eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | QRP Accessories | N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft Help


Reviews Summary for N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft
N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft Reviews: 45 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $$89
Description: The original K2 knob weighs in around 2 ounces. These premium USA made knobs weigh 6-1/2 ounces and they tune just wonderful. This knob is made of heavy alloy Steel and coated with a durable baked-on Black enamel or buffed bronze. The black goes great with the radio and feels nice in the hand. No sharp corners to irritate your hands.
Installation is easy and all hardware is Stainless Steel. Everything is CNC Machined from billet stock right here in the USA. The set screw that holds the knob in place is a flat tip style (no marring of your VFO shaft). Your satisfaction is 100% guaranteed 30 days or you may return it for a full refund.
Knob Specs:

Weight 6.5 Ounces, accepts 6mm diameter shaft, #6-32 set screw (use 1/16" Hex Key wrench also available for $2.00 additional).
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dtsohio.com/73cnc/elecraft.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the N8BX - Weighted VFO Knob For Elecraft.

<— Page 2 of 5 —>

KM4D Rating: 5/5 Apr 22, 2013 16:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased the ball bearing type knob for the K3.
All I can say is WOW..
Excellent product!
Excellent service.
Adds a totally different feel to the K3 not to mention the ball bearing type knob adds a touch of class to the already wonderful K3.
Yes, they are a little pricey but I have no plans of getting rid of the K3 anytime soon and you get what you pay for.
Sure wish these guys would make the same for the Ten Tec radio's.
Would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to add that special to the tuning around experience. 73!
 
K4RUR Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2013 07:20 Send this review to a friend
Very impressive part!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the knob for my FTDX5000MP. I bought this item from N8BX on ebay. He shipped the item quickly and was a pleasure to deal with. Now to the review. He has a video showing how to replace the knob and rubber part. Good video and easy to follow and understand. I removed the factory knob, which required needle nose pliers on the allen wrench. When you remove the factory knob, there is a plastic piece between the knob and radio, make sure you keep that on the shaft. I put the knob on and it was very easy to adjust the tension after watching the video. Once it was all done and the rubber piece back on, it was time to give it a try. One thing I noticed when I got this from the mailbox was that it is heavy. And BOY what a difference it made on the radio! The finger part being able to rotate makes a huge difference and the whole piece makes the radio "feel" more substantial. I am happy with the purchase and the item and recommend buying one. It is a bit pricey was my initial thought, but it is worth every cent.
 
NK9N Rating: 5/5 Jan 21, 2013 17:10 Send this review to a friend
great on several fronts  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just ordered one for K3 and it is fabulous! Feels like an old school rig, saves a few nanoseconds when tuning, and really makes it easier to fine tune a signal. Just ordered one for my FT5000. No affiliation.... just saw a post on the knob on Yahoo Groups and looked it up. Great addition to most radios.
 
KT5D Rating: 5/5 Dec 23, 2012 15:06 Send this review to a friend
Very nice knobs  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently purchased a new Elecraft K3 HF transceiver, an excellent American made radio. The only thing about the radio that appeared "cheap" we're the knobs. While the main tuning knob is very good, it just didn't have that quality look or feel that the rest of the radio has. As soon as I discovered the N8BX weighted VFO knob set with the ball bearing finger dimple I knew the problem was solved. A beautiful finish and velvety touch with the silver shine of the aluminum insert adds the final touch to a classy rig. Although expensive, it is worth the investment. And it is made in the USA.
 
W7LRY Rating: 5/5 Dec 17, 2012 17:54 Send this review to a friend
OUTSTANDING  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been looking at the 73cnc tuning knobs for a long time and when they came out with the new Elecraft K3 tuning knobs with the ball bearing finger dimple I decided to take a chance and try it. I am sure happy I made the purchase.
The quality and service is excellent. I found the best adjustment is to have the main tuning knob drag as light as you can get it but tight enough that it stays stopped when it finishes spinning. With the extra weight of the knob I can give it a small push and it just glides across the band very smooth. With proper adjustment it really does make crusing across the band much easier. It's like having a pan adaptor, you can get by without it but when you get the knobs it makes you wonder how you got by without them. I weighed them on the postal scales and the stock main tuning knob is 3.5 oz. and the 73cnc is 12.7 oz. The stock sub receiver knob is 1.5 oz and the 73cnc is 3.5 oz.
 
WW4JF Rating: 5/5 Dec 1, 2012 15:59 Send this review to a friend
A really nice feel!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
With my hefty digits and broad hand, I really appreciated the change. I noticed an immediate and welcome improvement.
 
K2WO Rating: 5/5 Jun 18, 2012 05:27 Send this review to a friend
The Best!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the original set for my K3 at Dayton 2 years ago when Fred introduced them. They were great. Now he introduced the deluxe model at Dayton this year, with the ball-bearing "finger dimple" and the silver trim. They are fantastic and as others have said, have to be experienced to understand how good they are. The quality and workmanship is exceptional. Get one, you will be VERY happy. Besides that, Fred is truly a nice guy to deal with.
 
N1LQ Rating: 5/5 Jun 17, 2012 18:44 Send this review to a friend
Form and Funciton Meet on the K3 Front Panel  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased my first N8BX weighted knobs for the K3 at Dayton two years ago. They are amazing.

When I went past Fred's table this year, I saw his new K3 knobs and they were in a word... exquisite. I couldn't resist. K3 Jewelry.

They have to be seen and used to be fully appreciated. One try and you won't go back.

An added bonus for me was the excellent customer service that Fred provided in adjusting a small matter for me after getting it home from Dayton.

His service (and tolerance of my finickiness) ranks him right up there with the service standards of Elecraft.

Thanks Fred.

Go ahead...get a set!



 
M0SAZ Rating: 5/5 Jun 12, 2012 18:51 Send this review to a friend
Warning - you will want to stay operating!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Quite an investment perhaps, but one that once you have the item up close and in your hand, you won't regret a single cent!

I bought the weighted tuning knob for my FT-950 and I have to say, what a marvellous piece of workmanship - made how things should be/used to be made.

The knob fits perfectly and you would never know it was after market. If I have to use an FT-950 without this enhancement from now on, I will really not feel right.

We need more well engineered products in ham radio. Not everyone wants to have the cheapest, built to a price components - I am one of them.

Delivery to the UK was 9 days - excellent service!

I have uploaded some images of the knob on the FT-950 Yahoo group photos section - just look for my callsign.
 
WB4OOA Rating: 5/5 Jun 1, 2012 17:00 Send this review to a friend
Excellent K3 upgrade  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Highest quality Knobs I have ever seen. They give my K3 a look and feel of the old Collins S-Line.
I love the ball bearing Finger dimple.
 
<— Page 2 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.