eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antenna Analyzers | Feature Tech AW07A HF-VHF-UHF Antenna Analyzer Help


Reviews Summary for Feature Tech AW07A HF-VHF-UHF Antenna Analyzer
Feature Tech    AW07A HF-VHF-UHF Antenna Analyzer Reviews: 15 Average rating: 4.3/5 MSRP: $229
Description: The AW07A SWR analyzer is a compact battery powered RF impedance analyzer.
This unit combines six basic circuits:a variable oscillator, frequency counter,Independent Oscillator, 50 ohm RF bridge, a 8-bit A-D converter, and microcontroller. This unit performs a wide variety of useful antenna and RF impedance measurements,including Capacitance and Inductance.
The operating frequency range of this unit extends from 1.8 to 490MHz SWR measurements. Special designed for analyzing 50ohm antenna.
The AW07A also measure RF impedances between a few ohms and several hundred ohms.
An easily accessed user controlled Z setting in the ADVANCED function menus allows changing SWR to any normalized impedance value between 10 and 500 ohms.
The AW07A also functions as a non-precision signal source and frequency counter.
The operating frequency range of this unit extends from 1.5 to 71 MHz in six overlapping bands, and includes SWR measurements on 85-185MHz ,300-490 MHz.

Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.hamradioinfinity.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Feature Tech AW07A HF-VHF-UHF Antenna Analyzer.

<— Page 2 of 2

PA0FRI Rating: 4/5 Jan 26, 2011 05:35 Send this review to a friend
Good buy  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I also purchased it from eBay. The vendor being BD5RT and it was delivered from a UK address to the Netherlands without import taxes. It was well packaged, double boxed in plain boxes. Inside the last box the unit was inside a clear plastic bag and held firm in the box by purpose cut expanded polystyrene type padding.
My experience after a few months experimenting:
Looks: attractive
Operation: easy
Ranges: Advanced (1.5 - 501 MHz)
Stability:
6m: the last two digits are not stable
2m: the last three digits are not stable
70cm: idem
Test frequency counter (figure on display):
Counter AW07A: 151.312/313 MHz
Counter FC1200: 151.3116 MHz
LC measurements not yet tested
Did I regret the purchase: no, therefore I sold my Autek Research RF1 analyzer
Review: a good buy compared to more expensive analyzers with the same features.
 
ZL1PR Rating: 4/5 Aug 15, 2010 16:24 Send this review to a friend
great for the price  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Brought in NZ for NZD$349

Got it this morning, opened the box, plugged 12v in and away I went.

Since I am pretty new to the Antenna Analyser business, I thought the instructions were a little hard to understand. I found a later version on the net.

I will say that I didnt read the specs well enough. Missed that it didnt do impedance for 70cm but in saying that it will do what I want on HF/VHF.

Liked the price!
 
GD1MIP Rating: 5/5 Jul 24, 2010 14:27 Send this review to a friend
Verdict, buy it and save a lot of money over the competition.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months

Feature Tech AW07A analyser

Whate the maker claims:
Band Coverage : 160m,80m,40m, 20/30m,10/15m, 6m,2m, 70cm Additional Feature: Frequency Counter RF Output Level : 2Vpp SWR Range : 1~9.9 Impedance Range: 10~500ohm Battery : 8 * AA Alkaline Battery External Power : DC 10.8~12V Power Consumption : < 150mA (HF Bands, B/L Off) < 165mA (VU Bands, B/L Off)
A: 1.5-2.7 MHz
B: 2.5-4.8 MHz
C: 4.6-9.6 MHz
D: 8.5-18.7 MHz
E: 17.3-39 MHz
F: 33.7-71 MHz
VHF:85-185MHz continuous
UHF: 300-490MHz continuous

