eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Ten-Tec Eagle 599 Help


Reviews Summary for Ten-Tec Eagle 599
Ten-Tec Eagle 599 Reviews: 73 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $$1995
Description: Ten Tec Eagle Model 599. offers simplified controls and ease of operation. 100 Watts, SSB & CW, 160 Mtr to 6 Mtr and General Coverage Receive .50 t0 30Mhz. Nifty and Compact and a Mobile friendly structure.
Product is in production.
More info: http://tentec.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Ten-Tec Eagle 599.

Page 1 of 8 —>

K9CIZ Rating: 5/5 Oct 1, 2017 09:32 Send this review to a friend
Year of service  Time owned: months
The Eagle served me well for many years. It holds many good memories during my operating as a Ham with ‘great ears’. For those looking at ditching multi-layered menus, this is a great option. For DSP, only the much higher dollar rigs can come close. Definitely the sports car of rigs!
 
N4DOV Rating: 5/5 Sep 21, 2016 13:53 Send this review to a friend
Continues to soar  Time owned: more than 12 months
While the future resurrection of TenTec is debated on forums, I thought I would add my "tuppence worth " opinion of my 5 year old radio. My Eagle is the "gold" edition (paid the over $2000 dollar price). It has performed in a excellent manner with excellent low noise floor audio on receive, excellent noise mitigation and excellent reports on transmit.It is a simple radio, no manual required and all buttons up front. It is remarkable to believe that a radio first unveiled in 2009, is right up there with the best in Sherwood Engineering Receiver testing, as is as is the Orion I(2003), and the Orion II(2005).
TenTec RIP : Rest in Peace or Resurrect in Prosperity.
 
K7FD Rating: 3/5 Sep 4, 2016 13:14 Send this review to a friend
On second thought...  Time owned: more than 12 months
Having owned the Eagle for almost 3 years, I felt it was time for another review. First and foremost, the radio has performed without a hiccup and for this I am grateful, knock on wood. May it continue to run like a clock and avoid repairs!

That said, there are a few things that have bugged me about this odd duck. Yes, it's a bit odd. The ergonomics are strange at best. Band changes are tedious requiring a multi-button press to go up or down the bands. Using the RIT control is a nightmare; again multi-button presses required for this simple task. Not what you want, especially in the heat of the battle. Another strange bit of engineering the failure of the modes to track with A/B frequency changes.

While not a show stopper, the AGC fails to dampen signals uniformly in a roundtable requiring a constant readjustment of the RF gain with each new station coming on board. Also not a show stopper are the S meter and SWR markings that cannot be easily read by the human eye. Granted, it's a small radio but it's a strain to see unless your nose is almost touching the VFO.

While relatively overpriced when new, IMHO, these radios appear to now be going for reasonable prices on the used market. I highly recommend this radio for someone who wants 'something really different' but is willing to accept its shortcomings. Basic performance is there, it just seems to be a struggle when it comes to extracting it in everyday use.

John K7FD

 
W9DJ Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2016 19:14 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Value  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned an Eagle for about 18 months. I bought it used, and it has proven to be a very nice rig. The receiver is extremely good for a radio in this price class (or any price class). The rig is not "full featured," but it's simple to operate and does the job. Yes, the split and RIT could be easier to use, and some people have complained about the ergonomics, but Ten Tec seems to have been determined to avoid menus and more than two functions/button; to me that is an acceptable compromise. I use it portable a lot, and it's a nice size, but a handle on the side would be a useful addition. It has a nice, clean layout on the inside, and should be easier to service than some radios. I also have an Omni VII, and though the Omni has more features, including the internet jack, the Eagle's basic performance is at least as good as the Omni's. I do wish it had a handle and the ability to tailor the tx audio. If the new IC7300 had been out when I bought the Eagle I would have considered it, but I'm happy with the Eagle and have had no buyer's remorse.
 
W8NLZ Rating: 4/5 Apr 25, 2016 14:31 Send this review to a friend
Small Package - Big Performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Some orientation: The Ten Tec Eagle is about 2/3rds the size of a Kenwood TS-590 or Elecraft K3. It only weighs 7 lbs. The operator interface philosophy is "no menus". What you see is what you get on this abbreviated front panel. But, this is good if you operate portable or, as a minimalist, like to retain that feeling that you are really operating your radio and not vice-versa. Think of the Eagle as a sports car without power steering or automatic transmission.

But what's under the hood? Whoa! Big horsepower! A receiver so sensitive you will spend a lot of time with the RF gain backed off. A DSP filter that squeezes down to 100Hz with no ringing. And you will love true QSK when you hear your intended contact calling another station while you are calling him. Ten Tec has designed a great architecture, essentially going digital for the last IF stage. Using the latest SMD technology, they have packed a lot under the hood of this little guy.

