eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


donate to eham
Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur (inc. HF+6M+VHF+UHF models) | Yaesu FT-450D Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu FT-450D
Yaesu FT-450D Reviews: 121 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $$899.00
Description: 160-6 Meter Base/Mobile/Portable Transceiver.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd=DisplayProducts&ProdCatID=102&encProdID=870B3CA7CFCB61E6A599B0EFEA2217E4&DivisionID=65&isArchived=0
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu FT-450D.

<— Page 4 of 13 —>

KB1VXP Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2014 14:39 Send this review to a friend
FT 450 D Reciew  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just an all around great HF rig. Good value, relatively easy to use. DSP works well. I recommend this rig to someone who wants to have a quality feature filled radio without having to spend an arm and a leg.
 
26JLH Rating: 5/5 Jan 28, 2014 15:24 Send this review to a friend
nice job  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
got one 2 weeks ago works well sounds a lot better than the strait 450.
has nice filters and tilt feet now i am very happy at last.

jeff m0prf
 
ON8ON Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2013 01:06 Send this review to a friend
Excellent ! Quality-price ratio !  Time owned: more than 12 months
Unbeatable quality-price ratio!
The vfo ( encoder ) was defective on my 450D (not on my two others 450 and 450AT)
As usual, excellent service from WIMO.de
I had the choice to return it to change this vfo encoder or they sent the part to me.
I thus did it myself, that takes 30 minutes.
Not HUM return on mine of production end year 2012. ( 2Lxxxxx )
Excellent DSP and vocal equalissor. more punch and power on the #6 selection, with the MD100
Excellent tuner, but I do not use it. Because a ACOM PA is behind and with the HEXBEAM of Anthony G3TXQ not need a tuner on the 6 bands (6 to 20m)
Same on /P give very good results, but then i use the ATU a little bit ...
So, same with the bad encoder, i give one 5/5.
And 10/10 on WIMO.de Team for all the support/info for antennas, RM and ACOM PA, TRX and more; from 2009 to ...
73 de YVES -ON8ON-
 
KB1TJY Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2013 06:59 Send this review to a friend
Great Rig With One Major Drawback  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Fantastic rig, love it, and I cannot overstate the positives already said about the FT450-D. The only annoying, major drawback is the lack of keypad entry. Other than that, a great rig.
 
SA2CER Rating: 5/5 Oct 20, 2013 11:39 Send this review to a friend
Amazing HF-Rig  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The FT-450D is outstanding.
It has just about everything a big HF-Rig has, But in a smaller format. But not too small. I have owned three of these. The first one I've sold, I'll regret imidiatly. Went to a full size rig and the first thing I was thinking was how unnessiserily big it was in format. The FT-450D had everything including same fine reciver, Why sit behind a large box if you dont need to. Another aspect for me was it to be resenobly transportable, a big rig arent that.
It has an fantastic DSP! Good transmit audio too.
The menue system is not too much hazle to learn as some other radios.
The FT-450D is built like a tank. The built in antennatuner and its many automatic memorys are really quick!

The only cons is that I had to exchange the digital encoder (A well known problem) As I am a technichan my self, Wimo in Germany sent me a new and better one wich me and a co worker put into place. The one that sat in the radio seem to com from a toy-factory, absolutly not in parity with the rest of the radio. I have mailed Yaesu about this -Total silence!!
After this operation the radio works as i dream.

Yaesu has to be more alert both to their customers and what comes inside their radios.

The radio is so good that I, despite of my trubble not hezitate to give it no 5 for its technical performance and design.
I'll give Yaesu as a company no 2 for not taking care of these known problems. They have one of the finest radio products in the world, But it's about time they starts to listening to their coustomers better and don't try to cut corners. That can eraze their position in no time. -So don't gamble Yaesu!
Your products is too good for that.
 
CR7000 Rating: 5/5 Oct 19, 2013 16:47 Send this review to a friend
Excellent  Time owned: more than 12 months
This little marvel from Yaesu will take some beating

The receiver and dsp are excellent, and make it a pleasure to listen to.

In its price range nothing comes close

 
UX0IM Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2013 03:12 Send this review to a friend
Great radio!!!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Despite the fact that the faulty encoder and no guarantee I like the radio. Lots of features good sensitivity and excellent selectivity. I consider it one of the most successful devices Yesu in this price category
 
WM4RB Rating: 5/5 Oct 10, 2013 15:03 Send this review to a friend
GREAT RADIO!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I use this radio in my RV and could not be more pleased with it. Great radio for the price!
 
