eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-718 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-718
ICOM IC-718 Reviews: 426 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $750 1199 Cdn
Description: HF Transciever
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-718.

<— Page 7 of 43 —>

26JLH Rating: 2/5 May 11, 2012 17:07 Send this review to a friend
not as good as my ts130 kenwood  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
got this 3 years ago to replace my kenwood ts-130se.
i tryed to like it, i don't like menus so i got rid of it.
reciever was not as nice as the kenwood now i got a ts-120 and i am happy as i only do 20 and 40 meters.
and i got a cw filter all for 225 pounds i thought the 718 was a bit noisyer than i liked but it was good for psk as it is stable,maybe ok for cw with filter .. jeff .. 2e0glu
 
WA6IPD Rating: 5/5 Apr 29, 2012 08:31 Send this review to a friend
Fun  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This is an outstanding rig. Those that say it's only an OK rig for beginners or only OK as a second rig have to be newbies to Amateur Radio. In the late 60s I purchased a new Swan 350 for $2,260.00 (in todays dollars) and it had zero features as compared to the IC-718. This rig will more than satisfy the average user. I also have an Orion II so I'm not inexperienced in all the bells and whistles available. But for an all around fun rig the IC-718 is a good choice.
 
K7NNG Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2012 11:39 Send this review to a friend
EXCELLENT RIG  Time owned: more than 12 months
I JUST BOUGHT MY 3RD 718. THERE IS A NOTABLE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE OLDER RIGS AND THIS NEW ONE, SPECIFICALLY WITH THE NR/DSP AND ANF.
DID ICOM MAKE A CHANGE?????
SIDE BY SIDE THEY SOUND DIFFERENT.
 
PG00023016 Rating: 5/5 Feb 14, 2012 04:31 Send this review to a friend
Exactly What I Need!  Time owned: more than 12 months
My Icom 718 does everything it says it does in the manual. That's the first thing I like about it! Second: I like it's handsome rugged appearance. I wish it had handles like the IC-7200. Third: there are some easy to perform mods for it. I sold my AH-4 Auto Antenna tuner so I performed the mod to put the rig in it's tuning "mode" with the flip of an add-on switch located next to my B&W manual tuner. Nice! Fourth: I also removed the thick dense compressed felt plug from in front of the electret mic element (in the hand mic.) then I replaced it with a open cell foam. The kind you'd find in a window air conditioner. I instantly received better audio reports. I guess I'm at the take it easy stage in my life so this is the perfect rig for me!
73 Y'all WWJD
 
KG4LLQ Rating: 5/5 Feb 12, 2012 10:21 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my 718 since January 2003. It's been reliable & does everything I need a transceiver to do. It's my "stand-by receiver" (since I normally operate QRP/vintage/home-brew rigs). I operate CW 95% of the time & bought an Idiom-Press SCAF-1 capacitive filter (Kit) which cost me less than $75.00. It provides the audio selectivity I need for CW when operating the 718. I operate the 718 connected to an MFJ 949E and utilize either a folded dipole 40 meter antenna (300 ohm twin lead fed thru a balun) or a 16 ft high Flag Pole Vertical (fed with RG-213 coax).
 
KD5NDU Rating: 5/5 Feb 4, 2012 14:33 Send this review to a friend
Good radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I been haring the 718a icon radio for about 6 years now and I use it for phone , rtty, psk31, sstv and works very well in the modes I use
 
M0JHA Rating: 5/5 Feb 3, 2012 02:28 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
This is my second rig . I had one a few years back and regretted the day i sold it . If like me you don't need or want bells and whistles then this radio certainly should be seriously looked at .

I noticed the dsp being mentioned as not much use, this i agree with but the NB on mine works great. My lower power level is about 2 watts on this rig but i suppose all will differ slightly.

One thing i must add , i work qrp ONLY and the meters don't really like low power and won't show things like vswr and power out accurately BUT this isn't a qrp radio so that can be forgiven i suppose . On higher power the meters work with no issues ..This was easily got round by simply having a vswr meter in line now i can see the vswr and power when running my massive 2 watts :-)

Mic has a cheap feel to it but the quality of the rest of the radio well outweighs this . I have spoke on air to a couple of people who state a cw filter really transforms this radio so this is a next "must get" for me . so to sum up i can't honestly say there is anything i don't like enough on this radio to cause me to give any negatives, others will have differing issues depending on what they class to be good i suppose.

So if you don't require a radio with more functions than you will honestly need or use and you don't need a radio just to boast about try one ,

it does exactly what it was built for , and well even out the box .

 
WA3ERQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2012 07:00 Send this review to a friend
A++  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Purchased the IC-718 used and I've been happy ever since. It's can't compare to the FT-950 that I had but I've worked a lot of DX since getting back on the air with outstanding reports using a Titan-DX vertical.
 
K0CMH Rating: 4/5 Jan 17, 2012 18:05 Send this review to a friend
Still love it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had my 718 since 2005 and am still having a love affair. I started out on simple, tube radios and don't like submenues of submenues. This rig has just enough bells&whistles with just one level of menues. No, it can't do all those things that the four digit $ rigs do, but it does almost everything I want it to do. I use it every day in my shack, and love how light and easy it is to take protable. I have even run it as a mobile, sitting on the passenger seat and using the "direct to battery" power pole set up I use for my 2 meter rig. I really like it and it was really easy on my wallet. The 500 filter really makes the radio sing when working CW.
 
N3KCM Rating: 5/5 Dec 31, 2011 21:16 Send this review to a friend
Great starter rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
Never had any problems with mine. I started out on PSK31 with this rig and it has been one of the best performers for me. I moved to the IC-7200 because of the IF DSP and 6 meters. With filters on board, this radio does a great job for a low budget radio. Would recommend to others.
 
<— Page 7 of 43 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.