The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What are the 3 best handhelds for the $ in 2017  (Read 4307 times)
WR1R

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2017, 08:15:50 AM »

K7RBW ,hello sir and thanks for weighting in here, speaking of weighting in I’m surprised at the high view “ hits” but the low response “ hits” for such a big forum with so many members ,so thanks for taking the time to enlighten me . It’s actually quite unique for me because even though I have a 2x1 call and worked hard to get it back in the day in the early 90’s it’s like I’m a tech again ( and I feel like Rip Van Winkle ) and I’m totally overwhelmed at the amount of different communications systems and things like DMR , programming an HT with a cable etc etc etc . I have just ordered a Baofeng so I can listen to all the local repeators ,more for activity content then anything else and try to get a “ pulse “ on the health of VHF/UHF activity before buying a dual bander from the big three. I am fully aware of what the Baofeng is and I have watched a million and one u tube clips on that and a ton of other HT’s ( and all about DMR etc tryin to get up to speed ) and the more I watch the more I’m hoping  that more members of this forum would weight in and tell me me what they are using and what they like or don’t like about a certain rig . By the way back when I was very active I had the typical 2 meter/440 ht,and mobile in the car,a room loaded with rigs, a 50 ft tower with a pretty good antenna array and farm . I worked mostly low 20 meters CW and and chewed the rag with the local VHF / UHF gang from the club and friends . I also ran a 2 meter simplex modulated CW net teaching CW to others tryin to upgrade with 175 watts and real good 2 meter aerial at the top of my tower and I had a huge coverage area and that was a lot fun ! I was also a MARS Operator and passed a lot of traffic