N6PAT Rating: 0/5 Oct 10, 2013 08:34 Send this review to a friend
DO NOT BUY THIS RADIO!!!!!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased this radio from HRO on 4/27/2013 and it started having problems right away.

First, it would not produce the advertised 100W PEP SSB. The most I could get out of it was about 70W PEP
and that was with me screaming into the mike. I contacted HRO about this and was told I needed to contact Yaesu service dept in California (I live in NY).

I called the service dept in CA and the tech went back and forth about this on the phone with me for 20 minutes. He refused to believe I was not getting 100W PEP SSB. He told me he would get a new radio from the warehouse and test it to be certain that a FT450D would actually produce 100W PEP SSB and promised to call me back with the results. A week went by with no call so I called them back and asked why no one called me back. They apologized and said they would call me back by the end of the day. I waited until 9pm and no call. That was over 4 months ago.

Now during these past few weeks two new problems developed.

First, the mike connection stopped working. I use a Heil Proset 6 headset and the required Heil mike cable and Heil HS2 hand switch. For some reason I could no longer switch to transmit. The connection was not working. I thought it was the hand switch or cable so I bought new ones at DX Engineering and still had the same problem. I found out that if I wiggle the modular mike plug I could get it to work or if I turned the radio off and back on it would start working again.

Second, the VFO started acting crazy. If I tried to go up the band the frequency display would start dropping down. If I tried to tune down the band the display would go up or to some random frequency in the band. After calling Yaesu service again they finally said it was a bad encoder and I needed to pay to have the radio shipped to CA from NY for repairs.

I started to do some investigation and found many complaints right here on eHam (read all the prior reviews from VE3CGU, K4CMD, WK3N, M6AZA, KM0K - they all said they had the same problem) and found that the encoder problem is a well known issue dating back to 2011 when the radio was first released. This got me mad. Yaesu knew about this problem and continued to sell these radios without a recall to fix them.

I should point out that in order to continue using the radio I was forced to purchase Ham Radio Deluxe for $100 + buy a CAT cable just so I could control the VFO via my computer.

Now I just got off the phone with HRO after arguing with them about paying good money and receiving a defective radio. They told me to send it to Yaesu and I told them I will not pay shipping charges just because they sold me a defective radio. After a lot of arguing on the phone HRO said they would refund my money.

If you decide to purchase an FT450D and start experiencing the same problems I have then you have no one to blame but yourself because I have given you the benefit of my experiences with this radio.

I am now going to pack this radio up and send it back to HRO for a full refund and I will not be buying another Yaesu radio anytime soon.

Goodbye Yaesu - Hello Kenwood, ICOM and TEN TEC



 
VK3JLS Rating: 5/5 Sep 15, 2013 23:27 Send this review to a friend
A Good Value for money Rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I recently renewed my interest in Ham radio (Feb 2013) and investigated what rig to purchase. I reviewed the TS 480SAT, FT 857D, IC-7200, and the FT-450D. In the end I decided on the FT-450D based on eham reviews, price and features, with the inbuilt tuner probably being a key deciding factor. Having now used the rig for 6 months, Iíve got to say that I have been entirely happy with the choice.

The rig has worked flawlessly over that time, with no hint of any problems. While I have never received a bad audio report, I have nevertheless recently started using the MD-100 mike, (purely for operating convenience).

Operation of the radio and the menu structure is now second nature. Programming of the unit is simple and straightforward, and the ease with which to generate a 10W carrier for operating an external antenna tuner is a breeze.

I wouldnít rate the internal ATU as great, and in hindsight shouldnít have expected it to be that way. A month ago, I purchased an external tuner which has been terrific. If I had known of the inbuilt ATU limitations before purchase, would I have still decided on this rig? Donít know, but all I can say is that after 6 months, I have worked 70 DXCC countries with a wire antenna, and am entirely happy with the performance, and the reports I have received.

So even with the ATU limitations, I still give the rig a 5/5. Why? The receiver is really good, and the DSP features are quite effective; transmitter canít be faulted based on reports received; and the menu operation is quite understandable after working through it.
I love this radio, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a rig in this price range.

John
VK3JLS
 
<— Page 4 of 13 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.