- Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Friends Remembered
Survey Question

DX Cluster Spots

Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement

[Articles Home]  [Add Article]  

ARRL Board Confers Awards:

from The ARRL Letter on August 15, 2019
Add a comment about this article!

ARRL Board Confers Awards:

At its second meeting of 2019, the ARRL Board of Directors conferred several awards.

Philip J. McGan Silver Antenna Award

The Board bestowed the 2019 Philip J. McGan Silver Antenna Award on John Wells, W4CMH, of Fort Myers, Florida. The award recognizes the work of ARRL's public relations volunteers to keep Amateur Radio visible in their communities. Wells was cited for encouraging media to cover stories on emergency communication during hurricanes in southwestern Florida, the use of Amateur Radio to search for clues in the disappearance of pilot Amelia Earhart, the engagement of youth in talking to an astronaut through the ARISS program, and the importance of ARRL Field Day as an annual event to help operators enhance their emergency communication skills.

ARRL Knight Distinguished Service Award

The Board designated Ohio Section Manager Scott Yonally, N8SY, to receive the 2019 ARRL Knight Distinguished Service Award, which each year recognizes an outstanding Section Manager. The Board said Yonally "is tireless in his efforts to be present and visible all over the state, representing the ARRL and Amateur Radio with a positive and forward-thinking attitude." The Board also noted that Yonally edits the monthly Ohio Section Journal and the weekly Postscript to provide Ohio Section ARRL members with the latest news.

Technical Innovation Award

The success of the FT8 digital mode prompted the Board to grant the 2019 ARRL Technical Innovation Award to the FT8 development team, led by Joe Taylor, K1JT, and Steve Franke, K9AN.

The Board said FT8 has "proven effective for all amateurs" in times of poor propagation, revolutionizing many aspects of ham radio.

Technical Service Award

The Board conferred the 2019 Technical Service Award jointly on Alan Applegate, K0BG; and Hector Morales, NP3IR. Applegate was honored for his expertise in mobile Amateur Radio activity. In 2004, he created "A Website for Mobile Amateur Radio Operators" that has become one of the most successful in Amateur Radio.

Morales, affectionately referred to as "The Professor" by many of those he has helped teach and train, was cited for his "legacy of providing educational, training and support activities to the amateur community in Puerto Rico" and for being instrumental in translating and developing teaching materials in Spanish, including training manuals.

Doug DeMaw, W1FB, Technical Excellence Award

The Board conferred the 2019 Doug DeMaw, W1FB, Technical Excellence Award to Rudy Severns, N6LF.

A well-known author on antenna topics and a technical resource, Severns wrote "Insulated Wire and Antennas" for the March/April 2018 issue of QEX.

The Board's Program and Services Committee concurred with the recommendation of the ARRL editorial staff in designating Severns as the award's recipient.

Read more


The ARRL Letter

There are no comments on this article: Post One

Email Subscription
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

Other News Articles
Amateur Radio Is There When All Else Fails:
'Like Fishing, You Never Know What You Might Catch':
'Safety Heroes' Honored by County:
YOTA 2019 Finishes This Weekend:
NZART Taranaki Award: