The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Are we missing out on slow speed CW on 30m?  (Read 3570 times)
K3UIM

Ignore
« Reply #30 on: November 28, 2017, 12:09:37 PM »

I filled out and sent in the FISTS club membership. I was going to go for the 1 year at 10.00 and then spotted the mention of "above 80" and almost had a Celiac attack. Hi. ... uh ... I'll explain that some day. Hi. (Rather messy subject.)
Charlie
KF0QS

Ignore
« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2017, 08:11:01 AM »

Hey Folks:

This has been an interesting discussion to follow.

I've been a CW operator ever since I first came back to the hobby after a long period QRT (first licensed in '68, and QRT from '75 until '91).  Now that I'm retired, I am on the air nearly every day and am up to just above 20 wpm for code speed.  However, if I contact someone whose speed is slower, I always try to match that person's speed.  About the only thing that I find frustrating is someone who is really sloppy and doesn't seem to care.  Otherwise, I still remember my days of struggling and needing someone to be patient with me.

There is an op I've worked a couple of times who doesn't like slowing down for me (even though I can do 20 wpm), and gets critical when I don't go full QSK (i.e., I listen while sending my characters in case he wants to break in and say something - I do a modified version of this myself, but not to his hyper-crazy level).  The last time we worked, I got frustrated with his criticism and said that I was a long-time cw op, and didn't appreciate his criticism.  So, people refusing to accommodate my fist happens to me too.