eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Voice Keyers | BX-184 kit Help


Reviews Summary for BX-184 kit
BX-184 kit Reviews: 15 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $$59
Description: A Voice Keyer kit that fits inside a Yaesu MH-31 mic case.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dh8bqa.de/ssp-mh31/ssp-mh31.html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the BX-184 kit.

Page 1 of 2 —>

EA5IGC Rating: 5/5 Nov 1, 2014 07:05 Send this review to a friend
I won't call CQ without it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I built this kit in a couple of hours just after I bought my first HF radio, a FT-817ND. I worked for about a month before without it and nearly lost my voice on several occasions. This gadget is now completely indispensable. I also get very favourable comments on my audio quality and modulation so the little electret insert must be pretty good. I attached my mic insert with Blu-Tack rather than hot glue so that I could change back to the standard Yaesu MH-31 in just a few minutes. This week I got my first 100W radio, a FT-450D and I'm hoping it will work with that too. It's certainly promising since both the FT-450D and FT-817ND are shipped with the same MH031 microphone.

One might ask why you'd need this with a 450D since that radio does include a built-in voice playback function. Well, yes it does. 10 seconds and you need to keep pressing the playback button. With the BX-184 you get up to 60 seconds of message which it will play back (with a configurable listen pause) indefinitely until you click the PTT to stop it.
 
VE7VTC Rating: 5/5 Feb 24, 2014 16:01 Send this review to a friend
Quality kit  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This kit has excellent quality parts and works well on the FT-817ND. I ordered the kit with the mic enclosure (to keep my stock mic intact) and it all went together without a problem. The instructions are generally good when combined with the pictures. Look at the pictures carefully as there are good construction hints that are not in the instructions (such as covering the weight screws with hot glue to prevent loosening and to insulate them). They could provide info about setting RP1 audio level but that is nit-picking. Also the builder is left to to cover the 1-2 switch hole in the back of the mic enclosure. I used electrical tape on the inside shell filled with hot glue from the outside. Overall I am very pleased with the quick shipping, price, product quality and good audio reports on the air.
 
FP5CJ Rating: 5/5 Feb 18, 2014 10:58 Send this review to a friend
good also with FT 817ND plus AMP  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I forgot to say that it is working very fine too,with a 200W HF mobile AMP behind he FT817ND.
Modulation is very good.
It is then a very usefull D-V-R gadget to get through pile up's OTA,and without getting tired announcing our callsign OTA on and on...
73
JP
 
DG2IAQ Rating: 5/5 Jan 9, 2014 01:00 Send this review to a friend
Just perfect ! With 5++  Time owned: more than 12 months
Just an update to my posting of May 2011.

In the meanwhile I own 4x BX-184. As I'm always a critical audio listener and as I hardly can be satisfied, this means this product cannot be that bad, I guess ... :-)

2x for my both Yaesu FT-817ND portable
1x for my Yaesu FT-847 at home
1x for my Icom IC-7200 home/portable

One major thing I always changed on all four kits.

I do always replace C8 (4,7F) by a nonpolarised SMD 1,0F to fasten up the AGC. With this Change the internal AGC works more as a mic compressor than as a (slightly delayed) mic Level limiter.

Especially great results on the FT-817ND which has no internal speech compressor or speech processor by its design. And the additional "voice keyer" is a big plus for getting real "relaxed" CQ calls with the (poor) QRP power. This makes life much easier, hihi.

Yesterday I received the last one (for my IC-7200). And for the first time I changed R4 (82k) into 56k to bring the sample rate from 8kHz up to 12kHz (by a shortened play time of 40s instead of 60s, but that's still more than enough for my needs). This change gives even more punch for the replayed calls as the sound is a little more high-pitched afterwards. You simply can solder a 100k SMD in parallel to R4 instead of completely replacing it.
But I fully agree with the other collegues here: Even in stock design (= 8kHz sampling rate) people usually won't hear any difference in between the human voice and the recorded one.

My conclusion:
Absolutely top product with a good RF resistance (no doubts to be used with a FT-817) and a good sound. And with an optionally slight fast compression by changing one electrolyt capacitor.


vy 73,
Jochen, DG2IAQ
 
VK3XPT Rating: 5/5 Sep 4, 2013 04:40 Send this review to a friend
Excellent results!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the BX-184 kit over 12 months ago (with the help of Google Translate), and I am glad I did.

