The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dishwasher motor noise on all frequencies.  (Read 5785 times)
KE0JWA

Ignore
« on: August 18, 2017, 07:24:45 AM »

I am pretty new to ham radio so I am a bit lost.

I am getting motor noise from my dishwasher on all frequencies.  I was wondering where to put some torrids, or if they would help at all?

Not sure where to start and would appreciate any advice on where to start.

Thanks.

Randy
KE0JWA
KC2MMI

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2017, 10:19:49 AM »

If it is RFI being broadcast from a sparky motor, that's a spark gap generator and nothing will help until the entire motor assembly is in a Faraday cage. Replacing the motor or cleaning the brushes and shaft contacts might help if it is just old age and dirt, or replacing it with a different type of motor (Is it slip rings that have no contact noise?) could do it.

If it is just EMI going out the power cord, then try choking it AT the motor, as well as again where the power cord exits the metal dishwater case, if there is one.

First try asking the manufacturer, they often have RFI suppression kits that they don't admit exist, until you've gone to a supervisor.

Our dishwasher just sings quietly while she works, not much of a problem. That's what happens when you cheap out and hire mechanical house servants, nothing but problems.
G4LNA

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2017, 11:04:33 AM »

Without hearing the noise it's difficult to advise, it could be the motor if it's got brushes or if the machine is fairly new, it could be one that has a digital motor driver, our Miele which has a digital motor drive creates merry hell and I haven't found a way to stop it, damned thing costs enough.

KE0JWA

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2017, 11:16:56 AM »

This is a brand new dishwasher....hard to tell what kind of motor it has.