Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: ICOM-706 not switching off  (Read 491 times)
OK2PEN
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« on: November 30, 2017, 04:37:57 AM »

Gentlemen I started to have problem with ICOM-706. When I connect it to power (battery or pwr supply with 13.9V) the radio switches ON without pressing the POWER button. It does NOT switch OFF pressing the POWER button as well. Please can someone tell me what  can be wrong. Also as the radio switches ON without pressing the POWER button it is not possible to do its hard reset. Thank you. Dalibor OK2PEN (PY2ZEN)
Logged
KC9NVP
Member

Posts: 208




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 09:04:15 AM »

My guess would be if the switch is a mechanical type, it may be stuck in "ON" position which means you may need a replacement switch.  If it is a soft type of switch with conductive material on the back side then something maybe across the contact points on the circuit board.  Seems like a good time to open up the radio and look inside or send it back to Icom.

Update - found the service manual on line and the switch is a mechanical push button switch soldered to a circuit board so may have a stuck contact, if so a replacement is required.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 09:08:48 AM by KC9NVP » Logged
K8AXW
Member

Posts: 6363




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2017, 10:14:54 AM »

An ohmmeter connected to each side of the switch will answer this question PDQ!  Switch on-switch off.  Ohmmeter doesn't change?  Bad switch!
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1432




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 08:14:50 AM »

Place a SPST switch in the power supply lead if you don't want to dig into the radio.  Might try spraying some contact cleaner around the edges of the button into the radio and see if the switch is possibly just dirty...
Logged
K8AXW
Member

Posts: 6363




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 09:31:57 AM »

BB:  Great answer!
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1432




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 10:03:17 AM »

Also check some menu settings, try a master reset.  Sometimes the power switches have a automatic power on or off function and you might see if there is anything in there about that...doubt it  but worth doing a reset.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!