eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Cushcraft ASL-2010 HF Log Periodic Help


Reviews Summary for Cushcraft ASL-2010 HF Log Periodic
Cushcraft ASL-2010 HF Log Periodic Reviews: 8 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $629
Description: The Cushcraft ASL2010 is an HF log periodic, offering continuous 5 band operation from 13.532 MHz. Forward gain and beamwidth are constant for uniform coverage from 1020m. The antenna is rated for continuous operation at full legal limit, and is supplied with stainless steel hardware for years of reliable use.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cushcraftamateur.com/
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Cushcraft ASL-2010 HF Log Periodic.

M0STO Rating: 5/5 Sep 27, 2014 18:45 Send this review to a friend
Winning at the start.  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
What a performer. Works really well and even though it's not exactly designed for portable I take it to portable contests. OK it takes 4 hours to assemble properly and get tuned but then again we work the other side of the planet on 10,12,15,17 and 20 with 200w with minimal effort. Good sturdy construction and well thought out construction. Elements tend to droop but that's unavoidable due to length. Must be 5 out of 5 as using WSPR and JT65 I can work Australia from the UK of 2w easily. Bad points only one springs to mind the price. 1000 in the UK or $1600. If you can do away with 12m and 17m then get the A4S as I have the ASL2010, A4S and A3S and A4S winos over because of cost only (and it's a damn sight easier to take portable). Mine is on a SCAM 12 when not out in the field.
 
WC4X Rating: 5/5 Jul 15, 2010 19:00 Send this review to a friend
Still going strong after 11 years!  Time owned: more than 12 months
What more can I say! I have had this antenna up at 2 different locations during the past 11 years through all kinds of weather and high winds. It just keeps working! In pile ups, I generally have no problem working anything I can hear--usually with only 100 watts. Mine is on a house bracketed Rohn 25G tower at about 55 Ft. For a rugged antenna covering 20 thru 10 meters, it remains a winner.
 
DL5VZ Rating: 5/5 Jan 16, 2009 04:30 Send this review to a friend
Great DX Performer, big storm surviver  Time owned: more than 12 months
Hello all
After 4 years working DX with this antenna i am still satisfied with its performance. 5 Bands, no tuner. Surviving all storms up to 135km/h it gave me well sleeping nights during big storms. Only boom to mast clamp seems to be a bit small and was replaced by heavy duty clamp. Elements hanging down with ice covering, but no damage so far. Following the manual the constructions is easy for everybody,no retuning nessesary after mounting.SWR flat on all bands, exceeding 1.7:1 on 20m. No lossy Traps equalizing the little smaller gain of other yagis.
Resuming: By it, mount it and be happy
vy 73, see you in the pile-ups
 
A92HB Rating: 5/5 Nov 12, 2007 02:07 Send this review to a friend
Working well, but not the one I wanted...  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
My new 2010 is working well and I am enjoying the pile ups here in Bahrain (when time permits).
It would be nice to see a few extra nuts, bolts, washers and jubilee clips added to the package, I am sure that the manufacturer could afford to add some bits and bobs, after all, 800 is a pile of cash for a box of aluminium tubing. Boom to mast clamps could be improved, although they are adequate. Follow the step by step measurements and not the overall measurements when building the elements, one element has a difference of 100mm when comparing the two lots of figures, (although no one believes me), overall measurement of 38' on the longest element is ok, and is the only way to measure this element. I really wanted the same antenna as I use at home in GM, an Optibeam, but the delivery time was to far away for me.

73's and good d/x,

John www.johnblack.org
 
K3ICH Rating: 5/5 May 1, 2007 06:23 Send this review to a friend
2.5 Year Follow-Up  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well, The ASL-2010 has been up for about 2.5 years and has seen many a time with an inch of ice on the elements. They sagged a bit, but didn't break. It also survived our worst April wind storm yet (65 MPH gusts) here in Virginia, which by the way, was our coldest April in 132 years. (So much for Gore-Bull warming!)

I'd like to see a Hy-Gain style boom to mast clamp instead of the typical double U bolt system that Cush-Craft uses, but I guess it's adequate. The wind rotated the boom about 120 degrees, but the rotor (Tail-Twister) survived and nothing broke. The 20 meter element is a very few degrees off horizontal, but I'm not going to bother with it. The Hy-gain clamp would allow me to easily tilt the antenna and fix the 20 M el. alignment.

Performance wise, I have been very pleased with the antenna. Forward gain is what I expected, and the pattern seems to be clean with great good F-B and F-Side.

Even with the auto-tuners built-in most of our radios these days, it's nice to have low SWR to start with on the antenna.

I think that the lower gain of a log is made up for by the fact that there's no extra loss in any traps, or, antenna tuner required.

Remember, no tuner is 100% efficient. That point was driven home by the fact that a particular Yaesu auto-tuner has a cooling fan!
 
N3KS Rating: 5/5 Oct 11, 2003 21:12 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Performer  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just replaced a 3-el 5 band GEM quad (single line feed) with the ASL-2010 - both at 52 feet high. The performance of the antenna has been outstanding. VSWR / FB as specified and it seems to radiate really well. Better than the quad on 10 and 12 meters, a bit better on 15 and close on 17 and 20 meters. I've been real pleased with how well it gets out. I will report back after a couple of winters to see how it holds up - but it seems very well put together.
 
KI0DN Rating: 5/5 Jun 23, 2003 01:00 Send this review to a friend
FB Performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
Up in Minnesota for two winters now, no icing problems. I am using a Yaesu G-800DXA but feel I could have gotten by with a lighter duty rotator if I had to. The design makes a transmatch absolutely unnecessary. A check with an antenna analyzer may indicate some usefulness on higher bands via harmonics. A question directed to Cushcraft technical service yielded a prompt, courteous, and friendly response.
 
HB9DDS Rating: 5/5 Apr 5, 2003 16:08 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Antennasystem  Time owned: more than 12 months
I put my ASL 2010 up 4 yoears ago. I live at a place with high wind (up to 100 MpH) and had no problems at all. For my Opinion it is a good Antenna, She covers 10/12/15/17/20m and she is lightweight Construction without any traps. I would recommend higly this Antenna. Before I had a A4S and, so far, there is no significant different. What I hear, I can work in the most cases, also with QRP (5W, Phone). The SWR is also good (1:1.2 - 1:1.6) and I had no Problem with Ice in Winter. The Idea of a LogPer is good.
 


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.