I purchased it from eBay for £140. The vendor being BD5RT. I wanted an MFJ unit but was struggling to afford or indeed justify the near £400 cost of the HF to UHF unit. So the cost of the AW07A was very tempting.
It was delivered from a UK address (no import taxes like other eBay buys) in 7 days. It was well packaged, double boxed in plain brown boxes. Inside the last box the unit was inside a clear plastic bag and held firm in the box by purpose cut expanded polystyrene type padding. So far so good. No paperwork or instructions were included though.
Initial impressions were good. The unit is about the same size as the MFJ259 type units, the outer case is a black coloured painted alloy box with all switches / controls on the front panel. The antenna connector is a female N connector on the top. It certainly appeared tough. The LCD screen is soft to touch so does not have a hard plastic cover, easily rectified by the DIYer.

I located an English language user guide on the web, It printed out as 6 pages of A4 paper. To be fair it was quite a good effort, given its non English origins.
http://vk4ajj.com/cubecart/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=840
http://cid-1c3ac262c3f8ddac.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/.Documents/AW07A%5E_Instruction%5E_Manual.pdf

The unit is powered by 8 AA batteries or a front mounted DC supply socket (power supply not included). The battery holder is located inside the main case, requiring the user to remove 4 screws and split the case to install the batteries, exposing the PCB, not ideal. The battery holder is a standard unit with an on/off switch on its side. On my unit the switch was hidden from view by its fixing method and in the off position on delivery. This I considered to be a production error preventing the unit working but it was easily rectified.

In use.
Obviously the battery ‘switch’ caused me some difficulties; I found the unit works like other similar analysers. I found its useable range to be 1.497 to 506.894 MHz (as displayed) this is more than adequate for my needs. There is a gap in the coverage from 71 to 85 MHz, but again this does not affect my use. I found the unit drifts slightly in use, i.e. whilst checking an antenna on 70 MHz I found the frequency drifted by approximately =/- 250 Hz. This drift took a few minutes and was slow enough to be of little consequence given the amateur use of the unit.
The frequency counter is also useful as a test tool.

So what’s good?
1. It works.
2. Low price.
3. Email backup from manufacturer.

What’s bad?
1. Drift.
2. Quality control.
3. Lack of hard cover on LCD.
4. No manual / guide included.

Verdict, buy it and save a lot of money over the competition.


Andy GD1MIP

 
XE1XNP Rating: 5/5 May 23, 2010 11:54 Send this review to a friend
Excelente analizador la mayor bentaja en cuanto a costo-benefic  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Hola soy Ricardo de Mexico, puedo decirles que la primer impresión es un excelente producto de manufactura China que a pesar de el miedo que existe de los productos Chinos yo les aseguro que es de una calidad muy superior a su directo competido MFJ que aunque se dice ser "Americano" el dueño es de origen Chino creo es el señor Lee, así que dejemos y hagamos a un lado el prejuicio de lo "made in China" Ya que para algunos tambien es sabido que MFJ sólo es un "Re-Branding" de muchas marcas y productos Chinos.
(Lo siento para los segudores de MFJ y que reniegan de los Chinos)

Bien el analizador es muy sencillo de operar, no tiene switch mecanicos paera cambiar bandas como el MFJ 259 ó el 269 en sus caracteristicas de operacion cubre perfectamente desde 1.5 mhz hasta 72 mhz y de 85-190 mhz continuos así en UHF que es una ventaja principal contra su competidor cubre desde 250 hasta 502 mhz algunas versiones varian el rango asegurado es en VHF de 85 a 185 mhz y de 300 a 490 mhz.

Sus botones para cambio de funciones son de buena calidad así como el dial de sintonia que incluye un practico seguro.

Incluye un practico frecuencimetro para referencia sólamente ya que no es de precisión, además incluye un medidor de intencidad de campo con medidor de milivolts que cuando se está muy cerca de la señal llega al tope de 1500 mv e indica la pantalla "strong danger" para así evitar dañar nuestro analizador.

