eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones | Shure 444 Help


Reviews Summary for Shure 444
Shure 444 Reviews: 46 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $80.00
Description: Microphone
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.shure.com/pdf/discontinued/444.pdf
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Shure 444.

<— Page 3 of 5 —>

WV4R Rating: 4/5 May 24, 2004 09:19 Send this review to a friend
Rugged Restricted & Reliable ole '444'  Time owned: more than 12 months
Rugged Restricted & Reliable Audio of the ole '444' is a benchmark from yester-year.
I bot my original all-black model in 1978 as an alternative to the higher priced factory desk mics. After hearing them on-air I actually preferred the in-your-face '444' sound to the bassy-sounding factory mics I heard.
I successfully used the '444' on TS-130, TS-820, TS-830, TS130, TS-940 from 1978 to 1985 when it was replaced with the HEIL HC-3 dynamic for all rigs.
Physically, the hi-impact plastic desk mic. has a 2.5" vertical adjustment, PTT bar has a locking notch. The cable is rugged. The sharp case-edges & fixed-angle of mic. element are not suited for anything but desktop operations. A switch enables continuous 'hot-mic' for VOX ops. The Only Real difference I could determine between the original model & the later model is the Color.
Operationally, the controlled magnetic element is hi-impedence(15-100k) ONLY & factory spec'ed 300-3000hz so at best it is 'telephone quality' or 'taxicab dispatch' audio. Omni-directional pickup pattern picks up your voice And everything else in the shack... a great match to the old rigs.
Certainly reliable, an audio benchmark & alternative to high-priced factory mics earns it the wv4r FOUR-Star rating.
73 es God bless, murf/wv4r.
 
KJ7CY Rating: 5/5 May 24, 2004 03:07 Send this review to a friend
Excellant Audio Quality  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using the Shure 444 for about five years now. I first used it on a Yaesu FT840 for a couple years with great audio reports. Then I used it on a Ten Tec Omni D and now use it on my main rig which is a Ten Tec Corsair II. I switched the impedence switch to high impedance for the Omni D and the Corsair II. I always receive excellant audio reports with it. And more than once I have had hams contact me just to comment on the excellant audio and wonder what mic and radio I am using. For the low price these are going for used they are a great buy. Pick one up if you get a chance. I think I paid $35.00 for mine.
 
KX2S Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2004 08:25 Send this review to a friend
Great Mike  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using my Sure 444 since 1981. Purchased it new to use with my Cubic Astro-103.
I sill use both mike and rig. I have always received excellent audio reports with it. I know everyone now says the standard is Heil. But when questioning Bob Heil at Dayton he was not even sure one of his mikes would even work with my rig. I guess if it aint broke dont fix it.
73 Ed
 
KG6UEQ Rating: 5/5 Apr 26, 2004 02:15 Send this review to a friend
Clear Sounding Mic  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought a new 444D in 1980 and used it on a CB rig. Was told it had very clear sound to it. I haven't used this on any ham equipment yet, but that day may come.
 
W3DCG Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2004 21:45 Send this review to a friend
Price vs Performance  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's a microphone.
Have received unsolicited reports of "great audio" with a Pegasus, barefoot to a dipole.
Generally on the narrower than default TX bandwidth setting, 2.25 Kc.

Mine came with an old Corsair I bought. Worked great with it, too.

If one can get over the Sheriff's office/Taxi Cab company look, and focus on the sound, one would be hard-pressed to objectively rate it lower.

But with microphones, as with Keys and Paddles, ratings are probably subjective.
 
M3SKF Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2004 20:31 Send this review to a friend
good reports  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
great audio reports with this mike works fine with my 3 hf rigs go get one now.
 
W7XBS Rating: 5/5 Dec 15, 2003 22:12 Send this review to a friend
Crystal Clear - Punches Through  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my 444D in 1979 and used it briefly. Now some 25 years later it will be resurrected for its second life. I've been told this mic has a very "clear" quality to it. If you have a chance to buy one, I'd say grab it.
 
GW4JPC Rating: 5/5 Aug 7, 2003 16:07 Send this review to a friend
Never Bettered  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my 444 in June 1980 and have used it with a variety of British and American rigs.It suits all the old KW tube rigs made in England during the 60's and 70's.Worked well with a Swan 100MX, Drake TR4C,Ten Tec Omni-C and Omni-V.Currently use it with my Omni-C.The response characteristic is spot on for SSB with it rise toward the top end.
Some people are under the impression that the 401A is a handheld version of the 444.It is not,the capsule is different having a flatter response making it less intelligible over the air.
Mechanically it may not look pretty, but it is very tough.Even the cable is extra durable.
Highly recommended,although I do not know what the spare parts availability is like.I have never had to find out.
 
AA8YE Rating: 5/5 May 20, 2003 15:50 Send this review to a friend
Bought this beauty at Dayton Hamfest 2003  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I wired this mic to my Icom 735 and have had excellent audio reports. It's to bad Heil has to charge so much for a microphone that sounds almost as good! I am a Musician/Sound tech. and listen carefully to audio on HF. I guess what really interests me is how audio from one station to the next isn't that much different, unless you get into Broadcast quality equipment.
 
M3BBP Rating: 4/5 May 20, 2003 14:35 Send this review to a friend
suprising quality  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
My Shure 444 mic was thrown in with a recently purchased second hand Kenwood TS-830S. I didn't like the look of the Shure. It looked ugly and clunky! However over time I experimented with my audio and just for fun I compared it to my standard Kenwood MC-50 desk mic and was completely surprised when the Shure 444 out performed the manufacturers recommended mic.

Hence, the Kenwood MC-50 mic is now connected to my standby radio (a TS-530S) and the Shure has remained attached to my main radio. After my months of constant use, the appearance of the Shure is starting to grow on me ;-)

The moral of the story is... it may look a tad out of place in my Kenwood line up, but it sure packs one hell of a punch. If you come across one of these mics try it, you may be very surprised of the quality of its audio like I was.
 
<— Page 3 of 5 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.