- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF Portable (not mobile) | AlexLoop Walkham Portable HF Small Magnetic Loop Antenna Help

Reviews Summary for AlexLoop Walkham Portable HF Small Magnetic Loop Antenna
AlexLoop Walkham Portable HF Small Magnetic Loop Antenna Reviews: 67 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $129-299 USD
Description: The AlexLoop Walkham is a Small Magnetic Loop Antenna designed by Alex - PY1AHD after nine years of field tests with more than 800 confirmed QRP DXs.
The new model goes on a small cushioned bag designed to accommodate 3 small 15 inches pieces that can be easily assembled and disassembled in less than a minute.
It has a registered record on 17 meters on the Hall of Fame of the Hfpack group - connected to a FT817 QRP transceiver.
It is the ultimate solution for those hams who loves to be on the air anytime and anywhere and for those living with limited space.
It covers continuously any frequency between 7 MHz to 30 MHz and can be quickie and easily installed on a window or a balcony. And can go to your vacation or business travel.
It is so light that you can even walk and talk holding in your hand while tune it with your thumb.
The maximum recommended power is 20 watts SSB or 10 watts AM/FM
Product is in production.
More info:
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the AlexLoop Walkham Portable HF Small Magnetic Loop Antenna.

<— Page 2 of 7 —>

N4SAX Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2015 17:41 Send this review to a friend
Great Performer!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wholeheartedly echo all the other "5" reviews here! I received the Alexloop Walkham for Xmas. I first assembled it inside my shack and easily made 3 stateside contacts (MD, PA, and OK) - all on the first call! Very easy to set up and tune and really hears well! I then took the Alexloop Walkham and my IC-703 to a local park and had a blast with easy contacts with PA (W1AW/3 back-to-back on 15/20 meters!), CA, AZ, and NC. If you would like to see the antenna and IC-703 in action, just do an internet search for "Alexloop Xmas" and you will find my video on Youtube. All in all, I am highly satisfied with this great little portable antenna. I also purchased the Vivitar 1250 50" lightweight tripod, which fits neatly inside the Alexloop case. If you remove the camera platform attachment from the Vivitar tripod, the Alexloop will fit neatly over the remaining stem. Note: You should mark and stop the tripod's riser at about 4" so you don't allow too much of the riser stem to protrude/extend into the Alexloop's bottom tube. Bottom line: The AlexLoop Walkham is a GREAT QRP antenna!
AD7QQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2015 21:03 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Antenna  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased the AlexLoop Walkham about 3 months ago as an alternative to the vertical multiband antenna I had used for SOTA but which could not tune the WARC bands. I was very pleased at the ease of setup and ease in tuning. The whole package was easy to add to my Icom 703 backpack settup even with the tripod. The selectivity of the magnetic loop antenna helped with loud stations on weekend contest days (my most common SOTA days as well). I could easily hit the midwest and southwest from Northern Idaho on 5 watts and felt that it was much more sensitive than the vertical. I set it up in my living room next to the wood stove and recliner chair and did PSK during the Christmas holidays and it worked great despite being indoors. I found the quieter the environment the easier it was to tune, but a good set of headphones would probably have overcome that minor issue. It truly takes about 45 seconds to tune the antenna to your operating frequency and I never had to deal with worse than a 1:2 SWR, and usually was better. I have used it on 7, 10, 14, 18, 21, and 28 MHZ with success. While expensive, I feel it was worth the investment and I have had a blast using it.
K1PMA Rating: 4/5 Dec 28, 2014 15:34 Send this review to a friend
Good alternative when space is at a premium  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Got this antenna because I wanted to see how good a magnetic loop antenna is in practice. Setup is easy and workmanship of the Alexloop is decent. Note that the max power is 20W SSB or 10W AM! You don't want to destroy your new toy inadvertently. Tuning is like this: you turn the knob for loudest signal (or just noise floor) and then you key up your radio and minutely (as in really teeny tiny increments) readjust for lowest SWR. This is why I did not give 5 stars, you need a pretty steady hand to find the exact sweet spot. Oh yes, and do not use/bypass any ATU you might have. I compared the Alexloop to several antennas i have in use: a G5RV up 25ft., a end fed wire almost 40ft up and a 30ft random wire with a 9:1 UNUN up about 15ft.

