eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: Scanners | Realistic PRO-2006 (the famous)-Bill Cheek Favorite! Help


Reviews Summary for Realistic PRO-2006 (the famous)-Bill Cheek Favorite!
Realistic PRO-2006 (the famous)-Bill Cheek Favorite! Reviews: 19 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $400
Description: Super. I believe it is what they call a "GRE" scanner from Japan. Highly modifiable. Highly regarded by all scanner gurus and BILL CHEEK (God Bless). Without a doubt, the worlds most popular scanner of all time. Great sensitivity and selectivity. Japanese quality throughout. Easy full 800 Mhz. Hyperscan. Many aftermarket accessories for trunking, etc. Hard to go wrong on this one. Tandy did'nt make enough of 'em! A classic!
Product is in production.
(Web site missing—add URL)
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Realistic PRO-2006 (the famous)-Bill Cheek Favorite!.

<— Page 2 of 2

KC9AXZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2002 03:57 Send this review to a friend
Awesome Scanner  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned one for over 10 years. Definately suggest this scanner. I unfourtinately had to sell mine a few months ago. If you have a chance to get a 2006 don't let it pass by.
 
DT593 Rating: 5/5 Oct 14, 2002 23:43 Send this review to a friend
Got My Moneys worth 100 Times Over  Time owned: more than 12 months
Have had mine for about 10 years. Have done the 6400 ch. mod as well as most other mods. Radio is my "Benchmark" when comparing radios for articles in scanner related market.
I was in the middle of working with Bill Cheek with a better Illumination method..Bill died before I could send him instructions on how I replaced the Florecent Backlight with something more acceptable.
The good points of this receiver are.
1. Great Ears
2. Ease of Modifications
3. Price for what you get
4. The thing Is like the Energizer Rabbit..keeps going...and going..

The Not So Great Features:
1. Case Cheaply made (Plastic screw holding tabs on case broke first time disassembed)
2. 110v Power supply Runs HOT..got around this by always running it with a decent 12v power supply.
3. Adjcent frequency interference common on VHF hi band.

All in all has been running WELL 24 hrs a day for 10 years without any problems.
 
KE4RWS Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2002 04:25 Send this review to a friend
Absolutely Top-Notch!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The late Bill cheek was highly instrumental in me trying out this great scanner/receiver. It truly was everything he said it was and then some! I poured over everything Bill wrote about this product, not knowing at the time it would one day be succeeded by inferior receivers (within the same price range).

It's too bad Radio Shack got such cold feet and started cutting everything in their inventory which could be "easily modified". This obviously turned a lot of people away from thier line of scanners.

The PRO-2006 is an easy-to-use scanner with great features, and few short-comings (like maybe a VFO). With that only exception it still ranks at the top of the list of available scanners today!

GRE of Japan truly made a great product with the advent of the 2004,2005,2006 line. Oh well, nothing lasts forever . . .

This product is always a great buy when you can find them at a decent price.
 
KC2IGY Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2001 22:45 Send this review to a friend
Still the best at what it can do.  Time owned: more than 12 months
If only GRE could produce a scanner with all of today's features, that could perform as well as the old 2006. The radio is a legend. Not much else to say.
 
KB9IV Rating: 5/5 Nov 10, 2001 09:04 Send this review to a friend
King Of The Hill  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
A spectacular scanner. Easily upgradeable, clean, fast scan (40 Ch/sec), can be
found readily.
Mine had the Backlight gone dim, so I replaced the Backlight......Now it's
bright. I wouldn't recommnd replacement for anyone, not easy. Display
Backlights are $30 via RS. Not a plug in proposition.
Really a enjoyable scanner, get a manual a must!!
 
W1EMJ Rating: 5/5 May 6, 2001 20:39 Send this review to a friend
The Very Best!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Scanners do not come any better than this!
Hate the plastic case tho!!!
 
GW1253 Rating: 5/5 Apr 6, 2001 14:39 Send this review to a friend
Brilliant  Time owned: more than 12 months
The best scanner ever made. absolute perfection
The Rolls Royce of the scanner world.
 
KG6EJT Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2001 18:47 Send this review to a friend
A Classic!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great scanner. I've owned mine since 1993 and I wouldn't sell it for anything.Well, maybe trade it for a new Kenwood TS-2000 :) One of the few scanners that will receive the 220 ham band and military aircraft. Lots of mods available. Triple conversion makes this a good choice for those living in cities. That said, it does sometmes have problems with pager intermod on VHF. This may be due to my location and not a fault of the rig. Also, the luminescent display will become dimmer over time, but there is a replacement available from RadioShack. So far, after 7 years of heavy use, the panel on my rig is still fine, but I've heard of others having this problem.
 
WB9YCJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2000 16:54 Send this review to a friend
World Classic, Cheek Favorite!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Super! I believe it is what they call a "GRE" scanner made in Japan. Highly modifiable. Highly regarded by all scanner gurus and BILL CHEEK (God bless). Without a doubt, the world's most coveted scanner of all time! Great selectivity and sensitivity. Japanese quality throughout. Easy full 800 Mhz. Hyperscan. Many aftermarket accessories for trunking, etc. Hard to go wrong
on this one. Tandy did'nt make enough of 'em.
They still command original retail on EBAY!
A classic!
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.