eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF models) | Yaesu FT-100D Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-100D
Yaesu FT-100D Reviews: 190 Average rating: 4.2/5 MSRP: $1,200.00
Description: HF MOBILE
Product is not in production.
More info: http://yaesu.hamgear.eu/ft-100.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-100D.

<— Page 2 of 19 —>

VE3FST Rating: 5/5 Mar 29, 2011 19:35 Send this review to a friend
Awesome DX Radio in a small package !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use my FT100D all the time on HF . I have talked everywhere in the world with many compliments on this radio . I use it as a mobile station also sometimes . I'd tell anyone to purchase one of these in a heart beat . 73's Peter
 
W8NIC Rating: 5/5 Dec 22, 2010 10:02 Send this review to a friend
FANTASTIC  Time owned: more than 12 months
just a follow up since my last review (Jan. 2009).
almost 2 years of daily use and it's still a great performer, mostly cw. nice and compact both for home and mobile, quieter than my 706mkiig which i sold already, smaller screen not an issue.
this radio just keeps on ticking.
2 meter works just fine and so does 440.
as i said in my last review, i will never get rid of this.
 
KG6EPI Rating: 5/5 Nov 20, 2010 23:09 Send this review to a friend
Excellent radio.  Time owned: more than 12 months
This is a great little radio for any ham to own.
 
WA9Z Rating: 5/5 Jul 20, 2010 12:53 Send this review to a friend
Good mobile set.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought used with no RF power on V/UHF, and drawing about 2.5A keyed. On bench found heat stress crack at the solder joint of U/V driver output. Repaired that, enabled the wideband TX jumper settings, installed the AM filter and touched up the alignment. Has been flawless for 4 years now. I operate HF/V/U, SSB/CW&FM mobile. It's a blast with an FT-100. I think these radios get the bad rap from windbags that get on repeaters with it running full power and proceed to carry on with half hour dissertations of drivel that render about 12 seconds of useful information, then deposit the same drivel here via keyboard because they babble cooked a radio designed for 50% duty cycle.(owners manual Page 59) I find the supplemental DSP and filtering to be adequate in hostile mobile environments, decent menus with plenty of useful whiz-bang, and a great value. If you are considering one of these now discontinued sets for all band use, confirm its got full power out on the upper bands. Decks with no V/U RF output should be checked for the above mentioned failure condition. I have had a few come in with this issue that were condemned by "service centers" as having a bad final, which by the way, is no longer available. Just keep its limitations in perspective and you'll have a good return on the money.
 
OK1RP Rating: 5/5 Jul 14, 2010 08:55 Send this review to a friend
Very good performance...  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am using the FT-100D for 2 years on portable.

Pros:
- quiet receiver (really unbelievable)
- DSP really works
- additional 300Hz filter
- enough size of the main tuning knob (colatte it to 817...)
- compact size

Cons:
- fan mod needed (older ver.)
- PSU voltage sensitive (watch to not go under 12.2V)
- phones/key jack allocation is distressful
- creaky removable front panel (in my case)

It offer very good performance if You have respect to it's compact size, wide bands/modes capability and imperative compromise design !

Compare to other mobiles I am rating it 5.

73 - Petr, OK1RP
 
K7ABE Rating: 5/5 May 11, 2010 00:57 Send this review to a friend
Best Mobile Ever!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought my 2nd FT-100D about a year ago. My first one is still in the Metro with a homebrew amp. The 400W to 800W with a resonate antenna lets me talk to friends regularly while several states away. My first one has no issues (except a loose ground on my amp caused RF in the display until I tightened the ground from the amp to the car body). The first FT-100D has a small speaker and I use an external (old Motorola) beside my head and the XYL stays happy. The 2nd one has a larger speaker with the case raised slightly around it and it gets hot while using the squelch. Not worth me doing the mod yet as it lives on 75m most of the time. I did notice a distorted sound for a while and it seemed to be a few KCs off frequency but them I found the homebrew 2m antenna in the ice chest. Once I put it back on the roof the problem went away (The fact that I used it with the antenna in the plastic ice chest a couple weeks shows how tough these rigs are). The key seems to be in keeping a low SWR.
If you are willing to compromise performance for convenience the 706MIIG plays well with the A3 or A4 tuner, much better than Yaesus do with their tuners. The FT10D hears better and has a near static free receive. And with the needed amp on 75m the A3 and A4 is, well, for different folks. I use a ball mount in the roof with resonate antennas at 12% to 15% efficiency (donít laugh, these are real numbers, a screwdriver or whip with a tuner is 4% to 8% efficient, less if not roof mounted). The FT100Dís receive is to hot for great shack use and tends to overload even with the preamp off and the attenuator on (again, 75m experience). But for mobile use I have found none better. Its replacement, the FT857 comes close but not too close. Once you get used too the sub menus navigation is easy while driving.
If you find one for sale it may be an early model with issues, as the folks with the good ones would not part with them. I got the 2nd one for my brother and it is in my truck HI HI.
 
AE6PN Rating: 4/5 Feb 15, 2010 01:53 Send this review to a friend
quite receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using FT-100D on mostly CW 3.5MHz to 21MHz.
since I mostly used on CW, I change the hidden menu setting to make maximum power to 180 to 200 W.
I had a chance to compare IC-7000 side by side.
FT-100D is much quieter radio, and audio DSP on FT-100D work much better than IC-7000's
then , I compare 100Hz band width of IC-7000's verses 500Hz stock analog CW filter on FT-100D.
on IC-7000 even with 100Hz DSP filter, back ground noise level is higher than FT-100D with 500Hz.
then I went to listen some SSB on 7MHz rug chewer who has constant signal strength.
with IC-7000 when I use Noise Reduction, noise disappear but also voice disappear too. with FT-100D since back ground noise is lower, it is more distinguishable.
I guess receiver need to have low back ground noise , I only compare those two, but I am sure there are quieter receiver than FT-100D out there.
 
KR5N Rating: 5/5 Jun 29, 2009 07:46 Send this review to a friend
Tough, long-lasting  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the FT-100D, FC-20 antenna tuner, and ATAS-100 new from Yaesu. I got a four-magnet "H" shaped antenna mount and put the rig and antenna in my S-10.

Yes, I had the "loss of TX power" problem and I sent the radio back to Yaesu for repair. It was quickly done. It was under warranty. No problems since then. I've never opened the radio myself.

After the one warranty repair, the radio worked flawlessly. I made QSOs on all the bands from 40m - 440MHz on all modes, even a few CW QSOs while I was parked at my campsite. I even worked Venezuela on 40m SSB one evening.

The ATAS is rugged. I once drove under a covered driveway but the whip on the ATAS just sprang right back and went on working.

I had Larsen 1/4 wave whips on 2M and 440MHz. I had to use a duplexer to separate VHF / UHF signals for the 1/4 waves. There were 3 antennas on the roof of my S-10. No problems with interaction between them.

In my opinion, the 6m operation using the ATAS was sort of a compromise, but I did make some QSOs with it, and I don't know if the performance was good or bad since I don't have anything to compare it with.

The general coverage receive is terrific, I listened to SWBC transmissions while stuck in traffic jams.

I was able to take several trips and stay in touch with my favorite HF nets all the way. I am glad I had such a reliable radio with the ATAS that completely took away the hassles of tuning mobile antennas.

Well, the S-10 has been sold. I owned it for 18 years and it has broken down and left me stranded several times, and now that I've moved into a mountainous region its little 2.8 Liter engine just isn't enough, so good riddance to the old truck. I took the FT-100D inside and now I use it as my "emergency" radio -- I have a 12V battery on a float charger to run it. It is bolted to a shelf along with an external speaker -- a vintage 1970's Motorola mobile speaker. Once a week, we have our local emergency net on 80m and I power up the FT-100D to check in. I also use the FT-100D as my main 6m rig, connecting it to a GP-15 triband vertical (6m, 2m, and 440MHz). Since the FT-100D has two antenna leads, one for (HF + 6m) and the other for (2m + 440MHz), that arrangement didn't fit the antennas I had. I rigged up a system of two duplexers so that I could feed my HF vertical (160m - 10m) with one coax and the GP-15 with the other coax. This system is working well. I am on top of a local hill and I can work many repeaters and I've even done some Es on 6m SSB.

It's serving as a great utility rig, I have the base station tuner and I can quickly get on any band, any frequency. Sorta like "Ninja Radio" --- Strike Anywhere, Anytime! Hai!

Any bad points? Menu System, must be patient to find the item you want to adjust. I wish the CW keyer speed menu was calibrated in WPM. There is some confusion over what is locked when you press the "lock" button, and what stays locked when you change bands. Also, when you use the small knob to QSY, does the frequency go back to a rounded-off value (such as xxx.00) or not? And it seems the tuning steps behave inconsistently. It also draws power any time the power cable is connected to 12V. This would eventually discharge your battery if you didn't run the vehicle for a while (weeks? months?). I used Power Pole connectors to disconnect the radio when not in use.

Summary, I love the radio and I don't foresee it going obsolete. It's been a terrific mobile radio and now it's serving as a great base radio.
Yaesu could fix most of my complaints with a software update, but you bet they have newer more expensive radios to sell and they won't be spending any more time on this one, so live with it! I haven't been bitten by the bug to operate HF mobile any more, but if I decide to, I will use the FT-100D. If you find one in the used market, working well, with the manual, grab it.
 
KG6MZS Rating: 5/5 May 2, 2009 10:13 Send this review to a friend
Bulletproof  Time owned: more than 12 months
Disclaimers: My FT-100D is only HF rig I have ever owned. I got it used from a guy who once worked as a tech for Yaesu and went through it and tuned it up and adjusted it before I got it.

I was skeptical when I got this radio 5 years ago. I had heard the horror stories of the FT100. The radio had a dent in the case and this one had been a reject from Yaesu's service department. I'm guessing it had been in a car wreck or something.

That was 5 years and over 7000 QSOs ago. I've worked 140 countries with a wire in the trees, in the depths of sunspot cycle 23, and the little beast just keeps on ticking. I love this radio. I have mostly worked SSB and digital modes with it. Easily the best $450 bucks I've ever spent in the hobby. I've used to for Field Day every year. I've taken it to the YL's adobe in New Mexico. This one is as robust a device as I could wish for.

I realize that my case is probably exceptional but I felt a need to stand up for this little radio. It interfaces with my computer extremely well via the CAT and DATA jacks and takes up very little space in my (very small) shack.

I know my lack of experience with other radios makes this review suspect, but this radio really opened the door to the low bands for this ham. I think it is a miraculous machine - truly a wonder of modern engineering that continues to play well with the modern modes of operation.

73 de Eric, KG6MZS
 
N4WSH Rating: 5/5 Apr 10, 2009 18:56 Send this review to a friend
Picked One Up Used  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently picked a FT-100D up used but in excellent condition. I bought it after reading reviews here on eHam, but also a Yahoo users group where many of the members stated they preferred it over the 857D and 897D. (Plus for me the price was right too) Over all I have been very pleased with the radio. I did the microphone mod and members on our local repeater noticed a difference immediately. I may do the other mods eventually, but for now the radio is working out just fine.
 
<— Page 2 of 19 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.