eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Accessories | N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft Help


Reviews Summary for N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft
N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft Reviews: 54 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $$89
Description: The original K2 knob weighs in around 2 ounces. These premium USA made knobs weigh 6-1/2 ounces and they tune just wonderful. This knob is made of heavy alloy Steel and coated with a durable baked-on Black enamel or buffed bronze. The black goes great with the radio and feels nice in the hand. No sharp corners to irritate your hands.
Installation is easy and all hardware is Stainless Steel. Everything is CNC Machined from billet stock right here in the USA. The set screw that holds the knob in place is a flat tip style (no marring of your VFO shaft). Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed 30 days or you may return it for a full refund.
Knob Specs:

Weight 6.5 Ounces, accepts 6mm diameter shaft, #6-32 set screw (use 1/16" Hex Key wrench also available for $2.00 additional).
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dtsohio.com/73cnc/elecraft.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft.

Page 1 of 6 —>

K4TIN Rating: 5/5 May 5, 2017 15:35 Send this review to a friend
Worthwhile Purchase  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought and installed this week. The one supplied with the K2 weighs 2.2 ounces--but this one is 7+.
Truly adds to the pleasure of tuning; well we do love to twist knobs don't we? Makes an Elecraft even more elegant.
 
DL6URK Rating: 5/5 Mar 30, 2017 07:33 Send this review to a friend
fantastic metal knob  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The fit and finish of this product is excellent
 
W0CP Rating: 5/5 Feb 21, 2015 09:15 Send this review to a friend
Changes the experience  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A good tuning knob has a big effect on the operating experience, but they are expensive. So, in the interest of hitting price points, they are often sacrificed. It's great to have such a high quality afer market product with which to customize and improve the K3. This knob is very high quality and you will feel that quality every time you touch it.
 
KE6EE Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2015 12:48 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is actually a review of an alternative heavy knob for the K2. There is another such review a couple of reviews below this.

The alternative heavy knob looks almost identical except that the rotating finger dimple is chrome or brass. It's available on ebay and sold by AA9IV. Cost with shipping may be a bit lower than the N8BX/73cnc design.

The black finish on this knob is I think more matte (less glossy) than the N8BX. It weighs slightly more at 6.75 oz. It's made in Bulgaria which was the birthplace of AA9IV. It is very well machined of bronze rather than steel and nicely finished. It comes with an allen wrench.

It works just fine allowing one to spin smoothly across a band section.

 
W7BV Rating: 5/5 Jan 17, 2015 09:44 Send this review to a friend
Excellant but problem with KX3 SideKX  Time owned: more than 12 months
Excellent quality and really improves smooth tuning. Several are in use here on my K1, K2, KX1, and K3. Unfortunately, not usable on KX3 if equipped with SideKX and its lexan cover. It is too high as pointed out in review by DK1EY so the cover can not be closed. I returned mine and at the same time suggested to N8BX that he modify future KX3 knobs so they would work with the popular SideKX and cover.
 
K6SDW Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2015 07:06 Send this review to a friend
AA9IV knob - excellent!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I stumbled on to this new Elecraft K2 knob on eBay, made an offer which he accepted.

KOSTADIN must be a master machinist, his knob looks production-quality and fits perfect on my K2

I never knew what an improvement a weighted-knob would make over the original knob, my AA9IV's knob makes turning my K2 feel like one of the "big boy" $3k rigs!! HI HI

It also shows how cheezie the Elecraft knob is.

Cheers All
 
K7JBQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 13, 2015 20:27 Send this review to a friend
K2 knob works great on FT-900  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The title says it all. If you have one of those great old Yaesu rigs, and want a whole new tuning experience, get one!
 
DK1EY Rating: 5/5 Jan 12, 2015 23:05 Send this review to a friend
Absolutely Great! Quality is outstanding.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Perfect addition for my KX3. I bought the ELECRAFT KX3 BLACK Weighted Tuning Knob with Ball Bearing Finger Dimple.

Sadly it is not possible to use the SideKX of http://gemsproducts.com/ due to the height of the weighted tuning knob.

I will sell the SideKX and stay with the tuning knob.
 
NC4AK Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2015 18:39 Send this review to a friend
A Very Nice Addition to the K3  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Like many others have said, these knobs are the real deal. They are constructed very well. They have a very nice feel to them. When I was researching these knobs, I had read where a couple other hams had installed the K2 weighted knob for VFO B and I decided to go this route as well. It is great to now have a larger knob for VFO B with a ball bearing dimple. If you are thinking about purchasing the K2 knob for your K3 and are curious how it fits, send me an email and I will reply with a picture. 73
 
K5REZ Rating: 5/5 Jul 19, 2014 19:14 Send this review to a friend
WOW!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Now THIS is a VFO KNOB! eHam reviews are accurate, his ebay reviews are accurate. You want a REAL VFO KNOB? WOW. Impressive, quality work.
 
Page 1 of 6 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.