Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hustler 6BVT and 40meters  (Read 1422 times)
K4WEL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« on: December 02, 2017, 11:31:41 AM »

I have successfully tuned my 6bvt on 10,  15, 20, and 30 meters to 2.0 or less SWR, but cannot get swr below 5 on 40m.
i don't have an analyzer and use SWR meteron my TT 830s
Anyone have ant ideas?
thanks in advance
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 17192




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 01:49:47 PM »

Does the SWR dip in the middle of the band, even if the SWR is still high?
Or is it lower at one end than the other, but you've run out of adjustment range?

How big is your ground radial system?

How long is the connection from your feedpoint to you ground system?
Logged
K4WEL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 05:54:35 PM »

I have run out of adjustment on the 40m section.
There are 26 radials each 30 ft long.
10through 30 are all below 2.0 swr
Logged
K4WEL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2017, 05:58:11 PM »

The feedline is rg214 buried 4 inches with a short, 15 ft, section of rg 8x at the rig end and an ugly balun at the antenna feed point.
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 17192




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2017, 06:05:53 PM »

You can't make the antenna short enough, or long enough?
Logged
K4WEL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2017, 04:53:07 AM »

The section above the 30m trap is seated on top of the 30m trap, no adjustment left to shorten the section.
I purchased the antenna from DXE and used their manual for installation, minus the 80m resonator which according to DXE is not the issue.

I will try to move the 30m trap, according to DXE manual, down that may afford more room for the 40m section to move down.

I went through the complete manual yesterday and reset all measurements to initial specs then started from 10m and up, same results.
Logged
K0BT
Member

Posts: 362




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2017, 05:09:55 AM »

I had to adjust the traps when I installed a good radial field.
Logged
NK7Z
Member

Posts: 1846


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2017, 09:08:52 PM »

I had to adjust the traps when I installed a good radial field.
Same here...  I spoke to the folks at New-tronics, (http://www.new-tronics.com/main/), and they indicated that this is to be expected.  The antenna build sheets are to be used with no radial field.  I just start on 10, and work upwards, adjusting the traps if need be...  When I hit 80 meters I am done.

As an aside, as you approach a perfect vertical your SWR will go up to around 1.4:1.  Remember a vertical has an R value of 36 ohms in a perfect world, not 50 ohms.  Mine is at 38 ohms now on one band, so I am getting close with 24 radials.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2017, 09:11:33 PM by NK7Z » Logged

Thanks,
Dave
For reviews and setups see: http://www.nk7z.net
K0BT
Member

Posts: 362




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2017, 10:39:47 PM »

I put down 60 radials, each about 55 feet long.  I think 30 is the magic number of radials for a non-elevated installation but what the heck, I had the wire and my back wasnt hurting too much that day.  It sure was by that evening though.

People make some odd claims about the BTV verticals, claiming they work great without radials.  They believe because the SWR is low across the entire band the antenna must be working well. It's a shame really, because they have no idea how well the antenna can perform. 
Logged
VK6HP
Member

Posts: 186




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 03, 2017, 11:10:33 PM »

I guess you mean that you're using an external SWR meter with your TS-830S?  I only ask because the 830S doesn't have an SWR meter, just a relative RF output indicator. If you did happen to be using that, all bets are off.
Logged
K9MOV
Member

Posts: 85




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2017, 02:00:37 AM »

I have been using the 6btv for many years and ran into this problem way back before I had an analyzer. For the 6btv to tune on 40 meters with the supplied tubing length for 40 meters-- the 80 meter resonator MUST be installed. The 80 meter resonator adds some top hat loading on 40 meters and adjusting the 30 meter trap will not work. I'm sure that it can be made to work without the 80 meter resonator, but all the adjustments must be made with the tubing above the 30 meter trap. The tubing above the 30 meter trap will have to be longer without the top loading of the 80 meter resonator.
Logged
NK7Z
Member

Posts: 1846


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2017, 11:26:57 AM »

I think 30 is the magic number of radials for a non-elevated installation but what the heck, I had the wire and my back wasnt hurting too much that day.
I suspect 30 is the magic number as well...  I am at 24, and still seeing improvements as I add radials.  I have been keeping track of the antenna using an AA-54 as I add radials.  It is interesting to watch things change as the additional radials are added.  I will continue until I start seeing little change, then I will stop...
Logged

Thanks,
Dave
For reviews and setups see: http://www.nk7z.net
K4WEL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2017, 06:36:42 AM »

I intend to install the 80m coil and see what happens, you are correct the TS-830s does not have an SWR metrer, but I have a Radio Shack digital meter that I picked up befofe RS went out of business and it seems to work great.

As soon as the rain stops I will install the 80 coil and check things again, also intend to remove the ugly balun at the antenna.

Thanks for all replies
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 17192




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2017, 07:57:22 AM »

Once you can tune the antenna to resonance on 40m, if the SWR is still too low you can
add a shunt coil across the feedpoint.  (This was built into the 14-AVQ.)  Because the
reactance of the coil shifts with frequency, you can often find a version that gives a
reasonable compromise on all bands.
Logged
K1VCT
Member

Posts: 135




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: December 09, 2017, 08:43:22 PM »

You really need to get/borrow and analyzer.  Not uncommon for any of the traps to be out of best tune for your particular setup.  I had to slide the 40m trap up quite a bit but I'm at 2.1:1 at the low end of 40m and 1.6:1 at the high end (intentionally skewed a bit for phone portion of the band).

I'm using a RigExpert AA-54, and its really nice to ask it to scan from, say, 6.000mhz to 8.0000mhz, so you can see where the "dip" in resonance is, then repeat the test as you make adjustments.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!