eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Icom IC-271A/H Help


Reviews Summary for Icom IC-271A/H
Icom IC-271A/H Reviews: 15 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $700.00
Description: 2m all mode base rig
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.icomclassic.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Icom IC-271A/H.

Page 1 of 2 —>

VK3LBT Rating: 4/5 Apr 16, 2014 05:22 Send this review to a friend
Oldie but a classy one !  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Have this old classic for a few weeks now, I purchased this as a stand alone 2m all mode, I also run a 910 H but wanted just a single bander and this unit came up at the right price and in excellent condition. It has been fitted with the Mutek front end so it's extremely sharp on the receive and rivals my 910H !
A beautiful older unit to operate, simple and straightforward. Yes I gave it a 4 only for the reason that technology has moved forward since this was the new boy on the block, but I will say in a lot of aspects the reliability is better than its younger brother, 910H. Very happy with this classic and works fantastically on 2m SSB, gives a clean 100w and is capable of a lot more, but who wants to stress the old girl !
If you are considering a good single band all mode for 2m and don't want to pay an arm and a leg this is a nice alternative worth serious consideration .

Cheers

Barry VK3LBT
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Jan 11, 2009 13:39 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RIG!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Well I just got the rig but already LOVE IT!We had a little 2 meter prop last evening(01-10-09) & I was VERY pleased with the reports I recieved as well as the reception of signals on my end. I am using the rig with an ICOM SM-20 desk microphone,a KLM 160 watt amplifier,& a CUSHCRAFT 215WB yagi at 61 ft.for SSB.The rig is a PLEASURE to operate.I really like that in one of the memory scan modes that I can scan SSB memories with the squelch opened & the rig will NOT stop scanning because of noise.I've never seen a rig scan with the squelch open that I recall?It scans ANY frequency I have in SSB mode & I can then listen to the portion of the band that is USUALLY busy during openings.If I hear a QSO I simply push the scan button again & it stops scanning.I can then go back to the busy frequency.I had the ICOM 275H years ago & do NOT remember it having this feature.I have had MANY 2 meter all mode rigs: ICOM 271A,ICOM 275H,ICOM 706,ICOM 706MII, ICOM 746,ICOM 746 PRO,ICOM 7000,KENWOOD TR-9130, KENWOOD 751A(2 of these),& a YAESU 857D & I think with the optional preamp installed my rig has that the 271A hears just as good as ANY of the above listed rigs.I am BLESSED that the one I bought came with the original box, microphone,accessory plug,& manual & it's almost MINT.I bought it from the ORIGINAL owner as well.It's a SHAME that ALL of the companies stopped making SINGLE BANDED ALL MODE RIGS but find yourself a GOOD used one & ENJOY the hobby!

Clayton
W4KVW
EM80
 
KE4WBS Rating: 5/5 Jan 4, 2009 18:31 Send this review to a friend
great 2m al mode  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
just got this radio very well built for an old radio mine came with preamp and ssb filter,, if you are on a budget this may be the way to go, nice rig if you are planning eme ssb once conditions become favorable for 2 meters..
 
KC0LRP Rating: 5/5 Sep 12, 2008 16:00 Send this review to a friend
best 2meter allmode  Time owned: more than 12 months
I got this rig at a local candy store for $325 with preamp installed. Was tested by local tech there an was told that it was like new an it's the 100watt model best 2 meter allmode I've had.It hears real good & audio is outstanding.
 
YV5IAL Rating: 4/5 Oct 27, 2006 21:06 Send this review to a friend
Un Excelente equipo  Time owned: more than 12 months
Tengo mi IC-271A desde 1983. Jamas en todo este tiempo (23 anos) me ha fallado. La version que poseo no tiene "tonos" para acceder a algunas repetidoras que requieren tono. En los anos 80's y principios de los 70's no habian repetidoras que requerian de tonos subaudibles para activarlas. Hoy en dia, es diferente y la gran mayoria de repetidoras requieren unidades de tonos. He contactado en SSB a Argentina en directo y utilice mucho este equipo para trabajar los "satelites rusos". Es un exelente equipo
 
N9GTM Rating: 5/5 Jul 9, 2005 19:49 Send this review to a friend
ICOM Troubleshooting Link  Time owned: more than 12 months
http://www.icomamerica.com/support/troubleshooting/ic-271ah.asp

If you have problems with the above link, you may have to click through
http://www.icomamerica.com/support/troubleshooting/default.asp


My rig received harsh usage when operated 24x7 on a pakcet radio BBS, and exhibits several of the symptoms described in the troubleshooting link above. Just wanted to share the link with others who may be in a similar situation.

