eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Interfaces, Radio to computer, amp, rotor, coax switch, internet | Remoterig RRC-1258MkII Help


Reviews Summary for Remoterig RRC-1258MkII
Remoterig RRC-1258MkII Reviews: 24 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $449
Description: End to end complete control of many popular HF trasceivers over the internet without the need for a computer at either the Radio or Remote Control end.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.remoterig.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Remoterig RRC-1258MkII.

<— Page 2 of 3 —>

KB0HMP Rating: 5/5 Oct 29, 2012 14:23 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding Product !!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wanted to let everyone know that I recently picked up the RemoteRig (K3 Twin, and the PC Client) about two weeks ago. It took very little time to setup, and it works very, very well! I was able to hold a conversation with low latency, good audio report on the receiving end, and it now makes my remote location a great job to use whenever I want.

On top of that I had a few questions that I sent over to the folks at RemoteRig and it came back with a quick prompt and polite reply.

I can't thank them and Elecraft enough for making the RemoteRig units work so smoothly with my K3.

Very excited, very happy, and if you are in the need for a remote setup I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone!

73's
KB0HMP
 
HB9OAB Rating: 5/5 Mar 19, 2012 07:25 Send this review to a friend
Remote w/ TS-480SAT successful  Time owned: more than 12 months
Utilizzo un remoterig con TS480 e una semplice verticale a 1000msm!
Per la qualità è come avere la radio in casa.
I ritardi sono minimi, ascolto con la radio di casa e quella remota malgrado 2x tratte in WIFI e una cablata per raggiungere il sistema remoto, inoltre con l'aggiunta di un sistema GSM di ON/OFF via SMS a 5 canali accendo e spengo quel che voglio.
Fantastico!
Prima andavo con SKYPE e due PC e qualche problema, ora con il frontalino del TS480 a casa (200msm) e la radio a 10km (1000msm) è molto semplice e divertente!

ENGLISH AUTO TRANSLATE GOOGLE:
Using remoterig with a TS480 and a simple vertical at 1000msm lacation!
For the quality is like having the radio in the house.
The delays are minimal, listening to the radio at home and remote routes with 2x WIFI link and wired to reach the remote system, also with the addition of a GSM system ON/OFF via SMS on 5 channels that turn on and turn off I want.
Cool!
Before I went with SKYPE and two PCs and a few problems now with the Remoterig + TS480 front of the home (200msm) and the radio to 10km (1000msm) is very simple and fun!

Franco, hb9oab
http://www.wlog2000.com
 
N7SG Rating: 5/5 Aug 13, 2011 06:31 Send this review to a friend
Hamming from Starbucks  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Ever wanted to take a ham radio with you wherever you went? Without the hassle of putting up an antenna? Well, now you can! With Remote Rig, it's simple matter of putting an internet connection together to connect the 'two halves' of a radio like the Kenwood TS-480SAT. Take the faceplate with you where ever you go, get on the internet, and transmit from your home station! It's a great way to have instant ham fun in places that, up to now, would be difficult. Imagine sitting at Starbucks with your Kenwood TS-480SAT carrying on a full-bore QSO...nice way to demo Amateur Radio!
Visiting your parents in a condo? No problem. Operating from somewhere that doesn't allow antennas. No problem!

With Remote Rig, you use your actual radio, not a GUI like Ham Radio Deluxe. For those of us who enjoy operating with knobs and buttons vs. mouse clicks, it's the only way to go! Bravo, Remote Rig!

Technically speaking, you'll need to configure the two Remote Rig's with IP addresses so they can talk to each other. And you'll need to configure your home router to pass the traffic between the two Remote Rig's. This is all spelled out in the pdf user guide, which you can download and take a peek at now.

From my experience, the easiest way to get a reliable internet connection from most spots is to use a 3G air card. Wi-fi hotspots are handy, too, but can fail to deliver a consistent connection. With 3G, I've experienced no problems. You can easily plug a 3G air card into a laptop and use Internet Connection Sharing (XP or Windows 7) to route the wireless 3G connection to the laptop Ethernet port. You'll need to connect an Ethernet cable between the laptop and Remote Rig VoIP box...

There is an alternative to the laptop, if you want to streamline your set up. The Zoom Model 4506 Travel Router substitutes for laptop ICS, is small, runs on batteries, and has an Ethernet port. Do a Google search on it for details...

