eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Books/Manuals/Videos/PodCasts on ham radio | A Year of DX by W9KNI Help


Reviews Summary for A Year of DX by W9KNI
A Year of DX by W9KNI Reviews: 22 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $20.00
Description: Can a DX'er from a small town in southwest Oregon hope to compete in the Big Leagues of DX'ing? Bob Locher, W9KNI, author of the best selling DX Book ever, "The Complete DX'er", set out on a mission to prove it was possible. "A Year of DX" is Bob's personal account of the challenges, joys and sorrows in pursuit of the Holy Grail -- winning the CQ DX Marathon. Look over Bob's shoulder as he works country after country, yes, and missing a few along the way, but always trying to optimize his chances and the hope of logging the next one.

Mixed in is a wealth of other material, some dealing with equipment optimization, some thoughtful, some humorous. Anyone who enjoyed "The Complete DX'er" will surely be delighted with this book. 280 pages.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.idiompress.com/yearofdx.php
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the A Year of DX by W9KNI.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

VK4CC Rating: 5/5 Jun 8, 2010 00:53 Send this review to a friend
Thanks again Bob  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Thanks very much for another great read Bob. I read the third edition of "The Complete DX'er" in one sitting and had to force myself not to do the same again. As a newcomer to DX I must admit to enjoying The complete DX'er a little more than A Year of DX but, having said that, I enjoyed the latest book immensely. The excitement contained in the descriptions of contacts interspersed with helpful hints to get you on the way is a winning combination for this newbie.

I await your next literary masterpiece Bob.
 
VK4SWE Rating: 5/5 Jun 7, 2010 22:45 Send this review to a friend
Thrilling!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'd really enjoyed Bob's first book 'The Complete DXer' and I enjoyed this one even more! I live on one of those rare IOTA islands, and rarely called CQ,afraid of the pileups that would result; but Bob's book is not just for the DXer - it holds a wealth of information for DX stations, not just on how to avoid the hunters! but on how to handle the pileups more efficiently and so Bob's book has resulted in this IOTA being on air more often - which has to be a good thing for DX!
 
VU2CDP Rating: 5/5 May 22, 2010 06:45 Send this review to a friend
Brilliant!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bob's hit another home run with his new book. Truly captivating and difficult to put down once you start reading it. I finished it cover to cover the day I received my autographed copy in the mail. Bob takes you on a fascinating journey of working DX in a sunspot minima, and his was truly an outstanding effort in the 2008 DX Marathon. Bob's sublime skills shine through every chapter as he works country after another. Ample testimony is his induction in to the CQ DX Hall of Fame; well deserved!
The chapters on amplifiers, SSB audio, headphones and propagation are quite informative too. So this is another must read for every ham.

Thank you Bob for reintroducing us to the thrill of the chase.
 
K7ABV Rating: 5/5 May 21, 2010 18:55 Send this review to a friend
Nice Work again  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bob has done another wonderful job describing the world of working DX...I am enjoying his effort in this book...easy style to read and yes you feel like your spining the dial looking with him. As a fellow DX'er I appreciate someone putting it all together so well...thanks bob!!
 
K0MD Rating: 5/5 May 20, 2010 19:57 Send this review to a friend
Superb read  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I ordered the book prior to printing and received it after Visalia. I started reading it and just could not put it down! It is entertaining and informative. Bob Locher has a unique way of sharing his DX hunting techniques in a manner that instructs the reader as if the reader were sitting right alongside him operating. If you are a DXer or a want to be Dxer, this is a great read. Bob - thank you for another great work!
 
K6OI Rating: 5/5 May 19, 2010 13:27 Send this review to a friend
NY Times Best Seller  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well it didn't make the list but in my book it should. I have to limit myself to a chapter per night in order to savor it. Bob is definitely one of my favorite technical authors along side Ward Silver, Phil Salas, and the late Dave Ingram. Autographing my copy was the crowning touch.
 
