eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | Kenwood TR 751A Help


Reviews Summary for Kenwood TR 751A
Kenwood TR 751A Reviews: 38 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $225-350 used TU7 45+
Description: 2 Meter All Mode Transceiver. 25 Watts RF Output.
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hammulti/tr751a.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Kenwood TR 751A.

Page 1 of 4 —>

G4TRA Rating: 5/5 Aug 21, 2017 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Great performance for 2m DXers  Time owned: more than 12 months
It seems odd to be reviewing what is essentially a 30 year old transceiver, but such is the loyal following of this remarkable 2m mobile multi mode that I will add my views too.

Having owned a TR9000 from new in 1980 and looking for a replacement for local FM monitoring duties, I was pleased to be offered just a year ago, a complete with box, all accessories and paperwork TR751E in stunning order for the price of a few pints down the pub.

The TR751E is an exceptional performer RF wise, on a par with the TS790E of the same era that I use for EME DXing . The radio runs 25w and low power variable, pending where you set an internal pot, so it is easy to match to any linear amplifier requirements. Using a collinear 6.2dB gain antenna I add a solid state 150w amplifier to balance the tremendous receive capability, that way I can work what I hear. Also it performs very well in the face of strong signal competition, both in and out of band.

Forget it if you want combined HF, band scopes, D star, the modern trappings of 2m and compromised mediocre performance, for this is a red hot performing 2m multi mode with a very sensitive, low noise GasFet front end. It offers great transmit audio and a rock stable VCO, with the design optimised for the one band. It is simple, and straight forward to operate with no hidden menus, multi push function buttons or displays to scan through. The LCD display is clear, easy to understand and the controls laid out in a logical and ergonomic manner. The conventional S meter is easy to read and the indented main tuning control easy to use with a variety of tuning speeds (VFO spacings) available.

CTSS modules are available if you wish to work through your local repeater from Piexx in the US at $64 for the TU7. The VS1 voice module is harder to find, but operators manuals are available for download and hard copy versions are easily found too.

Many have mentioned the one weak point which is the Kenwood unique Volume/Squelch control which can go noisy or intermittent. This is not a problem, as a replacement for a range of Galaxy CB transceivers: Pt No RV50303522 will suffice. With a little ingenuity it can be made to fit and works very well. It's available from Barkett Electronics (amongst others) in the USA will cost about $26 to ship it over to you in 7 days. Easy.

This is a iconic radio, the last of the 2m mobile multi modes and the best in the TR9000,TR9130, TR751E series, plus at the current prices a superb entry level radio for trying successful 2m weak signal DXing whether it be FM, CW or SSB. You'll not be disappointed.
 
W6PMR Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2015 22:10 Send this review to a friend
Very good radio.  Time owned: more than 12 months
One of Kenwoods better rigs. Wonderful, easy to use and good performance.
Getting a little old now, (2015) but if you
want to get into all mode 2 meter operation and
one of these comes your way, grab it.
 
GW8JLY Rating: 5/5 Apr 8, 2013 06:22 Send this review to a friend
A truly great 2m multimode radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
There are just 2 words that can properly describe the Kenwood TR-751 (e) or (a) - "Absolutely Brilliant".
I made the mistake a few years ago of selling the one I had and regetted it ever since. A week or so ago I thought "I must buy another" and started a search on Ebay for one in good condition that was free of the dreaded twin pots issue. Fortunately I found one in very good cosmetic condtion and perfect electrically. I intend to use it for my portable expeditions to the Welsh mountains, matching the radio with a Microset SR2000 SSPA. I can't wait for some good weather and some good band conditions to coincide.
The TR751e has a very sensitive receiver (with a GaAsfet front end device) and a very clean transmitter too. It produces just over 25w on the high power setting and has been set to 10w on the low power setting - just right for driving the SSPA in a portable enviroment. I really can't find any fault in the TR751e except perhaps that setting the correct tuning step is just a little cumbersome. I have compared its performance to a Kenwood TS790e, A Kenwood TS2000e and a Yaesu FT897d and found that it performs as well or better on 2m than all these other three radios.
If you decide to buy one too, check carefully that the 2, twin core pots, Vol/Squelch and RF gain/RIT are OK. If these are fine you probably won't find another better 2m radio anywhere for the price these units sell at.
 
OE5BFM Rating: 5/5 Jan 5, 2012 01:38 Send this review to a friend
Simply Great!  Time owned: more than 12 months
During 30 years of Ham Radio I used a lot of VHF / UHF Transceivers. Most of them worked fine, but often had some unpleasing faults, e.g. getting too hot, not very reliable especially in the car, not very sensitive and so on.

I bought this rig used because I read quite often that this TRX should be one of the best 2m Allmodes. Usually I use it in FM Mode, but during contests and fielddays also in SSB, with fine DX-success.

So I can say, if best receiving performance is important this is really the best rig I have owned so far, surprisingly even a bit better than the compared IC-275 which I had before!
If you want a broadband receiver with quick scanner and 1000 memories, this isn´t the right TRX for you.
The TR 751 is simply to operate, it get´s only hand warm at 25 watts and no noisy fan, some important settings (Modulation, S-Meter, Power Output for driving an amp) are easy to adjust which is well described in the servicemanual.
The modulation is fine still with the stocked mike, the S-Meter shows a bit too much in FM, but this happens other rigs too and is adjustable inside.

So I agree that this rig is one of the best 2m Allmodes ever made.