You'll find the Remote Rig will open up a whole new world of exciting remote operating! It's the perfect marriage of ham radio and the internet! What could be better than sitting at Starbucks...with an actual radio...and carrying on a great QSO using your 3 element beam back home?

88 N7SG

 
K7FD Rating: 5/5 Jul 15, 2011 13:33 Send this review to a friend
Remote w/ TS-480SAT successful  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I purchased the Remote Rig pair from HRO earlier this week. Much of 3 evenings were spent following setup instructions, testing, and scratching my noggin. When things didn't go as expected, I got on the www.remoterig.com forum and received immediate help from Mitch DJ0QN. Thanks, Mitch!

Once connected, the circuit between the TS-480SAT control head and the transceiver base over the internet was seamless and smooth. I detected no latency between actions on the control head and corresponding reactions at the ham shack.

Things to watch for: port numbers. I had to change port numbers in the RRC configuration, such as the SIP port. This suggestion came from DJ0QN. Also, after configuring the control head, remember to switch the device over to the DHCP setting. There is an extensive pdf manual at www.remoterig.com. Read it and read it again. You'll become very familiar with your home router settings and the settings in the Remote Rigs!

In my case, the goal is to operate away from home, over the internet, back to my ham shack and antennas. With Remote Rig, if I can get an internet connection, I now have access to my system at home...

Special thanks to Martti OH2BH and his article in CQ magazine this month...about Remote Rig!

73 John K7FD
 
KP4TR Rating: 5/5 Jun 26, 2011 16:40 Send this review to a friend
A very nice product!  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Hello, I have owned 5 Remoterig's since January 2011 (3 radio and 2 control) and I am extremely happy with them. It requires knowledge of routers TCP and port forwarding, but once setup it is a breeze to use. I have used them with Kenwood TS2000, TS480 and TMD700 with no issues. I currently use 2 remote stations in Puerto Rico daily and can now keep up with local activity and do 6 meter DX from FK68 (Ponce PR). A great product!
 
DJ4KW Rating: 4/5 Jun 16, 2011 11:27 Send this review to a friend
Recommended for Remote Control  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I used Skype and VNC/VPN for remote control before. Remoterig is a big leap forward. I could leave several problems behind. Skype causes big delays, you do not recognize yourself sending CW on the air while with remoterig your own signal sounds as if it was keyed with a slow relay. CW can be keyed with a paddle while with VNC/VPN you need to type the text into a keyboard. Remoterig stays connected stable literally for days, but my remote computer with VNC/VPN had a mean time between breakdowns of some hours only. One word of warning, why I rate it only 4: Setup is very very tricky! You must know exactly what you are doing and follow the instructions by the letter, in sequence and detail. Unfortunately there are too many different configurations so the instructions can not cover all in every detail. In this respect the reflector is a big help: http://www.remoterig.com/forum/index.php
 
W9CLA Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2011 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Great Product for RV'ers  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought the RRC-1258MKII solely because I did not like using remote software that had a simulated front panel on the screen and required the use of programs like LogMEin, Hamachi, VNC and and audio program like Skype to get all of the functions working. I had been using TRX Manager and Ham Radio Deluxe and they worked fine but it did not give me the tactile feeling of actually using a radio and twisting knobs.

Enter the RRC-1258MKII not only can I use the remote detached head from my TS-480 on the road but also, I do not need a computer at the rig end to deal with. I made up a custom travel case for my setup by purchasing a “Pelican” case with the foam inserts. I have a small 2.5 amp 13.5 VDC power supply, a 12 volt 4.5AH Sealed Battery, small trickle charger, TS-480SAT head, RRC-1258MKII control box along with a small speaker. I also added a Linksys WET610N Wireless Bridge to the box. For those not familiar with a wireless bridge it takes a wireless signal from the air and outputs an Ethernet Port. This allows me to go to a Wi-Fi hot spot and work remote using the internal battery pack.

