eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | Yaesu FT-450D Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-450D
Yaesu FT-450D Reviews: 159 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $$899.00
Description: 160-6 Meter Base/Mobile/Portable Transceiver.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=870B3CA7CFCB61E6A599B0EFEA2217E4&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-450D.

<— Page 4 of 16 —>

AC6BW Rating: 5/5 Dec 19, 2015 12:17 Send this review to a friend
Excellent rig for the money  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've been using the FT-450D for over 1 year, now, and am very satisfied with it. This radio offers excellent performance for the price range. In fact, probably the best performance for a rig in this price range.

The RX section is very good. The DSP features work very well when dealing with QRM and QRN. It also helps dig weak signals out of the noise.

Most of the rig settings are entirely menu driven. This may take some getting used to for some, but I have found the menus to be very easy to navigate and intuitive. There are only a couple of settings that I change on a regular basis, one of them being RF POWER. Once I got used to it, I am able to make changes very quickly.

The internal ATU works well, and can match antenna loads up to about a 3:1 SWR. This works nicely for antennas that are resonant, but may not work so well with non-resonant antennas, like the G5RV.

The small tuning knob gets a bad rap. Yes, the tuning knob is small. Most of my tuning is done via CAT through my HRD logging program. But I do manually tune the frequency at times, though, and I have not found the knob to be difficult to use. The FAST tuning button helps.

The cooling fan does turn on when transmitting, and may stay on for a few seconds after transmitting in high duty cycle modes. I have not found the fan to be overly loud.

I use the FT-450D as my primary rig in a home base station. My main activity is HF DXng. Although the FT-450D is not a high end DXng rig, I have done quite well with it. The CW and SSB filter width selections are just about right, and work well during contest operating.

I operate a few digital modes, such as AFSK-RTTY, PSK and JT-65. I have found the FT-450D to have very good linearity, and I get good PSK IMD reports. The TX ALC indicator works well, and allows for easy setting of audio drive level in the digital modes.

I get great audio reports on SSB. I have found that setting 4 (high frequencies enhanced) for the MIC EQ is great for breaking through SSB pileups.

Space for equipment is somewhat limited in my shack, but the FT-450D is very compact and doesn't take up a lot of space. This is one of the main reasons why I chose this rig.

All in all, the FT-450D has been a good and reliable rig for me.
 
DL9RDM Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2015 07:06 Send this review to a friend
and the winner is?  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My History in Transciever I had: FT-101Z, IC-735, IC-765, TS-50, TS-450, TS-930, Elecraft K2, K3, IC-706MKII , IC-756, FT-857D, FT-897D, TS-480, TS-570, FT-817, FT-950, ANAN 100, FT-450, FT-450D.
I don't want to bore you with Ąmade DX contact with my new 123-Transciever and worked XXX-Countryď this says NOTHING!

The main importen point for me, on a Transciever are: reciever, transmitter and than ergonomics.
I do 99% SSB and some Digital mods.

Made a lot of A/B comparison of this Transcievers I had have in the past.
The FT-450D fulfilled my expectations.
It won A/B comparison against K2, K3, TS-570, FT-857D, FT-950 in many aspects.

At the moment I use FT-857D for 2m SSB only, ANAN 100 for local OSO on 160 and 80m and the great FT-450D for DX.

Hear you on the Bands

73 de DL9RDM
Mark
 
KG7SNE Rating: 5/5 Nov 4, 2015 15:52 Send this review to a friend
Might help if you know about the software  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
IF you go to the YAESU site (http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=870B3CA7CFCB61E6A599B0EFEA2217E4&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0)
you can download a nice software interface for this radio.
PCC-450 Software V1.13 and Reference Manual (07/18/14)

Give it a try.

I have had this radio for a few months, and really like it. I am sure it has features that I have not found, but I have no complaints, except that I am still waiting for the "rebate". But even without the rebate, it is still a great rig at a reasonable price.
 
N5STT Rating: 5/5 Oct 26, 2015 13:43 Send this review to a friend
Great radio for the price, excellent for new hams  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
My experience with this radio has always been excellent. It has plenty of functions and possible configurations and I'm still learning a lot.
I bought it as used for a good price (below $600 shipped) just after getting my license and found it easy to use since the first time. I often use a Kenwood TS-850 and the 450D beats it under many aspects.
It's faster to say what I don't like:
- Contour filter, doesn't really help with noise, weak signals and adjacent signals and received audio feels distorted.
- Lack of control over voice processing and monitoring.
However, I can't pretend too much and I'm satisfied with it. I believe this is a keeper.

