eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Kenwood TR-9000 Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TR-9000
Kenwood TR-9000 Reviews: 18 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $(missing—add MSRP)
Description: 2m all mode mobile
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.qsl.net/sm7vhs/radio/kenwood/tr9000/tr9000.htm
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TR-9000.

Page 1 of 2 —>

F4GFT Rating: 5/5 Jun 10, 2012 02:32 Send this review to a friend
For CW, get BT-8  Time owned: 6 to 12 months

I second most of what has been said here. Good receiver, good operability, very solid build quality - I am very fond of it and only wish the output power could be reduced. I have the european version, where it cannot.
The one thing I would like to add concerns the often heard criticism that the TR-9000 was poor for CW operation. That is true for the rig alone, but if you are into CW, get the BT-8 base, and everything falls into place: There's a dedicated TX button on the base. I got mine in a combo with base and matching power supply, which makes for a nice base station.
 
JA2XXXSWL Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2011 23:18 Send this review to a friend
Golden 80's  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
First thing i'd like to tell, that all previous reviews is about TR-9000 EU/US version, which have "split". There is also TR-9000 Japanese version, which does not have split and TR-9000G, which have more advances features to work with memory.
TR-9000(JP) have very selective front-end with 2-pole bandpass filter->FET amplifier->3-pole high quality bandpass filter. TR-9000G(JP) have same block diagramm of front-end, but bandpass filters are more simple and looks the same as TR-7700(another VHF FM RIG on Japanese market, well known in EU/US as TR-7730 with "split" feature).
I'd like to say, that this RIG is not for "repeater lovers", but for SSB DX-ing - sensetive RX and 2.4kHz SSB crystal filter.
"Solid as rock" that's probably most correct description for it's construction. There is also no "bells and whistles", but reasonable features for everyday FM and SSB usage. Needle S-meter more informative then LED-bar style. Potenciometers are very reliable, so can not be failed as in TR-751 hi-hi.
On negative side is not perfect CW mode, no CAT control(but, hey, remember this is 25+ y.o. RIG), no CTSS, no variable output power.
Overall i still give 5 of 5 to this "Golden 80's" RIG. If you are not after repeaters and don't mind to track AO-xx manually this is your choice
 
G1LOE Rating: 4/5 Jan 19, 2010 08:47 Send this review to a friend
It's an oldie but goodie.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Recently purchased one from a friend, as i wanted a dedicated 2M SSB mobile, the reviews of the Kenwood were certainly good so i took the leap and got it.
First impressions, built like a tank, good full received audio, the transmitted audio is full and apparently nice to the ear.
Received signals are clear, even weak "back of the box" are clear.
Sideband performance is good for it's age, must admit too lusting after one years ago when i was a newbie.
The lack of CTCSS is a pain if you want to use repeaters over here as nearly all now require them.
but for sideband use i'm glad to finally have one to play with.

If you can find one in good condition, go for it, you'll not regret it.
 
M6TYC Rating: 5/5 Jun 16, 2009 04:24 Send this review to a friend
Took advice...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Saw the review, "if you see one going cheap"...

Easy to use, and with a preamp out performs the ICOM 706 mk IIG that was loaned me on 2m reception. Not that I'm not going to get the ICOM, it has other features I lust after.

Good advice, it's built like a tank, does well in 2m competitons given the aerials it has to work with and another thats not going to leave my company for many years to come.
 
K3GM Rating: 3/5 Dec 3, 2008 11:40 Send this review to a friend
Missing a major feature  Time owned: more than 12 months
I don't share the favorable opinions of the previous reviewers. I am the original owner of this radio, and thus know its complete 27 year history. I purchased it mainly for weak signal work, and have always thought the receiver was something of a brick and have always had a preamp ahead of the receiver to help it. Without it, weak signals would disappear into the noise floor, and you'd never even know they were there. While it now gets only occasional use, it was used on daily both in the shack, as well as mobile. It is a reliable piece of gear, and is extremely heavy duty. The mobile mount is an unusual design. 2 channels on either side of the radio accept spring loaded "gripper teeth" of the mount. When the grippers are locked into place, they dig into the soft aluminum channels, creating deep scratches, and gouges. The result is unsightly in appearance.

The major shortcoming of TR-9000 is in the CW mode. There is no automatic keying of the transmitter in the CW mode! You must place the transceiver into transmit by holding in the microphone key in with one hand while operating the key of your choice with the other. In a contest scenario, this becomes extremely cumbersome. In the early 1980's, I operated a VHF beacon using this radio. I remember using a rubber band to hold the microphone key in while a Heathkit uMatic keyer did the IDing. There is a jack on the rear panel that will put the radio into transmit by closing the circuit, but I never utilized it.

In summation: For weak signal work, fair sensitivity, fair selectivity, poor CW operation. Extremely reliable, heavily built, weird mobile mount.
 
YD1TDL Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2008 10:54 Send this review to a friend
Sensitif Old Radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just bought TR 9000 for Rp 1.500.000,- in Jakarta,its about US $ 140.00 two months ago. Great fine old Radio. Compare to newer Radio like TM 231,241,251,261,271...TR 751, TR9000 has better.Sensitivity and good sound Quality just like Wide FM Radio. With very little interference. Compare to TR 9130 Oo.o..is the same only the power output is lower .But with less problem.the RF gain is very useful.mine has a serial no:2030563 and has a FM1,FM2,LSB,USB,CW mode.Combine with Daiwa ES-880 and Delta loop 2 X 8 Antenna ( given by YB0OK )GREAT thaks Billy

73,
YD1TDL
Banten,Indonesia
 
M3ENS Rating: 5/5 Apr 21, 2007 06:48 Send this review to a friend
a fb radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
well i have had my tr 9000 for over 3 years and has performed great i payed 50 for it and i would never get rid of it 10/10 if you see one cheap get it!!!!!!
 
YD3EFC Rating: 5/5 Mar 22, 2006 21:17 Send this review to a friend
GREAT FINE OLD RADIO  Time owned: more than 12 months
- GOOD ALL MODE VHF TRANSCEIVER
- VERY LITTLE PROBLEM WITH INTERFERENCE
- RELIABLE PERFORMANCE

73's
Ong Hongky
YD3EFC
 
N8EKT Rating: 5/5 Feb 20, 2006 12:29 Send this review to a friend
GREAT OLD SSB RADIO!  Time owned: more than 12 months
WHAT I RECALL MOST ABOUT THIS RADIO IS THE RECEIVER WAS VERY SELECTIVE.
VERY LITTLE PROBLEM WITH INTERFERENCE.
 
M1SPY Rating: 4/5 May 23, 2005 18:36 Send this review to a friend
Oldie but a gOD  Time owned: more than 12 months
Owned for over 2 yrs and in UK Ive had more contacts on my FM rig (FT1500).However I keep coming back to this old girl- even though she has an audio amplification problem which I have sorted with a booster. The 'feel' is better and probably the receive, though lack of scan facilities make her dated.
Build quality will never be matched and the mobile mount is "fuutb".
Wouldn't give it 5 but 4.5 is next best!
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.