Why not a "5"? The requirement to select RIT as a temporary function is very clumsy. As to SPLIT operation, you just have to know that "B VFO" is the Transmit frequency. No other indication. And finally, the 3-color LED display backlight lacks brightness. Small issues.

The Eagle is not for everyone. If you want a highway barge with pushbutton everything, buy a Lexus. If you want to feel the road when you hit the gas, consider an Eagle.

While the current uncertainty regarding the company restructuring has their prices depressed, an Eagle is great bang for your buck.

 
WA1SEO Rating: 5/5 Apr 1, 2016 07:55 Send this review to a friend
Performance, performance, performance!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned an Eagle for several years and the performance is excellent. I found the receiver to be extremely quiet and very selective. 6 Meter operation was a joy to operate. So the Eagle does exactly what it was advertised to do...perform.

On another note, I was very disappointed with some of the ergonomic features. If you were in the memory mode and "accidentally" moved the VFO control, when you exit the memory move, you would no longer be on the original frequency. I think that they should have made it so when you recall a memory, the VFO control allows you to tune the recalled frequency. There appeared to be a fair amount of delay in the S-meter and what you actually hear. If you use HRD, you don't get control of many functions. Lastly, I was always concerned about how warm the radio ran. 18W is a lot of power in the receive mode especially when you consider that the Argo VI has similar performance and consumes significantly less power. Yes, the radio gets warm. Simple firmware updates were never implemented and it's a shame as to what the company is going through now.

All in all, at the blow out prices, it was a fantastic deal.

 
KA1IS Rating: 5/5 Mar 31, 2016 21:21 Send this review to a friend
great receiver and design  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used the Eagle for about a year and a half. Mostly CW DX and contests.

The receiver is the clearest sounding rig I have ever used. An audiophile ham rig. Lots of dynamic range, low noise, and very easy to listen to.

The difference between the Eagle and many other rigs is that you don't hear any crunchy distortion during pileups and QRM situations.

The Eagle is a minimalist rig, so its not for everyone, but you can do more with the BW and PBT dials on the Eagle than an entire bank of dials. I do use an outboard keyer and receive-antenna relay.

If you like the sound of the TS-830s or the K2, you will probably like the Eagle even more.
 
AA4OO Rating: 4/5 Mar 30, 2016 07:38 Send this review to a friend
Great CW rig with Quirks  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
The Eagle is NOT a feature laden radio and using it is a bit quirky.

There are no menus on the Eagle. The dual-function buttons you see are what you get. The multi-knob allows adjustments for the various functions.

What the Eagle does have that is so common with the Ten-Tec line of radios is absolutely wonderful sounding audio and beautiful full QSK with no strange audio artifacts at full-break-in. It is a pleasure to work weak stations. The Eagle has slots for 3 mechanical IF filters. Mine has three 4-pole filters for the IF 2.4kHz, 600Hz and 300Hz. They are automatically selected as the dedicated bandwidth knob is adjusted, resulting in smooth and clear filtering of CW stations. If I want to work AM or FM I have to replace one or more of the existing 3 filters.

For comparison I also have a Elecraft KX3 with all the filters. While both have similar receiver specifications, when listening to weak CW with the KX3 I hear a lot of DSP artifacts that are not present on the Eagle. I can work a weak station equally on both but working them with the Eagle I'm not be fatigued at the end of the qso.

The Eagle has a built-in ATU capable of matching up to 10:1 SWR antennas.

NOTE: The ATU only stores one tuning solution per band. So if you tune in the CW portion you may need to re-tune if you QSY up into the phone portion of the same band. This is especially problematic on 80m.

If you love CW do yourself a favor and try a Ten-Tec. They are pricey compared to other rigs and they do not come close competing on price-per-feature but Ten-Tec receivers make for amateur-radio bliss.

http://www.hamradioqrp.com/2016/03/the-eagle-has-landed.html
 
W3MT Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2016 07:21 Send this review to a friend
Nice Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
So much radio in such a small package! Luv the small footprint on my desktop. It looks and sounds great. The receiver is just as nice as my OMNI 7. Just like everything about it...well, except for one little thing; someone forgot the dedicated RIT knob. Liking CW this is essential. Other than that, mostly nice.
 
KC8HXO Rating: 4/5 Dec 9, 2015 13:36 Send this review to a friend
I like it!! .... a LOT!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Superbly QUIET receiver......shades of my Corsair II are in this little box somewhere! Yup, there are things I would change, but that isn't the point of my review. I think, for portable, or "small" home stations, where the owner wants GREAT performance it is a really fine choice. If I don't get in front of it for a month, I won't need to look at the manual to change a setting, or make contacts. Simplicity has it's virtues, and TenTec has THIS Eagle soaring high.
 
Page 1 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.