One thing I will caution you is to pay close attention to the network configuration. If you already have a server like I do (Microsoft Windows Home Server)that already uses port 80 you will need to change the default port in both units to use 8000 instead of port 80. The only tricky part about getting this setup to function properly is programming the two boxes and the port forwarding (5060, 11000, 12000, and either 80 or 8000) forwarded to 192.169.1.228 (radio end control box). You may also have to reconfigure the RC-1258MKII to work in your particular router environment depending on your brand of router. The factory default will work fine with a D-Link or Linksys (CISCO) because they use 192.168.0.XXX. I use a Netgear WNDR3700 which by default uses 192.168.1.XXX. I had to reprogram both boxes using the RRC Manager software to use 192.168.1.227 and 192.168.1.228 respectively. Not a big deal but for those of you who are uncomfortable with configuring routers you may want to get one of your buddies to do it for you.

Once all of the ports are setup, it is really magical to push the on button on the TS-480 head, and everything springs to life. I noticed no latency issues and the audio was great on both ends. I can even use it with a cell phone 3G “hot spot” using my Linksys D610H wireless bridge. This is a great setup for those of us who are RV’ers. As long as I can get a wireless signal on the road or, hook up to a cable modem I can get on the air from my home station with 1KW. I run an SPE 1K-FA 1KW auto band switching solid state linear on one of the two available serial ports on the RRC-1258MKII from home. I still use my laptop to log in to my home station to rotate my T12 Log Periodic and to crank up or down my motorized 70-foot US Tower.

I am very pleased with the setup and I also use it at our lake cabin in northern Wisconsin where we have a cable modem. With the outside WI-Fi antenna on roof of our cabin I am able to get a strong signal out to my pontoon boat on the lake. I can work DX ,catch fish and drink beer… folks, life doesn’t get any better than that!
 
K7CF Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2011 09:27 Send this review to a friend
Finally a Simple remote with NO COMPUTER  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got through hooking up the Remote Rig units to my TS480SAT. It took me about 4 hours to figure out what I needed to do. However, after I completed the set up, I feel confident that I could do the set up in 30 minutes from the time I open the box to where I power on the TS480SAT and tune the bands.
After opening the box, I needed to set the jumpers for the Mic. That required opening each box. The box of Control is where you have the remote head. The other box is Radio where you have the Base unit attached to an antenna.(The two black boxes are different, one is known as Control(has a CW speed knob) and the other is remote (no cw knob). I use a Carolina Windom that the 480SAT tunes all bands just fine. Set the Mic jumpers, the three JP1 - 3 jumbers, only one of the JP's is jumpered, the other two are not. I used the 6 pin cable from the 480sat head to the Remote Control box to plug into the control black box. I used the Kenwood mic that came with the 480sat and plugged it in the Control box. Added a 12 volt supply (requires a 1Amp wall wart). I plugged in a Bencher paddle in the Control box. The router cable from the broadband internet router plugs into the control box. Then, I attached a USB cable (not supplied) with the small USB connector on the black box end to my lap top which is attached to the internet either wireless or hard wired with a Cat 5 cable. I discovered that the Firmware was two levels down that was inside the black boxes from HRO. I downloaded the latest firmware from the www.remoterig.com website, followed the instructions and updated the firmware in the control box. I also selected the TS480 as the rig and changed the speed to 56K per the instructions. The Contol black box is complete.
Next the Radio black boxthe one that is connected to the TS480SAT that has the antenna plugged into. I attached the USB cable and Internet cable to the black box. I updated the firmware in the radio black box the same way as the control black box. I configured the radio to the TS480SAT in the radio black box changing the speed to 56K. I used the CAT5 cable supplied to connect the radio black box to the TS480S where the Mic cable used to go. I attached a stereo cable from the Pad (aks Keyer line) to the 480SAT keyer line. I atttached the Speaker out put of the 480SAT to the SP connector on the radio black box. The 12V DC to the black box came from the same power supply as the TS480SAT is attached to(no ground loop hum). I attached the Antenna to Ant 1 of the TS480SAT. Now, I am missing one cable that I had to make, buy at Radio Shack. A 6 line cable that is equal to the cable from the control black box to the head. The cable at radio shack was 6 pin (rj11/rj14/rj25) telephone line cord. 279-422 The cable is 25 feet long. I only needed six feet. The pin layout of the cable is reversed so it is necessary to cut the cable and attach a new 6 pin connector. 279-421 and make sure the color of the wire is the same as viewed from the top of the connector bl,yel,grn,red,blk,wh. I bought a tool to attach the plug with the wires in the correct sequence, takes a minute once I stripped the insulation from the cable. Do not have to strip any of the wires. The crimping tool attaches the 6 wires to the plug. I plugged this radio shack cable in the six pin connector that normally went to the TS480SAT head into the black box. I attached the Internet Cat 5 cable and hit the power up button at the TS480SAT head. The radio came to life, all functions worked on the TS480SAT. I tried CW and you can either use the internal keyer in the ts480sat (DEFAULT) or you can use the Key input of the built in keyer of the Control black box. I use the internal keyer in the TS480SAT.
CW seems to be working fine, but not enough to report as yet as my CW is a bit rusty. I did notice that sometimes the CW dits would continue on without me touching the key, not sure if it is a problem with my cable or the key yet.
Antenna tuner tunes the Carolina Windom on all bands and audio reports are good. I used the processor as 100 Watts can be hard to copy withou a little push.
So, the bottom line of this set up is:
NO COMPUTER ON EITHER END IS NEEDED TO GET THE TS480SAT TO FUNCTION REMOTELY.
NO BILL GATES WINDOWS LOCKUPS AND REBOOTS.
NO COMPUTER ON EITHER END IS REQUIRED ONCE THE BLACK BOXES ARE SET UP.
ALL FIRMWARE IN THE BLACK BOXES AND IF POWER IS LOST, THE FIRMWARE RESETS BACK TO NORMAL, NO LOST PROGRAM.
Possible future is adding a solid state amp and automatic antenna tuner.

