eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net



[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

iHAB-3 Launch Announcement -- March 5, 2011:

from W0OTM on February 28, 2011
Website: http://www.ihabproject.com
Add a comment about this article!

HAB-3 Launch Announcement

The iHAB Team is excited to announce the next launch of the iHAB Project! iHAB-3 is scheduled to launch March 5, 2011 at 15:00Z (10AM CST). We will launch from Ottumwa, IA. Preflight will begin at 14:00Z (9AM CST).

iHAB-3 is an important launch for the iHAB Team as we have been designing/building payload control systems. These systems allow ground based control stations to send commands to the payload. This flight, we will demonstrate the abliity to activate/deactivate the 20M beacon at controlled intervals.

Visit http://www.ihabproject.com/iHAB-3/ for updated Flight News, and Launch Information.

Be sure to checkout the interactive Mission Control site for those who wish to follow the iHAB-3 Launch LIVE!

=== The launch of i-HAB3 will be webcast LIVE starting at 9AM CST, so please plan to visit Mission Control. ===

http://www.ihabproject.com/iHAB-3/MissionControl.php

FlightComm for this launch:
KØBRP - Fairfield, IA
147.33Ø+ KØBRP
WA6GUF - Burlington, IA
146.790- Tone: 100.00
Everyone is invited to login and enjoy the chase.

Launch Details:

Saturday - March 5, 2011
Preflight: 14:00Z - 9AM CST (Webcast LIVE)
Launch: 15:00Z - 10AM CST

Flight Prediction:
Burst Altitude: 28,910m (94,825ft)
Range: 169.2km (105mi), Flight Time: 3hr23
Landing: South of Davenport, IA

CURRENT FLIGHT STATUS:
=== GO ===
Updated: Mon Feb 28 14:36:00 CST 2011

FlightComm:
KØBRP - Fairfield, IA
147.33Ø+ KØBRP
WA6GUF - Burlington, IA
146.790- Tone: 100.00

APRS - W0OTM-2 (Chase Truck)

Propulsion:
600g He

Payload:
Cellular GPS Tracking
Boostmobile- Motorola i290

APRS - W0OTM-4
144.39Mhz

2ØM QRP Beacon
14.Ø59.Ø Mhz
"iHAB-3 High Alt Balloon"
* See beacon schedule
Homebrew ~ 1.6W
(Thank you WAØITP for the build!)

Keep Looking Up!
Marshall Dias - W0OTM

iHAB - Iowa High Altitude Balloon Project
614 North Court - Ottumwa, Iowa 52501
http://www.ihabproject.com - (641) 777-7046

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
Santa Barbara Library to Contact International Space Station:
Amateur Radio Volunteers Helping Community:
Pueblo Ham Radio Operators Carrying On In Digital Age:
Conejo Valley Group Shows Ham Radio's Essential Purpose in 24-Hour Race:
Ham Radio Operators Practice for Emergencies: