Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Firefox Changes  (Read 13341 times)
W3HKK
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« Reply #45 on: November 23, 2017, 05:55:33 PM »

Spotted your post today which coincidentally is the day I dumped IE on my w7 machine and decided to try  Firefox II.

I had been having a series of problems I couldnt explain or resolve with various ham websites like RBN,  that I had used in the past but suddenly werent working for me ( with IE.)

I also couldnt install Adblock for IE  which I had used before, then deleted to see if it was causing  my problems.  It wasnt.

But now with  Foxfire II I find everything is miraculously working.   Including Adblock.
So I am again a happy camper. 
Logged
AC7CW
Member

Posts: 1007




Ignore
« Reply #46 on: November 25, 2017, 12:49:00 PM »

I just did a speed comparison of Chrome vs Firefox 57. After clearing all history and settings on both, Chrome takes 6 seconds to load eham.com and Firefox takes 4 seconds. I like Firefox for the first time ever...
Logged

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 936




Ignore
« Reply #47 on: November 26, 2017, 10:34:47 AM »

I just did a speed comparison of Chrome vs Firefox 57. After clearing all history and settings on both, Chrome takes 6 seconds to load eham.com and Firefox takes 4 seconds. I like Firefox for the first time ever...

If you want to make it even faster, try SpeedyFox to 'fine tune' it.
Logged
W0DLM
Member

Posts: 158




Ignore
« Reply #48 on: November 28, 2017, 07:30:54 AM »

There are things about the newest version of Firefox that I like. The speed being one. But I absolutely HATE the way they changed the Bookmarks access!
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 936




Ignore
« Reply #49 on: November 28, 2017, 07:33:40 AM »

There are things about the newest version of Firefox that I like. The speed being one. But I absolutely HATE the way they changed the Bookmarks access!

That's interesting. There are other good browsers out there, but Firefox is the only one that handles bookmarks the way I like it. Smiley
Logged
W0DLM
Member

Posts: 158




Ignore
« Reply #50 on: November 28, 2017, 11:08:29 AM »

"That's interesting. There are other good browsers out there, but Firefox is the only one that handles bookmarks the way I like it."

I did too. Until the latest upgrade to version 57, when they COMPLETELY changed it!
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 936




Ignore
« Reply #51 on: November 28, 2017, 11:24:12 AM »

"That's interesting. There are other good browsers out there, but Firefox is the only one that handles bookmarks the way I like it."

I did too. Until the latest upgrade to version 57, when they COMPLETELY changed it!

Other than defaulting to another location when bookmarking a page, I did not notice any major change. I'm running the Developer Edition on my desktop. I'll check the laptop later, it has the standard edition.
Logged
G8YMW
Member

Posts: 661




Ignore
« Reply #52 on: November 30, 2017, 01:55:05 PM »

They DID change it.
They removed the bookmarks icon off the window.
I had to root through "Customise" to get it back.
My system is Linux Mint 18.2 Mate
I run with the absolute minimum toolbars/ un-necessary guff so as to get as much as possible on the screen
Logged

73 de Tony
Windows 10:  Making me profane since March 2017
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 936




Ignore
« Reply #53 on: November 30, 2017, 02:00:30 PM »

They DID change it.
They removed the bookmarks icon off the window.
I had to root through "Customise" to get it back.
My system is Linux Mint 18.2 Mate
I run with the absolute minimum toolbars/ un-necessary guff so as to get as much as possible on the screen

OK...I never relied on the icons. I prefer to use the menu bar.
Logged
K5WLR
Member

Posts: 233




Ignore
« Reply #54 on: November 30, 2017, 04:09:21 PM »

One thing I miss is Propfire. I miss seeing the current solar WX on my browser. Apparently the author needs to make some changes before Propfire will be allowed to run.

Will Rogers
K5WLR
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 936




Ignore
« Reply #55 on: November 30, 2017, 04:42:19 PM »

One thing I miss is Propfire. I miss seeing the current solar WX on my browser. Apparently the author needs to make some changes before Propfire will be allowed to run.

Will Rogers
K5WLR

Not the same, I know, but I use Solar Data, available at:

http://k9dur.info/misc_utilities.html

I also like UTC Clock, also there.
Logged
W0DLM
Member

Posts: 158




Ignore
« Reply #56 on: December 01, 2017, 05:51:20 AM »

I had to root through "Customise" to get it back.
THANK YOU! I had not thought to look through the customize menu.
Logged
K5WLR
Member

Posts: 233




Ignore
« Reply #57 on: December 01, 2017, 06:19:40 AM »

One thing I miss is Propfire. I miss seeing the current solar WX on my browser. Apparently the author needs to make some changes before Propfire will be allowed to run.

Will Rogers
K5WLR

Not the same, I know, but I use Solar Data, available at:

http://k9dur.info/misc_utilities.html

I also like UTC Clock, also there.

Very cool. Thanks!  Smiley

Will Rogers
K5WLR
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 2622




Ignore
« Reply #58 on: December 02, 2017, 06:31:25 PM »

Quote
I just did a speed comparison of Chrome vs Firefox 57. After clearing all history and settings on both, Chrome takes 6 seconds to load eham.com and Firefox takes 4 seconds. I like Firefox for the first time ever...

Chrome takes 2 seconds here after running Defraggler earlier today; average data transfer went from 1.9K/sec to 5.9K. Dont have FF.

System is a Dell Vostro 630, Win 7 Pro 64, i5 quad core with an ancient 80 GB HD and 8 G RAM. Plan to go to a 500 GB or 1TB soon. as I only have 9 GB free space and a lot of files to transfer from a couple of XP drives.

Carl
Logged
KM1H
Member

Posts: 2622




Ignore
« Reply #59 on: December 03, 2017, 08:45:40 AM »

On my sons PC which is a Defraggled Dell Optiplex 380 with a Dual Core Duo, 8 GB RAM, and a fairly new 1 TB drive it is FF 2 seconds and Chrome a tiny bit longer at about 2.2 seconds.

FF does open faster
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 [4]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!