Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: APRS Digipeater Radio for Microsat WX3in1 Plus 2.0  (Read 11720 times)
N4QAD
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« on: October 24, 2017, 08:16:27 AM »

Our group purchased at WX3in1 Plus 2.0.  I have it testing with an https://aprs.fi/info/a/N4QAD-1 FTM-400 right now and working great, but it will go into it's permanent location inside of a water tower soon.  I'm not putting that radio in there just to chirp APRS and was wondering what radio has the 6 pin din connection these days?  Don't want to spend over $200 so probably need to buy used.  What would you guys suggest for that application?  Its only job will be running 144.390 for the rest of its life at 20W.

BTW, I am loving the Microsat device so far.  It "seems" to hear more than APRSIS/ce on the same radio/antenna/location.  It isn't for the faint of heart setting up.  It has a LOT of flexibility.  I see that as an asset though.
Logged
WD9EWK
Member

Posts: 508


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2017, 02:08:39 PM »

Our group purchased at WX3in1 Plus 2.0.  I have it testing with an https://aprs.fi/info/a/N4QAD-1 FTM-400 right now and working great, but it will go into it's permanent location inside of a water tower soon.  I'm not putting that radio in there just to chirp APRS and was wondering what radio has the 6 pin din connection these days?  Don't want to spend over $200 so probably need to buy used.

You'll be looking at mobile radios. There may be some 2m-only radios that have the mini-DIN data/packet port, but probably more 2m/70cm mobiles will have it. Even the FT-817s have that port, but not HTs.

Good luck, and 73!
Logged

Patrick WD9EWK/VA7EWK
http://www.wd9ewk.net/ - Twitter: @WD9EWK
KENNETH
Member

Posts: 96




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2017, 08:54:46 AM »

While waiting for your answer can i ask a quick question......After working with microsat do you think tnc-x would be an easier to setup digipeater for newbies?
Logged
N4QAD
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2017, 01:50:41 PM »

I have not messed with TNC-X.
The Microsat manual is really good.  At this point, this is what I would suggest.
If you don't want to get deep, the defaults are on point.
Logged
WD9EWK
Member

Posts: 508


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2017, 02:30:53 PM »

While waiting for your answer can i ask a quick question......After working with microsat do you think tnc-x would be an easier to setup digipeater for newbies?

If the digipeater won't have a computer nearby, the TNC-X probably isn't the best choice. The TNC-X only supports KISS mode, meaning it relies on whatever software is on the computer connected to it for its packet functionality. Some examples of these TNCs that only support KISS mode include:

https://tnc-x.com/
https://www.mfjenterprises.com/Product.php?productid=MFJ-1270X
http://www.mobilinkd.com/

If you're looking to put the digipeater on a water tower, it seems like having a radio and TNC - without a computer - is what you are looking to do.

The Kantronics KPC-3+ is a TNC still in production that has APRS functionality built in, and does not require a computer or phone/tablet running software in order to work as a digipeater. Many older TNCs that have the traditional "cmd:" prompt can be configured to act as a digipeater, without needing a computer.

73!
Logged

Patrick WD9EWK/VA7EWK
http://www.wd9ewk.net/ - Twitter: @WD9EWK
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 54


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2017, 03:42:41 AM »

The TNC-X with it's digi board works perfectly fine stand alone. There has been one on the air I built for another ham for 6 years at least.
Logged
KE8DAF
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2017, 08:10:44 AM »

I have a WX3in1 Plus 2.0 myself. I am using it with an Alinco DR-135 III.
My first Alinco had the built-in TNC and after some investigation I discovered that the WX3in1 required the analog (audio level) signals coming from the DB9 and that the RS-232 would not work. I removed the TNC board and performed a factory reset and it has worked happily ever after. As a side note, my 2nd Alinco did not have the TNC board option installed. Apparently they discontinued it.
Microsat has the cable for the Alinco at http://microsat.com.pl/product_info.php?cPath=43_45&products_id=156
I have a J-Pole in the attic and although the range is limited because of that (and my location) when an APRS tracker comes within range it works fine.
I also have my Davis VP2 feeding data to it. KE8DAF-13
I know that this isn't mini-DIN to mini-DIN, but it works well. The Alinco is $169.95 at DX Engineering. That plus the CAB-43 cable would be well within your $200 budget. You have to order the cable from Poland, I haven't seen it available here in the States.
Logged
N4QAD
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2017, 07:20:33 AM »

That is the kind of information I am looking for.  Thanks so much.
Nick, N4QAD
Logged
N4QAD
Member

Posts: 16




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2017, 05:39:45 AM »

Found an FT-1500M on eBay for $150. 

Thanks for everybody's input.

Nick
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!