I have tried a number of different microphones with my FT-817ND and without doubt, the BX-184 audio has proven the best. I have done side by side microphone tests with DX stations, without fail the BX-184 is a clear winner. It drives the FT-817 harder than the standard Yaesu mics with more clarity, and it appears it provide a small and welcomed amount of compression.

And lets not forget the voice keyer - it works great and recorded audio is transmitted with perfect quality - receiving stations can not tell the difference between a recorded call, and a "live" call. Working QRP and calling CQ, or trying to break through a pile-up is no longer a tiring process. The BX-184 takes care of that!

The only point worth mentioning is that the FAST (FST) feature is not accessible on an FT817 when using this microphone, as the FST button is used to control the recording and playback functions. You can use your standard mic to select Fast or Normal tune modes, and the rig will remember your setting. (I always use Fast mode and this has never caused me a problem).

Despite the lack of FST functionality when used with the FT-817, the BX-184 is worthy of a 5/5 rating.
 
K2JB Rating: 5/5 Jun 27, 2013 07:08 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Kit  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I looked all over for a voice keyer for my IC-706MKIIG and this was exactly what I needed. I was able to assemble it quickly without any issues. I saved my voice in the last contest. Olli, DH8BQA was very helpful in assisting me with the transaction. He has made an excellent kit and I recommend it to anyone looking for a voice keyer mic.

Dean ~ k2jb
 
S58J Rating: 5/5 Mar 17, 2013 04:24 Send this review to a friend
Must have  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
It is simple and highly functional and as a bonus it makes your modulation better (even when not in repeating message mode).

I use it with my FT-817ND and this addition makes this beautiful little rig even better.

If you compare it to other DVK modules for bigger rigs it is cheap as well.

I highly recommend it!!!
 
DL4EAX Rating: 5/5 Jun 19, 2012 23:56 Send this review to a friend
Just great!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This kit is easy to build, since the SMD components are already pre-assembled. Replacing the interior of original MH-31 with the board provided by the kit works fine, all fits 100% OK. The only thing that needs a bit patience is hot gluing the new electret capsule into the original MH-31. Just take your time and it will work.

Once you have finished the kit, you will have a MH-31 microphone that can call CQ for you. Very handy for SOTA and WFF expedition, because you have to take a microphone with you anyway.

Operating is easy and intuitive.

I use the BX-184 with a FT-847 and an Elecraft K2 (where the microphone is wired like the FT-847). Good audio reports and a bit of extra punch compared to the original MH-31.

For contesting and when working from home there may be other solutions like playing audio from the PC, but for portable (QRP) operation where no computer is around, the BX-184 is really what I have been looking for.
 
DG1BHA Rating: 5/5 May 3, 2012 13:16 Send this review to a friend
Great kit!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought two of these. Easy to assemble, only few through-hole parts to solder. Worked right away and fits perfectly in MH-31 enclosure. Very easy kit and very good modulation on my Yaesu FT-847 and Kenwood TS-2000. My father (DL3BUA) also bought two. One for Yaesu FT-817, one for FT-1000MP. They also work very well. Highly recommended! 73 de Heiko
 
EA7EE Rating: 5/5 Mar 7, 2012 16:43 Send this review to a friend
Easy, really works  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am very happy with the voice keyer. Easy to assemble and perfect performance. SMD components are pre-installed.

In testing I was afraid to hear some background noise during playback. However, the recording will not see any kind of background noise, the record is quite clean. The compressor is permanently ON. Thus, it allows for a little more oomph in the modulation of this Yaesu transceivers wich do not include a suitable compressor. It is not necessary to modify the AGC capacitor, as recommended by the manufacturer produces quite pronounced compression without causing distortion.

The only problem, the FunkAmateur site is in German, the purchasing process in German, promptly response of the FunkAmateur staff in German, sent by FAX credit card data in German, etc.. They Should have a English page to purchase securely via credit card or Paypal. Good thing the google translator works wonderful.

Good update for my FT-817.
Manuel
EA7EE
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.