eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | SWR & Wattmeters & Dummy Loads | MFJ-812B Help


Reviews Summary for MFJ-812B
MFJ-812B Reviews: 27 Average rating: 1.9/5 MSRP: $34.95
Description: 2-Meter & 220 MHz SWR/Wattmeter
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.mfjenterprises.com/products.php?prodid=MFJ-812B
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the MFJ-812B.

Page 1 of 3 —>

W4KVW Rating: 1/5 Jun 10, 2017 19:56 Send this review to a friend
Worse than GARBAGE!  Time owned: more than 12 months
PLEASE "RUN" as fast as you possibly can from this piece of total JUNK.It's OK as an SWR Meter ONLY.It is the worst excuse EVER for a wattmeter on any band.Better yet just don't buy anything that says, MFJ on it & save yourself the headache & the loss of time & hard earned money.They just keep on living up to their hard earned reputation of building more & more junk. {:>(
 
KD5FLN Rating: 4/5 Jan 30, 2014 13:51 Send this review to a friend
Liked it so much I bought another.   Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my first MFJ-812b back around 1998/99 and at first it can get confusing to use, especially if you didnt read the instructions. Well, after reading the instructions it's actually a good, inexpensive piece of equipment to use if your looking for something to check your SWR & power output on that new mobile radio or antenna. I've had no problems with anything from MFJ that I purchased over the years.
 
KI4GTJ Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2012 02:00 Send this review to a friend
Works like it should  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have no problem works great
 
N5YSZ Rating: 0/5 Aug 21, 2008 19:06 Send this review to a friend
junk  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Yep it is a useless piece of junk. I ruined 2 good antenna and hours spent for nothing.get a Bird!
 
KI6PDQ Rating: 0/5 Jul 21, 2008 20:50 Send this review to a friend
Wake up n smell d coffee  Time owned: more than 12 months
Welcome to MFJ "Mighty fine Junk" my dummy load was a lemon out of the box, thanks MFJ.
 
AB0XE Rating: 0/5 Jul 21, 2008 16:36 Send this review to a friend
Did not Work  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wanted a inexpensive swr meter for my ARES radio box. My antenna was 1.5 to 1
I 1st checked it on a Yaesu YS-500, then Daiwa CN 103l
MY radio was set for 10 watts, hooked up MFJ, switched to forward power ,set full scale deflections as required , switched to Reflected power and it is still reads 10 watts
Checked and double checked then
like a dope I took it apart thinking there might be cold solder joint or something, of course now my warranty is void. MFJ must love dopes like me
Well I quess if nothing else I have a forward power watt meter
 
KE3JH Rating: 0/5 May 30, 2008 06:33 Send this review to a friend
real bad  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
i ordered mfj 812b and didnt work. the store said they will send a new one so i asked they check it first. Well they checkes 7 models before they found ONE THAT WORKED! im hoping it still works when it gets here. I thought they inspected there junk before they shipped them to the stores?
 
KB0LPI Rating: 4/5 May 1, 2007 13:25 Send this review to a friend
Works fine for me  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
SWR readings seemed in line for the antenna I was running. Power readings confirmed factory specs on 2 radios. the 30W setting was right on the money, but I don't know how they picked where to put the 300W mark. It was nowhere even close, but it worked fine when I calibrated for 300W scale according to the instructions.
 
VE3QJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2007 07:39 Send this review to a friend
Reliable  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this meter in 2005 and i keep it in hooked up. Nice size, Accurate, good price, (around $40.00 cdn), and i like the convenience of the 220 band coverage.
Great for field day too.
I highly recommend it.
 
N8ERM Rating: 0/5 Mar 18, 2007 13:00 Send this review to a friend
Junker  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is the worst piece of test gear I have ever used. The readings and not even close to accurate. If you use this you will need to order finals for your rig because a dead short in a piece of feed line was a 1.7 to 1. I scrapped the guts and used the enclosure for a project box. It is its only use.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.