Bravo Icom for putting this stuff online!
 
NX1Z Rating: 5/5 Jun 16, 2005 13:34 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is a favorite radio in my shack. I have used this thing just about every day since I bought it (not too long ago) at a ham radio flea market. The only thing that I donít like about this radio is that the tone freqs are numbered. So, to set the tone, you need to look-up the tone freq in the manual, find out what number corresponds to that tone, and then set the radio tone to that number. But, since the radio is a base station, itís going to be within arms reach of the manual anyway. I suggest making a photo-copy of the ctcss tone page in the manual and taping it to the top of the radio if you plan on using it in the rover. The short supply of memory (32 channels) makes this the dedicated 2M simplex radio in my shack, but I run it though some of my favorite repeaters as well. The radio has a dedicated ďPerampĒ button on the front of the radio, but there is no preamp installed in the radio itself. This button was intended to control a preamp option that is supposed to be mounted at the antenna. So if you see this radio sitting on the hamfest table, remember this fact. But, buy the radio anyway because this thing has a super receiver on it and does not need a preamp. I can hear stations with this that my friends canít. It even beats the receivers in my other 2M radios (FT-847 and FT-817) when using the same feed line and antenna. The 100W out is nice for when you want to reach out to distant stations. I verified with a couple of power meters that itís actually transmitting at 110W to 120W depending on frequency. When this radio is set to low power though, the least it will do is 33W, so no QRP with this thing. Be careful because it is possible to transmit out of band (143.8 to 144 and 148 to 148.2).I get comments on the audio from this radio all the time. Anyone that I meet for the first time will ask me what I am running because it sounds so good! Same on SSB too. The thing even looks cool. If you are looking for a 2M SSB/FM radio, get this one if you can.

John/NX1Z
 
K3ROJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 22, 2005 10:07 Send this review to a friend
One of the best on 144  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Just purchased this used IC-271H transceiver from another ham for $250 (April 2005) and wow what sensitivity it has. It actually out performs my Yaesu FT847 not only power wise but being able to hear the weak stations on SSB, CW and FM. Had to obtain a keyer to use with it especially for working the VHF contests. It has straight audio out and key control at the rear connector which works well with meteor scatter software and my sound card. Stability is good and did some PSK31 work with another station. A power supply with at least 30 amp capabilty should be used but the power out can be reduced to accept a 20 amp supply. Am going to investigate the Mutek Ltd. front end board as another review mentioned. The operator manual came with it but want to obtain the service manual or a copy just to have around. 73' AL K3ROJ
 
N0TTW Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2005 00:31 Send this review to a friend
Great classic rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Bought this rig cheap on Ebay. It had some problems. Was able to repair the RAM card and reprogram it But it needed the PLL caps replaced, sent it to MTS. When returned, it was tuned up and it worked great.

Wife just recently used it for the January 2005 contest with a Mirage amp. She was very satisfied in it's performance. She also prefers it over the Yaesu 100D for 2 meters.

Why? because it was designed for one reason, to be used on that band. More flexible and larger buttons was the main thing. Audio is good, but add an audio DSP unit and it's "awesome" (her words).

I would recomend this unit from my own personal experience, as well as the 471 model (see review). Hoping to find it's 1271 cousin.
 
AB7UW-MONTANA Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2003 23:31 Send this review to a friend
Excellent for ssb cw and fm  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have recently purchased this rig on E-Bay and have not been dissapointed. Reciever is hot and really doesnt need the preamp option thats in mine, at least so far. I have used this rig on ssb cw as well as for fm work and have recieved excellent reports. I have been running it barefoot at 25 watts but I will have a 150 watt amp being driven by it soon so I can run some distance on ssb cw. Overall a great rig at a really good price.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.