I don't know if I will ever go into a nursing home or live in some stinking antenna restricted condo as I "mature". But I am sure we all know a Senior, in a nursing home that would love to get back on the air to talk to his friends. All he would need is a broadband internet connection the remote head of the TS480, a 12 V 1A wall wort, some cables, a key, and a microphone, and maybe a headset (no speaker is required as the TS480 has one built into the control head) and that is it. He could hide this set up in an end table by his bed. When he wants to operate, pull out the head, hit the power on button, put his head set on, even a Heil headset if the adapter from kenwood is purchased, and he is on the air, thanks to some ham or relative who has the remote end of the TS480SAT attached via internet to an all band antenna.
I always wanted to have a remote, but the weakest link, a computer required, always stopped me. This $500 unit solves that problem.
Highly recommened, 8 hours after hook up if you want to have some fun running remote from China to your hamshack.
This unit can also be hooked up to a TS2000 remotely then six through 440 MHZ is possible. All rigs, perhaps requiring a little more jumpering and set up are listed on the remoterig.com website.
 
VK5CP Rating: 5/5 Nov 11, 2010 20:35 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have been using Remote Rig for about three weeks now. I started out using an Icom706 but found that the Kenwood TS480 was a better option. Making up the remote cable from the Icom cable is expensive and the tinsel wire is hard to work with. The TS480 uses RJ connectors which is much easier, has a bigger display and is on special at the moment with a $300 factory rebate!, plus the $AUD is strong. I had some issues connecting at the start which I found were due to a suboptimal battery voltage to the base unit radio. Make sure its 13.8 not 12.3!

Now that the supply issue has been sorted and my router and Remote Rig unit are properly configured properly (took some help from my elmer) it works perfectly. I use dyndns to deal with my non-static IP issues.

The internet connection at the remote end is bandwidth limited (its coming from a 2.4GHz wiress link over about 30km) and I have reduced the VOIP setting to minimum. I still get great audio reports.

Next trick is to get it going mobile via the Mobile Phone data net work. This will solve my common rail fuel injection RFI issues and let me use a big antenna whilst 'mobile'

I have found it uses about 1Gb of data per 24 hours.

Next task is to use com ports to control accessories and wait for Web Operation switch to arrive from Sweden.

This is my third remote setup, the lack of reliance on PC's is a big step forward in reliability.

VK5CP
 
PD0PSB Rating: 5/5 Sep 16, 2010 12:28 Send this review to a friend
Audio now perfect!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
An update to my previous review: the VOIP audio has been updated with a variable audio HPF down to 82hz.
Great "full" audio now, even for broadcast listening.

Also 2 ADPCM codecs have been implemented for low datarate connections.

Updates to the units were simply done by a firmware update.

Thanks people at Microbit!
 
<— Page 2 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.