73!
Herb
 
K7LA Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2010 12:22 Send this review to a friend
Great Used Rig  Time owned: more than 12 months
In summary, a terrific receiver and clear transmit audio. Match it up with a small amplifier and good directional antennas and you've got a winner. Got mine at a ham club raffle drawing, and I grin everytime I use it.
 
VE6CPP Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2010 07:25 Send this review to a friend
Great Rigs !!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Great Lil Rig although lacking a few of the 'Bells and Whistles' of the larger ones. I picked one up on E-Bay a couple years ago, intended for /P use..but it now does SSB/MS and EME in the shack using a 300W Mirage. The only rigs I have seen that can beat the .12uv Rx are .11uv for 10x the cost of these ! I started a User Group if anyone is interested.. http://ca.groups.yahoo.com/group/TR-751_851/
73
Jerry VE6CPP
DN39or
 
WA4JWU Rating: 5/5 Dec 12, 2010 20:26 Send this review to a friend
great  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned one of these for more than 15 years now. I purchased another one about 2 years ago and just today bought another one that has a bad pot on the vol switch. I will check my source to see if any are still in stock. They are close replacements but work great for me, total audio is a little lower but has not been an issue, and they are turn on rather than push models.
The only issue I have is the bad pots, you can take them apart and rebuild them or there is sometimes replacements that can be found on the net.
Best receiver ever made for 2 M SSB. 25 watts out is a little light but a cheap brick will get you up and running in short order.
Best of all, there is no menu's, just knobs a buttons. You got a like that.
To bad the 3 bigs don't still make all modes like this. I would be 1st in line to get a new model.
 
G1HQK Rating: 5/5 Oct 16, 2010 09:44 Send this review to a friend
Brilliant  Time owned: more than 12 months
Had mine from new and it was fab, my only regret was that I sold it several years ago for a shack in a box, wonder why the big names have not continued with this type of radio, there is a market for them worldwide.
 
GM6TVR Rating: 1/5 Jun 12, 2010 02:18 Send this review to a friend
Disaster  Time owned: more than 12 months
Traded in my super 9130 for the 751E, used it for two weeks, went to work in Dubai, switched it on 13 months after purchase only to find the microprocessor had gone down. Cost me an arm and a leg to have it repaired, plus the usual UK courier charges. Fired it up on my next return home and found that it transmitted elsewhere in the spectrum. Traded this one in for six tins of dog meat. Never replaced Kenwood with Kenwood ever again. Good luck with yours, John
 
ZL3JT Rating: 4/5 Feb 9, 2010 15:15 Send this review to a friend
Squelch control  Time owned: more than 12 months
Kenwood TR751 and TR851 Volume/Squelch control repair.

Part number: R23-9402-05

This part is now discontinued but might be repairable. Test each pot resistance to ensure the carbon track is OK. Squelch 50k Volume 20K (some may vary)

1. Dismantle the radio to expose the unit and remove it from the circuit board.
2. Carefully file off the ends of the two rivets flush with the rear plate.
3. Prise the rear plate off, and remove the switch unit.
4. Pull out the rivets, then remove the ‘C’ clip from the central shaft.
5. Remove the central (volume shaft).
6. Dismantle each potentiometer in turn, taking care not to mix the parts.
7. Clean the wipers with contact cleaner on the cotton bud.
8. The centre contact ring of each potentiometer will be dirty and oxidized, clean and polish the contact rings with silver polishing fluid soaked cotton bud. Then clean off the excess, and buff with a clean bud.
9. Temporarily assemble each pot, hold together and test resistance between the centre wiper and the outside terminals as the control is rotated.
10. Reassemble each unit with a touch of lubricant. (WD40 or CRC56)
11. Manufacture new rivets from copper wire, reassemble the units in reverse order of dismantling, and fit new rivets, (see below).
12. Carefully refit the rear plate, and re-rivet by tapping carefully with a small jeweller’s hammer.
13. Test resistances again for full rotation, then assemble the circuit board and re-assemble the radio.

This is a very delicate operation as the units are tiny. Great care must be taken when riveting, and ensure the head of each rivet is directly on an ‘anvil’ otherwise the plastic components will break.

Manufacture of rivets.
The rivet diameter is 0.038 inches, approximately 1.0mm. I used copper wire 1.0mm.
I made a jig in my lathe out of ½ inch brass hex, about 10mm long, drilled a 1.0mm hole in the centre, then cut with a fine jeweller’s saw from one side into the centre hole. This jig enable me to grip the copper wire in the lathe chuck. With about 0.5mm of wire protruding out of the jig, I carefully formed the rivet head by tapping with a jeweller’s hammer as the lathe slowly turned.
Then I reversed the formed rivet in the jig, and at a distance of 25.0mm, and leaving 1.5mm exposed, I used a fine file to reduce the diameter of the rivet to fit the holes in the rear plate. Check the correct length by careful measurement.
Assemble was a little tight as the copper wire is about 0.002 inches too large, but it was not difficult and made the whole unit feel ‘tight’.
Fit the rear plate, and test the potentiometers again, check the operation of the switch etc, before carefully forming the rivet ends over to finish. Make sure the units are held with the rivet heads on the ‘anvil’ as the other ends are formed with a jeweller’s hammer. Take your time, many taps with a 1 ounce hammer, rather than a few with a bigger one. The ‘shoulder’ on the rivet should match the rear plate to take the stress away from the switch and pots while riveting.
If you don't want to tackle this job yourself, find someone who will and use this for a guide!
Q & A via QRZ.com/zl3jt
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.