The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 4 5 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The Hazard of Knowledge  (Read 4978 times)
AF6LJ

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 16, 2017, 06:04:40 PM »

I can think of a couple of sayings..

Paralysis by Analysis
Perfection is the enemy of Good Enough

Mike N2MG
Both are very true.
I have been guilty of the latter on a few occasions, thankfully I have almost broken myself of that bad habit. Smiley

Take Care
Sue,
AF6LJ
AF6LJ

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: November 16, 2017, 06:09:20 PM »

That's funny!
But is true more often than many of us would comfortable with. Smiley

Take Care
Sue,
AF6LJ
N2MG
Administrator

« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2017, 11:19:01 AM »

As an engineer I can identify with the "Shoot the engineer" saying.

"Put a fork in it, it's done" also comes to mind.
K9MHZ

Ignore
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2017, 01:36:47 PM »

"Put a fork in it, it's done" also comes to mind.
Got the engineering degree, but never worked as one, even for 5 minutes.  That said (written), I love these quips and anecdotes from the engineers in our Friday ham lunch group.  Most are retired, so they have lots of stories.  One guy told me that while working for Motorola, he was tasked with designing an PCB antenna for a UHF/microwave(?) device of some kind.  He got busy designing away, and his boss came by and tore into him for working so hard on the project.  He said to look in a dusty old manual form the 1940s or something for a shape and copy it.  He told his boss that it wouldn't be optimized for their current application, and the boss said "just do it!!"
N2MG
Administrator

« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2017, 04:06:16 PM »

>> He said to look in a dusty old manual form the 1940s or something for a shape and copy it

That's the NIH syndrome!
(Not invented here)
ONAIR

Ignore
« Reply #20 on: November 17, 2017, 06:18:58 PM »