The Alexloop cannot beat the G5RV or the end-fed, which is OK and no surprise. The performance is more or less in line with a properly deployed random wire/buddipole. On some occasions the loop will be better, other times not. The loop has a certain degree of directionality which is a plus. While some say it performs better when held horizontally for DX I found vertical be be better, at least when close to the ground. Wish the loop could handle at least 50W as QRP-ish TX is not always an option.

Take care to never touch the two loop connectors which are basically just PL259, I keyed up with 20W while just barely touching one and smoking flesh was the result!

Overall I think the loop is another great tool for a ham's mobile operation.
K4EQ Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2014 06:40 Send this review to a friend
Impressive!  Time owned: more than 12 months
There's not much I can add to what's already been said, but I can certainly affirm that this is a really neat, portable antenna. I'm not a backpacker but I work a lot of QRP. MY purpose for buying the AlexLoop was to have a backup in case I lost my R8 vertical in a storm in the winter. When I had knee replacement surgery a year ago and couldn't get to my downstairs shack, I put it in my bedroom and made several contacts in the midwest and west coast using my Elecraft K1 at 5 watts. This past summer I used it on our deck one afternoon and made a few more contacts at 5 watts. Then, with my batteries running low, I lowered the power to 3 watts, called CQ, and was answered by a G3 (England) station on 17 meters. That's certainly not exotic DX, but it was pretty cool given my setup.

The AlexLoop is the only magnetic loop antenna I've used, so I can't compare it to others. However, I must say that it is everything I hoped it would be and more. It's an impressive little gem.
M0GNA Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2014 05:02 Send this review to a friend
Magic  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am more than impressed with the AlexLoop.It so easy to get it up and running.Tuning it is simple just use your ears and then just give a tweek one way or the other to flatten the SWR.I have only used it indoors and have still managed to work many European stations with just 5 watts with my FT 817nd getting good reports on all bands.I look forward to a field trip.Its well put together and so easy to carry about anywhere.For QRP I don't think it can be beaten,no radials,no tricky tuning,and all packed away in a handsome bag.Its a winner with me despite it being a bit pricey,but most ham stuff is anyway.
K8DSS Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2014 09:04 Send this review to a friend
Update - Tripod Suggestion  Time owned: more than 12 months
I continue to believe that the AlexLoop is a fantastic antenna for quick setup and efficient operation. My portable operation with the AlexLoop is usually at local parks, preferably water side locations. Recently, I picked up a Paksun 2001 UT tripod on Amazon for about $18, incl, shipping. After removing the camera attachment/pan & tilt entirely, the remaining 3/4inch center tube fits into the AlexLoop just perfectly. Some electrical tape at the 4" level keeps the antenna from going to far onto the tube.