Especificaciones:

Cobertura de bandas amateur : 160m,80/75m,60,40m,20/30m,10/12/15/17m,6m,2m, 70cm
Caracteristica adicional: Frecuencimetro
Salida de potencia de RF : 2Vpp 80-100mw
Rango de medida de SWR(ROE) : 1~9.9
Rango de Inpedancia: 10~500ohm
Baterias : 8 * AA pilas alcalinas
Voltaje externo : DC 10.8~12V
Consumo de corriente : < 150mA (Bandas HF, con luz de fondo de diaply apagado) < 165mA (VU Bands, con luz de fondo de display apagado)

Los botones tipo switch seleccionan el rango de la frecuencia interna del oscilador. (Con un ligero margen mayor ):

HF: (1.6-65MHz) en 6 segmentos:
A: 1.5-2.7 MHz
B: 2.5-4.8 MHz
C: 4.6-9.6 MHz
D: 8.5-18.7 MHz
E: 17.3-39 MHz
F: 33.7-71 MHz
VHF:85-185MHz continuos
UHF: 300-490MHz continuos


Ventajas:

1.-Menor precio en relación costo-beneficio-caracteristicas en comparación al MFJ 259,269 y 269B
2.-Diseño mas bonito y de menor tamaño.
3.-Botones de buena calidad (comparados con los push button rojos horribles del MFJ)
4.-Cuenta con pantalla retroiluminada de gran iluminación y facíl lectura.
5.-Indica en las bandas HF y VHF la inpedancia, rectancia y capacitancia.(en UHF sólo muestra SWR númerico y una barra en referencia a esta)
6.-Garantia de 1 año directa con su creador



Caracteristicas a mejorar:

1.-Falta un diseño de funda o un tipo hule como algunos wattmetros Daiwa para su conservación.

2.-Reubicación en la parte de arriba (aunque falta espacio por el diseño) o abajo (ahí si hay espacio) del conector para corriente externa.

3.-Algunos analizadores AW07A incluyen un inpractico conector "N" Macho (las últimas versiones ya tienen el estandar conector "N Hembra")

4.-Una caja de empaque especialmente diseñada, con rotulos. Sólo por imagen (aunque esto aumentaria su costo de producción)

Y dado que mi analizador cubre desde 250 mhz hasta 502 mhz sería muy bueno que se pudiera aumentar su margen hasta 220 mhz para cubrir la banda de 1.25 metros, yo le escribí a su diseñador Jeffrey BA5WA pero me comenta que el oscilador no llega hasta 220 mhz.


Modificaciones por usuario:

1.-Instalación de una bateria de litio de 12V a 4.8 amp, 6.8 amp ó 9.6 amp. En mi caso le instalé la de 6.8 amp y es muy comodo ya que le dura bastante tiempo esta bateria.

2.-Gomas de protección en la base y parte trasera para protección contra rayaduras.



Así en general el analizador creado por el amigo Jeffrey BA5WA es muy superior en cuanto a costo-beneficio comparado con su directo competidor MFJ.

Saludos de
Ricardo
XE1XNP
 
IK5DNE Rating: 5/5 May 18, 2010 10:25 Send this review to a friend
Good, inexpensive Antenna Analyzer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I buy the AW analyzer new on Ebay from UK and I just finish to test my antenna system with it. Very friendly black box with two row display, small and simple to use on field or roof. It is very robust and save me a lot of time to find the problem I have on my 4 el. beam KLM. Running with 8 cell of 1,5v or ext. power supply 10.8 to 12 vcc. Much, much better under all points respect the orrible MFJ 259B I have before, I fixed the meter two time to it with superglue, very poor MFJ Q.C.
No any problems, at the moment, with RF front end but, however, I put in short the antenna connector before I plug it in the antenna analyzer.
At the end of the story I can recommend it, it is less expensive respect to all competitor I know and it is fine, exactly I need.
Of course I have not any interest in the Feature Tech Company, only I have find an honest antenna analyzer.
Have a good propagation.
IK5DNE, Pier-Giorgio
 
<— Page 2 of 2


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.