The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Printing Your Own QSL Cards  (Read 3574 times)
KB1WSY

Ignore
« on: March 19, 2017, 04:41:40 AM »

Searching the Web, I have found several sources of information on how to design and print your own QSL cards on a laser printer, but usually the information is quite old.

Can someone point me in the right direction in terms of up-to-date software, and where to find the right-size, pre-scored card stock? I will be using a cheap black-and-white HP laser printer, which already does fine when printing on pre-scored business-card stock.

In "real life" I am a professional graphic designer, so it would be simple for me to design the whole shebang myself, using InDesign or Quark Xpress, but that seems like overkill in this case! Why reinvent the wheel....

Thanks!

73 de Martin, KB1WSY
KS2G

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2017, 05:14:29 AM »

Have you looked at this one?

QSL Card Creator
http://www.radioqth.net/qslcards

I have no personal experience with it, but it looks pretty simple.
KB1WSY

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2017, 05:46:37 AM »

Have you looked at this one?

I will try it! I just ordered some laser card stock from Amazon, postcard size (3.5"x5.5"). For test purposes, I ordered two weights of paper: 65lb and 80lb. The heavier, the better, but I don't know whether my cheap printer can handle the heavier weight. We'll see.

73 de KB1WSY
K5NOK

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2017, 09:25:37 AM »

KB1WSY,

I've gone that route. The problem I found with the link for that page is they dumb it down and limit some of the creativity you may want to do as a graphic designer.

There is also this: http://www.qsl.net/n9bt/qsl_template.htm   . The problem with a Word document is that it gets finicky on how close you can place objects to other objects.