The result is a setup that supports the loop very well, allows rotation and has the bottom of the loop 48 inches off the ground.. The modified tripod weighs only 1.5 pounds.
N7KM Rating: 5/5 Nov 13, 2014 05:37 Send this review to a friend
To my surprise it really works.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Iím a retired electronics professional with a lot of communications experience. I have always been blessed with good locations and excellent antenna systems. I recently found myself in the worst radio situation I have ever faced. My XYL and I temporarily moved to a large city and found ourselves on the bottom floor of an apartment complex below ground level and no outdoor antennas allowed. For years my favorite relaxation has been a CW rag-chew each day, I was missing my hobby. I had my KX3 and simple indoor dipole antennas but building attenuation and noise made me give up after much frustration. I saw an Alexloop listed on the QRZ swap page so I researched it. I told my XYL ďif I was home I could build one for under a hundred dollars and it looks like SNAKE OIL to me, but I want to buy it and if it doesnít work I can sell it for what I paid.Ē When it arrived the first thing that impressed me was how its High Q erased the noise problem. This is a sweet receive antenna. I made several QSOs on 20 and 30 meter CW from the basement, the reports werenít great but it worked. Next, I moved the rig to the picnic table outside the building with the loop mounted on a tripod four feet off the ground. The results were astounding; I have made a couple of dozen solid 20 to 40 minute stateside QSOs on 40, 30, 20 and 17 meters. I even condescended to SSB and it works well. One Saturday I joined in on a CW contest, which is not my thing, I easily worked station after station until I ran out of paper to log on. The local hams recently held a QSO party at the park. My 10 watts and Loop performed as well as the simple dipoles, the buddy pole dipole, end fed wires, and verticals. Not even once have I set up on a park bench and not be able to make multiple solid contacts. Iím a SOTA operator and when I return home my 32í kite pole and big wire antenna will no long be going to mountain tops. Small antennas like this are a compromise, but this one is well engineered, small, light, and easy to setup and use. To my complete surprise it works much better than I think it should. If you find yourself in a bind as I did, buy one or build one and you too will have pleasant surprise.
KG9H Rating: 5/5 Nov 9, 2014 10:42 Send this review to a friend
Amazing!   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I don't have much time to build my own so.. I decided to buy one of these. I am old school - long wires make the best antennas right? Well.... I tried it out in my 3 season room as it was about 35 degrees out. I tried it with a KX3 and with an Icom 703. With both tuners removed out of line.. I had a ball until my hand got tired of holding it. It was not hard to tune it and hold it but.. I really need a tripod!
I worked from New York to Washington to Arizona to Florida. I got 58 to 59 reports on 40 through 10 meters. Follow Alex's instructions on tuning it up. Most of my use of this will be from a hotel room or condo about 5-7 stories up. I am SOLD On this antenna. It will replace a Walkabout with a 30' ground wire.
Pretty pleased with this antenna. Highly suggest to anyone that operates portable. Next step... /4 from a condo.
KD2ALV Rating: 5/5 Sep 22, 2014 15:24 Send this review to a friend
GREAT QRP ANTENNA!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the AlexLoop with my KX3. Realizing that the Magnetic Loop is different than other QRP antennas I was very careful not to damage the radio nor the loop. So I sent Alex a couple of emails about the antenna's high SWR. He patiently explained how to lower the SWR. I recall what he said:
Firstly, one must bypass the internal antenna tuner. Then tune the Loop with its tuner and then depress and hold the KX3 "XMIT" button in order to manually lower the SWR with the radio's dial and NEVER USE THE "ATU TUNE BUTTON. I did and then immediately contacted the Netherlands with 5 watts from Bogota, Colombia without damaging the radio nor the antenna! Since then the antenna worked miraculously.
Alex is a first class Ham with a wonderful product.
I would not hesitate to recommend this antenna. It is light, easy to put-up and breakdown (probably 2 minutes), high quality, incredible receive and transmit antenna. If that were not enough value, you will also get generous, kind and prompt support from the designer and owner of the company. This combination cannot be beat!!!
Thanks Alex.
ON4TVT Rating: 5/5 Jul 8, 2014 08:43 Send this review to a friend
a real winner  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
since I have no time and not the necessary tools to make a HF loop antenna, I bought the Alexloop.
A loop in general is maybe a little bit difficult to use, especially in the beginning. However, the Alexloop, once familiarized with it, is a very reliable, robust, ultra portable lightweight antenna installed in minutes. For QRP portable, pedestrian use in the field this commercial loop is for the moment unbeatable. Moreover the bag of the antenna permits to transport some small accessories, including a tripod. Bravo Alex!!
<— Page 2 of 7 —>

If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.