I would totally suggest this radio to new hams, keep an eye on the used market for great deals.
 
NY7Q Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2015 08:49 Send this review to a friend
excellent  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
compared alongside my ft-950 and ts-756pro. the 450d is very similar to the 950 and as easy to program as the ts-756pro. sound/audio better on the Kenwood, other than that they were all about the same. for a small box the 450d has big performance. Audio reports excellent. I would purchase another 450d.
 
W8NWN Rating: 5/5 Oct 7, 2015 13:04 Send this review to a friend
BEATS THEM ALL  Time owned: more than 12 months
I know that is a big statement but for MY use, it has been the absolute best radio I have ever had..........bar none! I cant believe I am writing this, but I have had them all except, of course, for the huge flagship radios of today. It is on 24/7 and is at my bedside. With its lighted buttons and ease of use...........well what can I say? Even the dinky little speaker sounds good. The only thing I did was to add a 4" bail I bought from Elecraft to raise the front up for easier viewing. The only radio that comes close, for me,,,,is my Tentec Eagle.
 
2E0RZK Rating: 5/5 Sep 2, 2015 03:11 Send this review to a friend
Friendly, great little radio  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I bought this as a second radio to use as a portable, but have ended up using it most of the time, even in my base station. Most Yeasu's are heavily menu driven and I've always found this confusing, but this one is far more intuitive than the more 'modern' Yeasus. I use it on SSB and it has good reception and straightforward, but reasonable noise reduction. I use a Yaesu MD-200 microphone and get good audio reports from just about everybody. It's easy to set up, easy to use, has a small footprint and works very well for DX. I agree with the reviews below that it isn't great at tuning non-resonant antennas, but it copes well with anything that's below 3:1, which suits me fine, as all my antennas read around 2:1 or less on the bands I use (40, 20 and 17m). The speaker is a bit small and sounds tinny, so I use an extension speaker. Really good for the price.
 
ON4XA Rating: 0/5 Aug 20, 2015 02:57 Send this review to a friend
big lemon  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased this radio in Italy in nov2014 and it started having problems right away.

First, it would not produce the advertised 100W PEP SSB. The most I could get out of it was about 70W PEP. Also AT how didn't works. I bring it to HF electronics, Yaesu dealer in belgium. Mid januari I rx it back. 2 days after, suddenly it starts to give 100w in Am without to push the mic. Back to the factory. receive it in May !! And Yaesu refuse the warranty telling it was a HF return in the radio !!??? I had to pay 200$ for repair. I just worked not even 2 hours with this "lemon"

If you decide to purchase an FT450D and start experiencing the same problems I have then you have no one to blame but yourself because I have given you the benefit of my experiences with this radio.

2x yaesu, Never again. My FT857D is perfect. But the 450D is just a big sh.t
Goodbye Yaesu
 
WB4TJH Rating: 4/5 Jul 28, 2015 15:21 Send this review to a friend
Nice, handy, solid performer. I rate it a 4.5  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought one of the original FT450s minus the tuner new and got good service out of it for a couple of years. I sold it to a friend and then bought an FT-950. After my 950 developed a problem, I bought an almost new FT-450D and I must say, the improvements made to it over the original are very welcome. The lighted buttons and the 300Hz CW filter really make this little radio shine. I'm going to get the FT950 repaired and will be keeping the FT-450D which will make a handy radio for portable and maybe even mobile use. I gave it a 4 rating, but I really rate it a 4.5 overall. It's a good radio for a new ham or an old one who wants a good, solid, functional all around radio without having to hock your soul to buy one.
 
W5BXY Rating: 5/5 Jul 28, 2015 09:35 Send this review to a friend
I like it!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I have had my Yaesu FT450D a couple of weeks and so far like it. I also have a Yaesu FT950 which I use as my main rig. I find that the 450D is very user friendly to me probably because it has similar features to the FT950 although much smaller in size. I like the large numerals on the display and the location of all the controls. It took me very little time to master the essential features. The audio doesnít quite come up to that of the FT950 or one of my Kenwood rigs but with some adjustment it is decent and after all there is a large difference in size and cost. I do recommend an external speaker. CW reception is as good as it gets and Iíve had excellent reports on transmitted SSB audio using the standard hand mike. Contrary to other reviews it auto tunes my full size G5RV easily on all but 17 meters and I have a resonant dipole for that. Overall I canít find anything that I donít like about it and have no regrets for the $689 I spent buying it. So far I give it a 5 and will update this review after Iíve had it a while longer.
 
<— Page 4 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.