ON5ZO Rating: 5/5 May 18, 2010 10:27 Send this review to a friend
Fun reading  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm a ham radio addict and love to read so this book brings both together into pages not filled with antenna designs, electronic circuits and mathematic formulas. In stead the book is filled with plain text and provides some enjoyable reading as well as some good-to-know information on the side.

Every operator staying up late or getting out of bed early to work DX will relate with the way the author describes the thrills of working a new one as well as missing out on rare DX during these impossible hours. And I didn’t know you can work so many “new ones” in one year until W9KNI wrote about his effort to do so.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Well written and easy reading even for non-native speakers. Although a leap year, Bob’s year of DX was too short! If only more people would write and publish this kind of amateur radio related material.

Looking forward to the next one!
 
W6TRI Rating: 5/5 May 18, 2010 09:16 Send this review to a friend
The Master of DX Writing Does it Again!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I don't often read a book more than once, but I read Bob's "The Complete DX'er" at least 4 times over the years, and it keeps getting better. I didn't think he could top that book.

With "A Year of DX", the master strikes again with a must-have book for any current or aspiring ham radio operator. Like his first book, this one reads like an exciting novel and truly captures the thrill of the chase and the feeling of accomplishment after every "new one".

I found the contributions by other folks interesting as well.

This one belongs on the book shelf of every ham. I wish there were more books like this out ther.

 
KY6R Rating: 5/5 May 8, 2010 15:53 Send this review to a friend
Another Classic!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Simply the perfect combination of DX-ing smarts, technical smarts and the ability to keep you riveted to your chair - in the same way that Bob has done with "The Complete DX-er".

I have been checking my log as I read this book - and know that I must have been in the same 9X0X pileup as he was in early February 2008.

I'm only 50 pages into the book - and have read so far faster than I read most novels.

Thanks Bob - another home run!

Rich
KY6R
 
K4ZA Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2010 05:41 Send this review to a friend
Another "winner" by W9KNI  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ham radio suffers from a lack of authors able to convey exactly what’s so fascinating, interesting, and personable about our hobby. Why, in today’s electronic marvel, gadget-prone, computer-assisted-everything world, would anyone find a mere RADIO of interest, for example? Where’s the fun, let alone the attraction, in that?
Bob Locher, W9KNI, whose work I first encountered in the early 80s in ham radio horizons, has a conversational writing style and tone, which easily conveys his passion for DXing, and HF operating in general. Those early columns, which later became his first book, The Complete DXer, serve as tantalizing tidbits for the chase covered in A Year of DX.
Starting January 1st of each year, CQ magazine’s DX Marathon is the perfect answer for the DXer who needs some extra incentive to get on the air each and every day. The goal is simple: work as many countries and CQ Zones as you can, regardless of the band or mode. Each country and zone counts only once, so you can concentrate on always working new ones, rather than working the same ones on multiple bands or modes, as the DXCC award does things. Pretty straightforward, right?
W9KNI, now “semi-retired” and living in Grants Pass, OR, knew from the outset he’d have some tough sledding in this race, especially at the bottom of the sunspot cycle, in 2008. But of course, such obstacles never stop the Deserving, nor should they, and indeed, dealing with them is not only explained and encouraged, but described in a manner that can only be called uplifting. If this story doesn’t motivate you, you’d better stick to ker-chunking your local 2M repeater!
A year long quest…well, surely that’s got to get old or dull or boring, but it never does. Bob manages to convey the difficulties faced from propagation, from the sunspot cycle, from the Packet-Cluster instant pileup world, from favoring one mode more than another. He knows his own limits, and faults.
The book is replete with reviews and analysis of his new radio (an Elecraft K3), amplifier, towers and antennas (Bob owns Bencher, so you can guess the answers to some of the questions, right off the bat).
At every step, he’s trying to optimize his chances for success. That alone makes his story worth reading, his quest worth studying. Ham radio can certainly use more stories like this one. It’s a fun read. A book that’s truly worth your time and attention.
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.