W(SSB)3.5MHz
VSWR: Less than 1.5:1
Impedance: 50ohms
Length: 5.8m
Weight: 2.9kgs
Rated wind velocity: 35m/sec
Mast diameter accepted: 30mm to 62mm
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.diamond-ant.jp/ama2/eng_ama_2_2_5.asp
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Diamond KV5 Vertical Antenna.

M3MQR Rating: 1/5 Nov 6, 2013 11:19 Send this review to a friend
D.O.A  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Looks good on paper, unfortunately my KV5 was DOA , build quality is poor that when errected Viagra wouldn't go a miss.

 
PD0RDD Rating: 2/5 Jun 28, 2011 03:00 Send this review to a friend
Poor SWR  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hi there,

since a few day's i am using a diamond KV-5 antenna.
It stands up the roof about 12 meters high.
The swr is very very bad and i can't get it better.
I'm using a RG-213 kabel, lenght about 15 meters.
I have tryed to put a ground wire at the antenne but the results ware none or even worse.
Does somebody have a idee to put this antenne in the right swr results.
any idee is welcom.
 
F4EPP Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2010 07:05 Send this review to a friend
Many PROS one CON !  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received this antenna a couple of weeks ago and I usually wait more before to write my review.
But exceptionnally I'll write it earlier due to the few reviews this antenna has on the site.

This antenna is really lightweight and easy to assemble.
I've always had home made dipoles on the terrace or in my garden so it was the first time I assemble an industrial vertical antenna with traps. I found that job very easy. Of course when you put the horizontal small radials you cannot let it on the floor anymore.

As the antenna is light I didn't need any help to place it on my mast (the mast is only 5 foot high) nor any guy wires to support the mast.

I'm going to answer THE question: My KV-5 does NOT need wire radials around ! The antenna works incredibly fine without them. Poor SWR on every band they claim in the brochure.

Tuning it was not really a problem. Even with my low configuration I had good SWR on each band under our Ham bands. I shortened the antenna inserting the second element into the first one as described in the manual. That increase the center frequency of all bands. Finally you move up or down the ring with that small horizontal radials to fine the accurate low swr center frequency for each band. Hard to explain but easy to do indeed !

My friends everywhere in France found a big difference in efficiency compared to my dipole on the 40 meters band. This antenna works very well on almost all bands where it can be tuned. I'm a 10, 15 meter's band lover ! I don't transmit on the 80 meter's I cannot say for this amateur band BUT I'm used to monitor shortwave and medium wave broadcast bands and never had such results.

Now the con:

The feeder connection...
Believe it or not it lasted 3 minutes before I broke it. I would have never imagined Diamond designer could make such that bad coax feeding point to the antenna. Shame on him. Diamond should have never accepted this because of the 500 watts PEP we are supposed to transmit.

I spend more times to go to buy spare materials to make a good (a real one actually))feed point. That HAS to be improved.

I put a 5 because of the very good PROS of the antenna.

In brief: Cheap, easy to assemble, easy to tune, short, lightweight, no wire radials needed, low SWR and VERY EFFICIENT !

I'll change my review if bad things happen later on.
 
VK2YN Rating: 4/5 Jan 11, 2010 22:48 Send this review to a friend
Working well  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Ok a few months on and changed my callsign.

Antenna works well with low angle of radiation.Not too bad as a vertical noise wise..and still happy at this point.

Reasonably unobtrusive.

Connection point could use improvement..a so239 socket connection would be great rather than the cable arrangement supplied with the antenna

all in all happy at this point.

Derek VK2YN formerly VK2JAF!
 
VK2JAF Rating: 5/5 Oct 27, 2009 23:40 Send this review to a friend
Better than expected  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ok have the antenna up..and have had contacts as expected in an omni directional plane..covering local , europe and USA on around 40w PSK on 20m, and 40m..

Performs well....

Am i the only guy here who has one of these antennas..
 
VK2JAF Rating: 4/5 Oct 15, 2009 18:32 Send this review to a friend
Good so far  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
OK ..installed antenna, reasonably easy match on 80m, 40m, 20m...1.1-1.5 swr, 15m around 1.7, 10m had difficulty tuning to a usable area..although i do not usually use 10m.

Easy install and very lightweight.. mounted on roof, and used metal roof as ground plane, in addition to 1 1/4 +4% radial for each band.

First contact russia on PSK 20m..and local vk's see how we fare from here.
 
VK2JAF Rating: 3/5 Oct 9, 2009 00:28 Send this review to a friend
Just purchased...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just received today..will review once installed

Derek VK2YN..formerly VK2JAF
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.