eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Receivers: General Coverage | Kenwood R600 Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood R600
Kenwood R600 Reviews: 14 Average rating: 4.4/5 MSRP: $135.00 (used)
Description: General coverage receiver
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/commrxvr/r600.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood R600.

Page 1 of 2 —>

IK2QBA Rating: 5/5 Jan 17, 2017 13:38 Send this review to a friend
Great little radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought this radio without knowing it, I found a wonderful radio is easy to use has a great audio has no particular regulations that is its value and its defect can be used with your eyes closed.
You should not ask this radio that can not give but if you claim from her the right is fantastic, I'm loving it.

------------------------

Ho comprato questa radio senza conoscerla, ho scoperto una radio meravigliosa semplicissima da usare ha un audio ottimo non ha particolari regolazioni che il suo pregio e il suo difetto si pu usare ad occhi chiusi.
Non si deve chiedere a questa radio quello che non pu dare ma se si pretende da lei il giusto fantastica, io ne sono innamorato.

 
AUSSIE Rating: 5/5 Mar 9, 2011 10:02 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought a Kenwood-R600 last year from ebay USA in brand new condition with original box,manual hooked it up to a Wellbrook-ALA1530 and was amazed how good it sounds and the signals that i was listenning to mainly monitor hf aero easy radio to use and the display is bright i do have othere receivers from Alinco,Icom,Palstar,Ten Tec but this is one of my favourites.
 
N4ZBS Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2011 15:32 Send this review to a friend
Simply a joy to operate.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Bought this radio from eham classifieds. Received last week. I have had several other receivers since 1968, but wish I had bought one of these in the early 80's, would have saved myself anguish and money.

True there are no memories, no passband tuning, no notch filter etc. but it sounds great, looks great, is easy to operate, filtering does good job, display and "S-meter" are easy to read and there are no dual function buttons. I have the original manual, but it's not needed to operate.

It is connected to 160 meter dipole and I have not experienced any of the negative comments read elsewhere:
-Great on medium wave.
-Sensitive and selective.
-Have not noticed over loading or problems tuning in side band stations.

Maybe I just got a good one, or maybe it has mods. Not sure. But I've been looking for an
R-600 for several years and this one will not be leaving.

Tx Eddy
N4ZBS




 
KX4TT Rating: 4/5 Nov 18, 2010 06:26 Send this review to a friend
Good Basic Receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I owned an R-600 for a couple of years, eventually selling it to get an HF rig. It was a solid performer that worked well even with inferior antennas (I ran 30-40 feet of wire out the window at first). Not a lot of bells and whistles, but a decent performer on SW and the ham bands.
 
WD6ETC Rating: 4/5 Dec 7, 2007 12:34 Send this review to a friend
Great desktop radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Kenwood R600 is a well thought out, capable receiver, but its price reflects that fact is lacks certain advanced receiver features. I use it to listen to AM talk radio in the AM and oceanic aircraft on HF in the PM. Pros: easy to use (even at night), large, well lit S-meter, published sensitivity, big tuning knob, effective noise blanker (try it when the gardeners come with leaf blowers), RF ATT switch, acceptable audio, 500 and 50 ohm ANT inputs, mutable. Cons: audio lacks crispness and bass (much better audio on my Sony ICF-SW7600GR), constant hiss even on strong stations (IF filters?), no squelch, no adj. RF ATT, freq. readout 2Khz off on SSB (normal with this type), very freq. stable after 1 hr. warmup (typical), old tech MOSFET front end. In contrast, the Sony is smaller, lighter, portable, has better audio even with small speaker, better sensitivity and adj. RF att.
 
KI4RHC Rating: 3/5 Oct 7, 2007 21:34 Send this review to a friend
Inexpensive and Fun  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
For a 25 or so year old radio with almost no controls to adjust the received signal with, it's not a bad rig. The wide filter isn't the best, but its adequate and gives nice audio on a clear signal, but not so good for crowded bands with strong signals, though. The AM narrow/SSB filter is actually very good at eliminating hets, and provides very a very nice sound listening to SSB. At HF its pretty sensitive, though a bit noisy, and the classic Kenwood MW attenuation is worse in this radio than on their other receive-only radios. Contrary to what I've read, the R-600's noise blanker does indeed work, but just not on every type of noise. I like the S-meter being marked in normal scale plus a 1 to 5 scale for reporting the SINPO code to stations. Great for just bandscanning or for a bedside radio.
 
K2VI Rating: 5/5 May 31, 2007 17:18 Send this review to a friend
GREAT BARE BONES RECIEVER  Time owned: more than 12 months
KENWOOD DID A GREAT JOB WITH THIS RADIO,BUILT TO LAST A LIFETIME AND RECIEVES QUITE WELL,NO IMAGES OR BLOWBY EVEN WHEN HOOKED UP TO MY MOSLEY CL-33 UP 50'...ALSO A SUPER MW BAND DX MACHINE.

TONY K2VI
 
KI6HJH Rating: 4/5 Mar 30, 2007 11:13 Send this review to a friend
Nice little Recvr, except  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my 600 for about 20 years. I'd been using it for SWL only. Recently got my ham ticket, so now I'm using it to listen to SSB more rather than SW AM stations. The 600 is easy to use, easy to understand. Haven't had the manual for years, its not needed. Good sound and good RX performance. The one very frustrating thing is there is no fine-tuning knob or capability. If you're trying to tune in somebody who is using SSB, it's very difficult. That is the only reason I'm looking for another G/C receiver.
 
VE4MM Rating: 4/5 Sep 10, 2006 16:38 Send this review to a friend
Good Starter Receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had one new in 1983. Sold it and bought another one in 2001. Still have it.

Was good value back in 1983. The ICOM R70 was it's competitor but was twice as much.

73

Mike, VE4MM
 
N0WF Rating: 5/5 Sep 10, 2006 05:53 Send this review to a friend
Simple, solid choice  Time owned: more than 12 months
The beauty of this receiver lies it's simplicity of operation in the dark. I wanted something to listen to at night in bed without disturbing my Wife or turning on the lights to see the controls. In this regard the R-600 is one of the best receivers you can find, few controls, big knobs, intuitive operation. Stabbing all those half-Chicklet sized buttons and sorting out all the other knobs and controls on my other receivers would be nearly impossible in the dark. For casual listening the R-600 is fine, if you are a serious dxer it may come up a little short. Surprisingly sensitive receiver gives superb rich audio from the front-firing speaker. Despite it's lack of advanced features the Kenwood R-600 is a decent choice. This is the second one of these I've owned, overall well satisdied.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.