eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Third-party Equipment | IK2RND REPLACEMENT ICOM RAMBOARD Help


Reviews Summary for IK2RND REPLACEMENT ICOM RAMBOARD
IK2RND REPLACEMENT ICOM RAMBOARD Reviews: 18 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $$60.00 includes shipping
Description: An easy to install remedy for the ICOM volitile frequency assignment and memory troubles. No need to send your radio back to ICOM for reprogramming due to a dead battery. "The EPROM/RAMBOARD card directly replaces the ICOM RAM UNIT EX-314 and EX-314 # 01. No soldering is needed and the frequency coverage is extended from 10 KHz to 30.9 MHz (for HF Rigs) and for the IC-271 2 meter radio, the range is extended to 42.400-153.990 MHz".
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.qsl.net/ah6rh/am-radio/ik2rnd-icom-ramboard.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the IK2RND REPLACEMENT ICOM RAMBOARD.

Page 1 of 2 —>

G3EJS Rating: 5/5 Jul 27, 2013 09:30 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Extremely helpful and quick answering initial enquiries, easy payment and very quick delivery.

It takes ten times longer to remove and replace the case screws than it does to replace the board.
As is mentioned in the instructions, care is needed to line up the pins, otherwise completely straight forward.

Overall, faultless service and an excellent product.

Thanks Roberto
 
CT4ED Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2012 13:29 Send this review to a friend
CT4ED  Time owned: months
Ainda não tenho a RAMBOARD IK2RND para o ICOM IC-751A, mas sei que é muito bom.
Alguem me ajuda a fazer o pedido?

Agradeço
 
KA4POL Rating: 5/5 Jun 15, 2012 11:31 Send this review to a friend
A really smart solution  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Even though the original RAM in my IC-1271A was in perfect working condition after an unbelievable 25 years without battery replacement I decided to go for this replacement.
The exchange was not difficult and after the board was correctly seated the rig was in perfect working condition.
It is recommended to exchange the battery on the new board after about five years. However, this requires some kind of reset using a connection to the main board in the rig.
So I'll try to avoid that by replacing the battery by hooking up a new one in parallel before removing the old one, just as one would have to do with the original board.
Needless to say that all required data for hooking up the reset button, which is not supplied, are provided.
The removal of the battery can be a bit touchy. So one will have to make sure not to short the battery with the soldering iron. More about that in over 5 years.
 
N6DC Rating: 5/5 Apr 21, 2011 14:05 Send this review to a friend
Exceptional Product  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wanted to put my barely used ICOM R-71A that I bought back in 1991 back in operation. Unfortunately, the RAM board memory was blown rendering the receiver non-functional. I searched eHam and found the IK2RND replacement RAM board sold by Roberto Nardo. This unit is sold as a direct plug-in replacement for the original ICOM RAM board but is superior in that the RAM code responsible for booting-up the receiver is non-volatile (i.e., will hold its memory even if the back-up memory battery fails).

Although this replacement RAM board does have a back-up memory battery, this battery backs up only the user-defined settings (e.g., the memory channels) which can be easily reprogrammed if the battery fails. The important thing is that a battery failure will not cause the R-71A to become non-functional (as is the case with the original ICOM RAM board, where a RAM battery failure requires that the receiver be returned to ICOM for RAM reprogramming).

The module appears to have been designed and built to best commercial practices. In addition, the circuit board appears to have been professionally laid-out. The installation instructions are clear, concise, and unambiguous.

As of March 2011 this product was still available. I paid Roberto $54 for the unit plus $12 for air shipment. Roberto responded promptly to my e-mail inquiries and shipped the unit immediately after receipt of the PayPal payment. I think that this is an excellent product and believe that $66 is a very modest price to restore this fine R-71A receiver to better-than-new condition. I strongly recommend this product to any R-71A owner.
 
TREKKER308 Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2009 10:07 Send this review to a friend
Great product, friendly service!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've been meaning to get a replacement board for my much loved R71E for some time, and I finally plumped for ordering Roberto Nardo's. The result was friendly service from Roberto and I very quickly received a well made board which was extremely easy to install.

The set fired up fine from the start with no problems - now I can relax and continue to enjoy the R71 for years to come.

Well done Roberto, and many thanks!
 
19DIG252 Rating: 5/5 Sep 28, 2008 03:18 Send this review to a friend
Great solution, great relief!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
After trying to replace the battery of the ram unit in my IC-R71E the receiver did not function anymore: it only made a buzzing sound and crazy figures appeared on the display. Big trouble!
After ordering Roberto Nardo’s ramboard, it arrived very fast, well packed with very clear instructions.
The board itself looks really beautiful, very neatly built.
To my big relief Roberto’s board proved to be the solution. Boy, was I happy with that!!
An extra bonus is the fact that the range of the receiver is extended. It’s really worth every cent.
Although he denies it, I think that Roberto is a genius. Thanks a lot for your wonderful contribution to the radio-community!
 
PY4VFO Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2008 11:37 Send this review to a friend
THE BEST!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The circuit is fantastic, easy to install, outstanding replacement.

Good job, Roberto...!!!
 
VK5FHAM Rating: 5/5 May 28, 2008 15:53 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is so simple to install, works fantastic, i purchased this for my 751A and im so impressed i am going to order one for a 271H im about to purchase, As far as dealing with Roberto, it was a hassle free transaction and a great pleasure to deal with also the response time to get it to my door here in Australia was very quick.

Thanks again Roberto.

VK5FHAM.
 
K6ELQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 7, 2008 09:31 Send this review to a friend
Grande!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Great product! Plug it in and it works. No more worries about losing radio functionality when the stock battery backed RAM goes dumb because of a dead backup battery. Mine was installed in a 1271A even though the stock battery was still working after 22 years. This unit also contains a battery but it is used only for the memory backup, not radio firmware. It brings a peace of mind knowing your radio will work when you turn it on.
 
WAUG Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2008 05:08 Send this review to a friend
Back from the DEAD  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased old dead ICOM-271H for $20.00 found out the only thing wrong was memory board was dead.
IK2RND replacement was just the fix. Works great with extra coverage. Easy to install, Excellent service too. Thanks for a great product. WB8ZRQ
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.