eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Ham Call Sign Accessories | NL7XM Callsign Historical Research Help


Reviews Summary for NL7XM Callsign Historical Research
NL7XM Callsign Historical Research Reviews: 257 Average rating: 5.0/5 MSRP: $Free or 1.00
Description: NL7XM ("Pete the Greek") provides a wonderful service to the ham community by using his vast collection of Callbooks to research original license dates. His work is done as a service to his fellow hams (although he would accept $1.00 to defray copying and mailing costs). Keep him in mind when you have old Callbooks to dispose of. He can be reached at twelvevdc@aol.com
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the NL7XM Callsign Historical Research.

<— Page 5 of 26 —>

KD8RML Rating: 5/5 Jan 25, 2014 08:49 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Service  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
There could not be any service easier or faster for finding "old" call sign information. Pete has dedicated himself to a wonderful service for many people. I contacted him about my great grandfathers call sign, who went SK a month before I was born, and my family couldn't recall any info on it. All I had was name and town, roughly a year. Within a week, Pete had an answer and I had the proof in the mail. Not only did he find the callsign as a novice, but also the next one issued as a technician the year later. Pete is definitely a historian, as he conversed with me about some life details of my g-grandfather that he gathered just from the callbooks. Very friendly person and I highly suggest and recommend his services to all. 73 Pete de KD8RML
 
W5MO Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2014 20:19 Send this review to a friend
Call sign research  Time owned: months
I recently asked Pete to research the previous holders of my present call (W5MO). While I knew the most recent owner (my Elmer in the 1960s), I had no idea he'd originally been issued the call in June 1931, and was actually the third person to hold the call. The call was initially issued in November 1922, and was reassigned in March 1927. Pete was able to provide names, and QTHs, for all three previous owners within 24 hours of my request. Outstanding service, and a nice guy to boot! Highly recommended ...
 
K5BTS Rating: 5/5 Jan 23, 2014 10:00 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding  Time owned: months
Got me the info I needed to confirm my 1960 novice year. Very quick response, very polite to communicate with. He provides a service most of us will need sooner or later. In my case, rebuilding my QSL card files, with call sign certificates, etc. as a detailed snapshot of my ham career all over the world. My very best to Pete
 
K3NRX Rating: 5/5 Jan 18, 2014 08:17 Send this review to a friend
Very Informative....  Time owned: more than 12 months
Consulted The Greek for researching the call sign that I am planning on changing mine to very soon, as I am sick of the 2x3 novice callsign length. For dxing, it hss become a burden & hinderence. Pete researched all of his call books dating back to the 50s to find that the call I wanted was never issued, including the old novice precursor call sign (that had the N in the prefix) was never issued, according to his findings. This was the info I wanted verified. Had the call I want been issued, I would carry on with my current call sign. I don't want to spend the rest of my life knowing I have someone's letters, especially someone who is deceased. Without Pete's effort, I would not have found out the info I needed to know to proceed. Thanks Pete! And Yia Sou!!!!
 
AC0PY Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2013 19:30 Send this review to a friend
FANTASTIC FREE  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I am 64 years old, an Extra Class, I got my Novice License when I was 15 but due to numerous medical problems could not remember it and I really needed to know it. I emailed the ARRL, the FCC and some other sources before I heard about NL7XM. He found my answer extremely fast and free(donations are accepted) and he provides an additional service that is a wallhanger at a very reasonable cost. Buy the way, I still have not received an answer from the other sourses, He is a life saver dedicated great and pleasant to work with
 
K2PM Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2013 18:38 Send this review to a friend
Had Pete look up an old friend from our mutual time in Germany.  Time owned: months
He looked up the fellow's call, tracked it to an 8 year period of inactivity, found him again with a NEW call. He then called the man and asked him if he knew me.(which he didn't with the "new" callsign!) Then he steered me to a net that Fred was active on. The next night I checked in to the net with DL4PM and he started laughing. We reminisced and reviewed old times. That was quite a thrill, and probably would not have happened without NL7XM. Good job, Pete! We thank you!
K2PM
 
W4KBX Rating: 5/5 Dec 9, 2013 08:43 Send this review to a friend
Pete is Amazing!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Pete the Greek, NL7XM, creator of NL7XM Callsign Historical Research, can change your life in one phone call. I asked him about the chances of my old long-expired Technician license being grandfathered back to life and he delighted me with the most encouraging and enjoyable telephone conversation I can remember. He didn't have great news because of a technicality that denied me the easy route back, but his enthusiasm for ham radio and his knowledge of the hobby past, present, and future was pure delight. It was a like chatting with Hiram Percy Maxim himself. Well,

When he called, I expected no more than a quick "sorry, you're done for." I'd found about about the deadly technicality in my path. But no! Pete gave me a clear fascinating picture of what ham radio had been, what it was now, what important changes are likely ahead, and how it all impacted my return to the hobby. I came away inspired to pursue it instead of just dropping it. Pete's quite a proponent.

However this turns out for me, I will always remember Pete's kindness and all the extra-two-miles help he gave me. Ham Radio's lucky to have Pete the Greek.
 
W9JWC Rating: 5/5 Nov 25, 2013 09:05 Send this review to a friend
Very useful information provided  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Pete did a wonderful job with finding the callsign history for the University Amateur Radio Club for which I am the Staff Supervisor. Many students were interested in the historical part of the club and also found the definitive ARRL Sweepstakes category filler for the "check."

GREAT JOB, PETE! The students love you.
 
N2RLA Rating: 5/5 Nov 22, 2013 10:55 Send this review to a friend
Source for Callsign History  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Found out about Pete thru the grapevine.
I sent him a note requesting my "First Licensed"
date, and within 24 hours, I received an email containing my information.
Thanks Pete !!
Ex KB2KIR
 
K1CP Rating: 5/5 Nov 21, 2013 02:04 Send this review to a friend
Great source for callsign information  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Pete responded to my "help" request almost immediately and made it possible for me to give information to a friend about his novice license issued some 55 years ago. If you have questions about a callsign, don't hesitate to email Pete!
 
<— Page 5 of 26 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.